All these tethers are impeding my work…

2 Timothy 2:20-21 In a large house there are utensils not only of gold and silver but also of wood and clay, some for special use, some for ordinary. All who cleanse themselves of the things I have mentioned will become special utensils, dedicated and useful to the owner of the house, ready for every good work.

“Beloved, do not seek to know the plans I have for you, but do your part to remain clean and ready for use. My plans are for your good. Trust in me. Remove all blockages to grace. Eliminate bad habits and especially work to eliminate habitual sin, no matter how small a thing it may seem to you. Habitual sins are like the ropes holding down a hot air balloon. Until all are cut, the balloon cannot fly. Work and pray to be delivered of these bindings. Ask and ask again. Confess and confess gain. Try and try again. The only failure is to stop trying. I tell you I will reward you for even the smallest effort. All these tethers are impeding my work. See them for what they are and be glad to be rid of them. We have much to do together. Rid yourself of all that keeps you apart from the Divine Will. Then you will know true joy.”

Jesus for us this is impossible, but for you all things are possible. Then grant us grace upon grace and the strong desire to be untethered, especially from our habitual sins. Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, lead us and heal us. Amen.

24 thoughts on “All these tethers are impeding my work…

  1. My tether is fear. Fear of the unknown. Fear of suffering. Fear of stepping out in faith. Fear of what God might ask of me. So many tethers…. I am grateful Our Blessed Mother can take my own timid “Fiat Voluntas Tua” and replace it with her own as I am consecrated to her. It is a great consolation and source of immense grace for me.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a wonderful post, Janet! Reminds me of what we read in NEW & DIVINE: THE HOLINESS OF THE THIRD CHRISTIAN MILLENNIUM, what Jesus told to Blessed Dina Belanger: “Even one soul given completely over to Me can radiate on all the other souls. …My rays reach out into the distance, far into the distance.” P. 36

    Jesus told her that, through souls who abandoned themselves completely to Him, his rays reach all souls, past, present, and future: ‘In consecrated souls in whom my hands are bound by threads, in whom consequently my Heart is wounded, my rays reach only some souls living in the world at the same time. In consecrated souls who refuse Me only small things, you can see that my rays reach many other souls in the world and extend further. In consecrated souls that have abandoned themselves totally to me, in whom I can act freely, see how my rays reach all souls, even to the end of time.’” P. 49

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Karen, it is important for you to talk to a doctor or a priest, or both. May God heal you or give you the peace and strength to endure your affliction for the sake of souls.

      Like

    2. Karen, I am going to pray for you, and I will pray hard. There’s something about ‘lead’ and ‘heaviness’ and ‘roughness’ that have been lighting up for me and my family in the past 2 days; we too have been experiencing all of the above.

      Like

  3. It took many prayers and confessions, but my desire for wine is finally over. It was something that I felt I deserved, because of all that I do. It was my special thing. What I realized is that it came between me and Jesus to be the light to my family at all times. So many times I drank to fill in something that I felt was missing in my life. I know I still need prayer for this, but I am so grateful to Jesus for taking the desire away.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I was thinking a lot lately – what plans does God have for me? Especially since I’m fighting this cancer. You always seem to hit the nail on the head with your blogs!

    Like

  5. Your post has been very helpful to me Janet. As are all your posts. I needed your encouragement as I feel after praying diligently for over 32 years now I have come to an impasse: does God still need me to press on,etc.? I need to press on in order to keep myself clean and ready for use! Message well received. Also, I was able to go to confession after Mass today thinking it would be the same old advice. Well, God gave me a surprise and I received some real nuggets for growth from the good Father. Thank you dear Lord for these sacraments!

    Also, I do hope your family is doing well. I recall you asking for prayers some time ago now. God Bless you and ours!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yes, we must always press on! Thank God for His encouragement!

    I appreciate your prayers for my family and those of everyone here. They are needed and felt, every one. I have had greater peace lately. That is a true gift! Praise God!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi family, been in class with St. Teresa of Calcutta recently…she has really been teaching me about life’s work. Yes Peli…we must press on!!!

      “If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives: Be kind anyway. If you are successful you will win some false friends and true enemies: Succeed anyway. If you are honest and frank people will try to cheat you: Be honest anyway. What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight: Build anyway. If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous of you: Be happy anyway. The good you do today, will often be forgotten by tomorrow: Do good anyway. Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough: Give your best anyway.”

      St. (Mother) Teresa

      Like

  7. Did anyone happen to read Bishop Baron’s gospel reflection today? Exactly the same message. Wow! Thank you Janet and Kathy for your posts…

    Like

      1. It’s an email subscription so I can’t post the link. I’ve reproduced the text. It’s his Word on Fire ministry and one of the services is the daily Gospel reflections. i highly recommend them.

        “Friends, in our Gospel Jesus tells us that if we had faith the size of a mustard seed, we could uproot a mulberry tree and plant it in the sea. What is being communicated here is something simple: faith is power. When our lives are aligned to God we become the conduits of enormous power.

        Attachments block us and break this flow. An attachment is anything you don’t need but which you cannot live without. This idea is central to the spirituality of Ignatius of Loyola. What are the attachments that block the divine power from flowing through us? In most cases it is some form of wealth, pleasure, honor, or power.

        Love what Jesus loved on the cross; and despise what he despised. This is the direction we get from St. Thomas Aquinas. Reorienting our priorities to align with Christ on the cross is the key to a spiritually successful life, and to the unleashing of divine power.”

        Like

Leave a Reply

