My arms are full of treasures that no one wants…

Nehemiah 13:17-18 Then I remonstrated with the nobles of Judah and said to them, ‘What is this evil thing that you are doing, profaning the sabbath day? Did not your ancestors act in this way, and did not our God bring all this disaster on us and on this city? Yet you bring more wrath on Israel by profaning the sabbath.’

“My child, what am I to do with this generation? How few, even those who bear my name, keep the sabbath holy, doing only that work which is necessary, and spending the day at rest or in holy pursuits, or even remembering me when they gather with family. Am I not the head of all Christian families, indeed of all families? Then why am I not the guest of honour where my children gather? Oh, how I am scourged anew by so many slights! Do they not see that in rejecting me and neglecting me, they reject the blessings I so long to give them? My arms are full of treasures that no one wants. All they need do is invite me into their homes and make me their guest of honour, and I will shower them with blessings and graces in abundance. Keep holy the sabbath day in this way, and you will be abundantly blessed in the rest of the week. Cry out Abba! and I will be there.”

O my beloved Abba, forgive me for all the times I have neglected to consciously include you in my family gatherings, especially on the sabbath. I offer you the perfect attention of the Holy Family in reparation for these appalling slights of mine. In the Divine Will, apply their attentions to my poor efforts, in order to give you the glory and honour you deserve as Father of all, our loving Abba. Abba, I love you! Draw me near, and all those who are with me. Let us rest together in love this sabbath day and all sabbaths. Amen.

 

17 thoughts on “My arms are full of treasures that no one wants…

  1. Forgive me and mine, Abba, Father! Peli, I would love to hear your suggestions for how to make Jesus our guest of honor at family gatherings and especially on Sunday. My teenage boys are not even attending Mass anymore, and are not inclined to family prayer time either so I am really at a loss. Peace to all 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes Mimi, the same is true in my family. Perhaps one person silently inviting the Father, Son, and Spirit into the gathering or event in the Divine Will on behalf of all present, is the best we can do. For God it will be enough for now, as we pray for the conversion of those in our spiritual territory. As for grace at meals, if others are offended by the grace we offer, we can suggest a moment of silent gratitude and silently pray our grace in the Divine Will on behalf of all there. We need to be creative I think. But let us make a conscious effort to remember our Father in all our activities. And if we forget–and we will forget–perhaps three Our Fathers in reparation could be prayed at the end of the day. Our guardian angels can be enlisted to help us remember. They just need to be asked!

      Like

      1. Thanks for the good suggestions! And I agree that we need to be creative. May the Holy Spirit inspire us 🙂 I love the idea of the 3 Our Father’s in reparation, too. Have a very Blessed rest of your Sunday. Peace to you and yours 🙂 I hope your husband is doing well.

        Like

  2. I know that some mighty prayer warriors read this blog so I was wondering if people could pray for two intentions: Lynn who has cancer but is refusing proper treatment in favour of new age and occult methods, and Aurora who has many people relying on her and is in need of protection and conversion. Thank you! This blog is very helpful and important to me!

    Like

    1. I place Lynn and Aurora in the Flame of Love. Also please pray for Sue who is seriously ill and is contemplating euthanasia.

      Let me tell you about my emergency “novena”. I have a list of 9 contemplative orders who take prayer requests, and I send that intention to all nine convents/monasteries. You can google contemplative orders or specific orders such as Carmelites and you will easily find nine. They are in the business of prayer and are happy to pray for us.

      Like

      1. Thanks Janet. I’m going to google the “list” I know my mother had a great devotion to Our Lady of Prompt Succor and after she died and I was cleaning up and sorting, I found a box full of her correspondence with the sisters in New Orleans. She was asking for prayer for all of us. I was very humbled and filled with love for her all over again. Now I find myself in the same position. Just had a bunch of Masses “ordered” from a local Monastery but I forget about the contemplative orders who will gladly pray. Thanks for the reminder.

        And Stephen, Lynn and Aurora will be prayed for as soon as I get off the computer. Also Sue. I might add, Stephen and others here, if you hadn’t thought of it, ask the holy souls in Purgatory to intercede and offer the Stations or a Rosary for them. The holy souls are powerful loving intercessors.

        Like

      2. Ann my husband is recovering well and the crisis is past. However he has a chronic condition that will require ongoing care. God bless you for your prayers. We feel them and need them. You are all in mine. 🙂

        Liked by 3 people

  3. Thanks, I did as you recommended. Its heartening that there are so many results to my Google search! Sometimes one can feel so isolated in the faith, so its good to be reminded that there are strangers all over the world believing and practicing the faith with radical commitment. Just a little leaven in the loaf…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

