Those who at least try to please me, no matter how paltry the effort, are a balm to my much-wounded heart…

Psalm 12:1-2 Help, O Lord, for there is no longer anyone who is godly; the faithful have disappeared from humankind. They utter lies to each other; with flattering lips and a double heart they speak.

“Beloved, does not the God who sees into the secret recesses of the human heart know this? How I long to look with joy at my children, but instead what I see disgusts me. Yet those who at least try to please me, no matter how paltry the effort, are a balm to my much-wounded heart. Try always to please me, my children. Try always to give me the comfort of your small efforts and your desire to please me. If you do this, you will invoke my mercy over the whole world. Do so in the Divine Will and you will see miracles of grace and conversion. Give me everything! Give me your heart! There I will take my rest.”

O my beloved Father, in the Divine Will, I give you my heart, wrapped in the swaddling bands of Jesus and smelling of the sweet perfume of the perfect love of Mary and Joseph for Jesus.

“Child, this is a gift most pleasing to me!”

Then, Father, I offer it in the Divine Will in the name of everyone from Adam to the last man, in reparation to your much-wounded heart. Abba, Father, I love you! Amen.

12 thoughts on “Those who at least try to please me, no matter how paltry the effort, are a balm to my much-wounded heart…

  1. Oh dear Janet!! Jesus’ words are so beautiful & so very consoling… and when you bring the Divine Will into it my heart soars!
    We are striving to live in His Will at each moment – to console our Beloved Lord, to give Glory to the Father, for the good of all & to call down His Kingdom to reign on earth as in Heaven! Onward Christian soldiers in the army of His Will. Peace & love to you, my dear sister!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you Janet. Sometimes my paltry effort seems sooo paltry it’s hard to believe they are worth anything. They are like pre sclooler drawings in comparison to the Michaelangelo I want them to be.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Kent, even our BEST efforts are stick drawings in comparison to what God can do in us through grace. All he needs is WILLING instruments. Doesn’t matter how broken we are. The Divine Will can work miracles through a humble, willing soul.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. This reminds me of a definition of Purity I recently came across. Purity is Openess of the heart towards God.
        So much broader than many and it leaves the door open for every soul no matter where they are at or where they have been to practice it.
        Blessings on you and yours.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Janet–I don’t read your blog very often because of time constraints and even more often a dull spirit but in this post (and I don’t think it was an accident that I read it today right after coming from our adoration chapel) to hear Our Father Himself talk about the Divine Will, and your prayer in response to Him really got to me! Thank You Divine Will, thank you Luisa and Janet.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I was tossing up whether to go to Adoration chapel…… Read this and like a little preschooler went off smiling.! Yes…. How little, how paltry…. But I smile to think God smiles!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Speaking of paltry efforts , I was reading an article extolling the practice of small sacrifices .. (Asked for at Fatima for example )
    I am not great at this , actually finding that fasting for the day is easier! But this was encouraged in my childhood days.. and seems alien to the nowadays culture. ( Who encourages it now ? )
    Anyway I do hope no one minds me posting a list of ideas ? ( not my own , and certainly not exhaustive )
    With love and prayer , Jo

    Simple Sacrifices to do Throughout the Day to help Our Lady’s peace plan.
    Anything that takes you out of your “comfort zone” can be a sacrifice. You can come up with your own ideas, but here a just a few for starters.
    Click Here to read about sacrifices for Our Lady

    Get up 20 minutes earlier and spend the time in prayer.

    Give up texting for the day.

    No complaining. When you start to do it…….say a Hail Mary!

    Park far away from your destination and say some prayers on the way.

    Skip your lunch and use the money as a donation to an organization that helps the poor.

    Wait 15 minutes before drinking anything when thirsty.

    Pray for 5 minutes with your arms extended like a cross.

    Kneel on rice for 10 minutes and pray.

    Do not put any seasoning (salt/pepper) on your food.

    Cut down your time in the shower or bath.

    Wait for 10 minutes before you turn on the heat/air conditioning in your car.

    Skip dessert.

    Give up coffee or tea for the day.

    Wait a half hour before opening your mail or email.

    Give up TV or Facebook for the day.

    Do the dishes by hand instead of using the dishwasher.

    Turn off music in the car and pray a Rosary instead.

    Use cooler water in your shower or bath.

    Skip your snack before bedtime.

    Give up the snooze button on your alarm clock.

    Eat something you do not like.

    Use the stairs instead of the elevator.

    If someone says something you do not agree with, keep your mouth shut.

    Refrain from curiosity.

    Give up your pillow for one night.

    Give up reading the newspaper and instead read about a saint you do not know anything about.

    Pick up litter that is not yours.

    Clean out a drawer or closet that needs attention.

    Speak only when necessary

    Give away some clothing – even better if you give away something you like

    Sacrifice your TIME by:
    Visiting someone in a nursing home

    Praying a Rosary for a soldier who is in danger

    Spending time in Adoration praying for peace

    Calling or writing someone who is sick or homebound

    Making a list of 10 things you are grateful for and then thanking God for them

    Going to Mass on a weekday if you don’t already do that

    Reading Scripture for 15 minutes

    Writing a letter of thanks to a member of the clergy

    Exercising your body and praying while doing it

    Reading The Imitation of Christ

    Liked by 3 people

    1. In Medjugorje Our Lady says we MUST read Scripture daily and invites us to say 15 decades of the rosary, fast , go to daily Mass , monthly confession, or more frequent than that. She knows the great need of these spiritual exercises has increased since 1917 .

      If we include the Liturgy of the Hours and the Chaplet of the Divine Mercy, that is about 10 % of 24 hours. God does ask us to give 10% (tithe) and our whole heart.

      “Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it. I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not cast their fruit,” says the Lord Almighty. “Then all the nations will call you blessed, for yours will be a delightful land,” says the Lord Almighty. Malachi 3: 10-12 (NIV)

      IF we get extreme graces from tithing our money , who much more Spiritual Graces we would receive IF we tithed our time for prayer from our hearts!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

