The battle for souls…

Happy feast day of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Mother of God, dear friends!

I have two dreams to relate to you. One I posted in April, 2007. The other is a dream I had in the week before Christmas this year. I feel that both are calls to pray for those who may die suddenly and unprepared. This seems a dire message given that we are celebrating a New Year. But please remember that God would not send me these dreams and this message if there was no hope attached. Do not let this message fill you with dread, but with the firm belief that God will hear your prayers for souls and use your sacrifices to save many who may be lost without them. Death is hard for those left behind, but the real tragedy occurs when souls are lost. Offering prayers for souls is one way that we can be a sure sign of hope for others.

First Dream – April 2007

I was in a car by the seashore. Suddenly the sea started to rise very quickly. Many people were unprepared. I saw that many of the unprepared were famous people. They were trapped by the rising water and drowned. Then a great tsunami rose and rushed towards us. We could not escape it but I felt that we had a better chance of surviving if we stayed in our car, thinking that the car could take the pounding better than we could and we might escape with our lives.

I felt afterwards that this dream was a call to pray for those whose hearts are spiritually unprepared and who are in grave spiritual danger. Our “vehicle of safety” is the Church. It will be battered by upcoming events, but we are far safer within it than we would be outside of it.

Second Dream – December 2016

I was looking out over the harbor and saw a large cruise ship being towed into port by a tug. I thought, “That’s unusual. We don’t usually get cruise ships here.” After it docked I went to see it. There was absolutely no sign of life on it or around it. After waking I felt the ship represented death.

I believe these dreams may be related and that the events of the first (the death of many famous people) may be a sign for the timing of the second. We have just come off a year where an unprecedented number of famous people have died, probably many of them unprepared. In Canada we are also in mourning for all those who have taken their own lives through physician-assisted suicide. Ever since I had the first dream, I have been praying for those who will die unprepared. I believe the second dream is in turn an encouragement to pray even harder for those poor souls. I encourage all of us to do so. Here is the prayer I pray daily at the end of my Divine Mercy chaplet:

“Merciful Jesus, lover of souls, we beseech you by the agony of your most Sacred Heart and by the sorrows of your Immaculate Mother, to wash clean in your blood the sinners of the whole world who are now in their final agony, but especially those on their way to eternal damnation and who are to die this day. Heart of Jesus, who suffered death’s agony, have mercy on these poor souls. Amen.”

We are a people of hope and our God of hope has given us powerful weapons against the culture of death, one of the greatest of which is the Chaplet of Divine Mercy. We know we can trust Jesus and believe in the promise he made to St. Faustina:

“At the hour of their death, I defend as My own glory every soul that will say this chaplet; or when others say it for a dying person, the indulgence is the same.” (Diary, 811)

“My daughter, encourage souls to say the chaplet which I have given to you. It pleases Me to grant everything they ask of Me by saying the chaplet. … Write that when they say this chaplet in the presence of the dying, I will stand between My Father and the dying person, not as the just Judge but as the merciful Savior.” (Diary, 1541).

God’s mercy is unimaginable! Even more so in that he uses weak sinners as his instruments of mercy on earth. Just as St. Faustina was often taken in spirit to the side of dying souls so she could pray the chaplet in their presence, in the Divine Will we can ask for the same grace, for nothing is impossible for God. “Jesus, in the Divine Will, take me into the presence of those in most dire need of your mercy as I pray this chaplet…”

God is calling us to participate in his ministry of salvation. May our Blessed Mother guide us and help us in the battle for the souls of her beloved children.

O my Jesus, I love you, I trust you, I surrender myself to you. Please take care of everything and everyone in my spiritual territory. Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, I love you. Save souls!

(See also this dream from 2010)

22 thoughts on “The battle for souls…

  1. It’s funny, because I also, have had a sudden “desire” to pray for those unprepared at death, especially after the people have actually died. I saw this article somewhere recently and I reprint it here for your discernment:

    Praying for Grandma’s Soul
    By June Klins

         Fr. Chris Alar, M.I.C., gave an excellent talk in August at a conference in Buffalo, New York, about Divine Mercy, and at one point, his talk brought me to tears. Father talked about a discussion he had as a young man (we will call him “Chris” because he was not a priest at that time) in 2003 with a priest regarding his grandmother’s suicide in 1993. Chris told this priest that he was worried about his grandmother’s soul, especially because in her last year of life she had stopped receiving the Sacraments and had turned her back on God and the Church. The priest told him to go home and pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet for the salvation of his grandmother’s soul.
         Chris, whose profession at that time was engineering, questioned the priest, “Father, I don’t understand. My grandmother has been judged. There is nothing I can do to change that.” The priest repeated his instructions to pray the Chaplet for her soul. Chris told the priest he did not want to be difficult, but he just did not understand. The priest said, “God knew back in 1993 that you would be here in 2003, and you would pray this Chaplet for your grandmother, and those graces will be allowed through the mercy of God to be taken back and showered upon the soul of your grandmother at the moment of her judgment to help her. This is why we need to pray for our loved ones and our families and our friends.”
         Chris lamented that his grandmother had fallen away from the Church before she died, so Father pointed out that paragraph 1486 of St. Faustina’s Diary says that Jesus comes to every soul three times at the moment of death. If the soul rejects Him after the first time, He goes away. But He comes back a second time. If the soul rejects Him again, He’ll go, but He’ll come back a third time. If the soul rejects Him a third time, the soul is lost forever.
         Chris was elated to hear this, since he felt his grandmother would never have rejected Jesus, because she was a good person. But then Father seemed to throw a monkey wrench at him, asserting, “We die in the state that we live.” He explained that if we turn our backs on God, we will not recognize Him when He comes. Chris was crestfallen at that thought, since his grandmother had, in fact, turned her back on God. But the priest continued, “Without your prayers, She may not recognize Him, but with your prayers upon her soul at the moment of her judgment – because God is outside of time (there is no past or future for God, just one eternal now), He can take those graces from your prayers and shower them down on your grandmother, so maybe, just maybe, it’s enough grace for her to turn around and say, ‘Yes’ to God.”
         Father said that this is why St. John Paul II and others call us “mini co-redeemers.” We are the Body of Christ and it is very important for us to pray for one another. Prayers can make a difference. A demon once told St. John Vianney that 80,000 souls avoided hell due to his prayers and sufferings. This is why we should offer up our prayers and suffering.
         Father continued, referencing paragraph 1698 of the Diary – which says that God’s mercy sometimes touches souls at the last moment. Chris began to cry at the thought of such a merciful God. He decided right then and there to spend the rest of his life spreading this message of hope. And that he does. Chris joined the Marians of the Immaculate Conception, was ordained a few years ago, and is now the director of the Association of Marian Helpers.
         Editor’s note: If you would like to hear Father’s entire talk, you can order the CD called “Divine Mercy 101” by calling 1-800-462-7426, or visit the website marian.org. The reason Father’s talk brought me to tears is because I started a website in 2011 to pray for souls who have committed suicide (https://sites.google.com/site/divinemercyforlostsouls). A friend and I were talking about this right before Father’s talk, so it was a confirmation.

    Liked by 5 people

      1. Janet–wonderful reminder of our most serious obligation for our own souls and for the souls of others. Like Larry, I too have for some time had this burden on my heart to pray for the dying. It started with the Sorrowful Mysteries. When I begin the first Sorrowful Mystery I always pray (not my own invention, I found this somewhere among writings of the saints) “Oh my Jesus once in agony have pity on those who are in their last agony and will die this day.” I especially remember with vivid clarity praying the Rosary on my way to work on 9/11 at just the minutes the first plane was hitting the twin towers. Of course I didn’t know what was going on until I got to school but because it was Tuesday I was praying the Sorrowful Mysteries and was so grateful that I had prayed that little prayer.
        In the past few years I always make part of my Offertory intention as the priest raises the chalice:”Oh Jesus cover in Your Precious Blood all poor sinners of the world who will die this day especially those in danger of damnation. Let not Your Blood be in vain for them this day but it let it be their secure Refuge.”
        I am going to add your prayer to my night prayers now. It’s so powerful. your dreams are powerful too. Thank you and a blessed New Year to you and all here. So sad for souls in Canada who are being misled into euthanasia. I only hope we have stalled that terrible push for a bit with our election–but who knows?

        Liked by 3 people

  2. I had a terrible dream on 7th December after I offered a rosary of the reparation to Eternal Father. It was about a big wave. Very scary. It repeated last 1st August 2016 after my completed rosary of the reparation but the first dream was a bit different but still showed the wave .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Janet, this is Melanie in California…I wanted to share a couple of things with you…confirmation I have had. August 18, 2016…I woke up from a lovely dream…it was of 2 separately gold framed pictures…one of movement, swishing strokes upwards, the second of a simple, 5 petaled gold flower..I felt like they were gifts from Our Lord. I quickly drew the pictures into a journal I keep. I then went to a noon Mass held at the Mission San Luis Rey in Oceanside, CA…after the service, I went into their gift shop to look around. No sooner had I stepped into the door, I noticed a basket filled with little cards just brought in by a Priest from Jerusalem…the cards were from the early 1900’s the sign said, and they were in immaculate shape…there on top, I saw a card, with the same, yellow, 5 petaled flower under a cross with thorns… the card was made from pressed flowers and olive leaves from the Gardem of Gethsenami! The card was trimmed with gold…. But, that was not all, when I went around the corner in the gift shop, I immediately saw a framed picture of Jesus, smiling a warm and loving smile…one of a kind, a rescue it looked like, with a worn wooden frame…I bought both of these items immediately! What a beautiful gift from Our Lord! But that was not all either…in the basket of cards, I also bought a card that had a very special prayer inside…it is called, “DAILY PRAYER FOR THE DYING” and it goes like this, “O most merciful Jesus, Lover of Souls, I pray Thee by the agony of Thy most Sacred Heart, and by the sorrows of Thy Immaculate Mother, cleanse in Thy Blood the sinners of the whole world who are now in their agony, and are to die this day. Amen. Agonizing Heart of Jesus, have mercy on the dying.” (100 days indulg. each time)

    I have been saying it daily now since August to help save souls for Jesus. Your recent dreams you have had confirm this need! One last item, I would like to share with you is this…I was thinking of going up to Canada (Victoria) to see my mother there, who is in a nursing home, and I was looking into airline tickets…I had trouble opening the Alaska Airliine website…and the websites I did manage to open had ridiculous fares…$889 and upwards per person… so, I prayed on it and asked the Lord if I was to wait on this and not go…that night, I had a dream, the only one since August 18th…. It was night time, dark and cold, with the only light coming from the moon… My family and I (husband and 2 kids) were standing out in the open, almost like a big field but, to the left of us was a wide hill that rolled down to us in the open…we went to lay out our sleeping bags, when all of a sudden, when I looked up to my left at the hill….a large wide flood of water came flooding down the hill so fast, that when we tried to pull our sleeping bags out of the way and jump back, the sleeping bags still got wet and were dripping as we jumped back… the moonlight shown on the water as it flowed down…. then the dream was over.

    I think we had better hold on because I believe the Holy Spirit is going to do something soon and very quickly! Maybe it will be the Illumination? We will see! God Bless you and your family. I hope you like the attachments I have included!! Melanie

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Amazing Melanie! God has ceased to be subtle! 🙂 Come Holy Spirit! May your kingdom come and come quickly!

      I love the mission at San Luis Rey. I visited there several years ago and as a Franciscan felt very blessed.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Melanie what a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing. I wonder too if those holy cards from Jerusalem are a call to pray harder for our Catholic brothers and sisters over there who are suffering so terribly. I found your dream interesting. I’ve been having some big wave dreams myself and not quite sure what to make of it. As Janet says, a call to prayer.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you Janet for the reminder about praying for people we will never know or meet. I find when I am struggling and get discouraged (perhaps just drained) these are the prayers I have the hardest time praying. Thank goodness for your beautiful blog that reminds me that “God is calling us to participate in his ministry of salvation”.
    The priest as Mass today spoke of how the shepherds (who where low on the totem pole of life) where the first to be brought to see Jesus and then went out and helped spread the story of Jesus’s birth so we must too do the same. I never heard it like that before. So I guess we can be the shepherds helping spread God’s mercy by our prayers.

    And thank you Larry and Ann for your comments. I will add that prayer Ann at the consecration. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Goodness!! The sharings are stunning! For me, the best part is that all those who had dreams, understand what they meant. I too had a ‘flood’ dream, whose meaning I am still trying to understand fully.

    Just before Lent 2016, I had a dream of a coming flood of muddy water to my town, which actually sits on a hill. There were 2 parts to this dream.
    In the 1st part, I was in a car, and for some reason, went to investigate this muddy river as it flowed down some distance from my town. To investigate, I drove ‘upstream’. And then suddenly, I was in danger, and to save myself, grabbed hold of a branch or something and got myself out of the car, while the car was borne away by the waters. I should have felt relief but I didn’t because I was fretting about what to tell my husband who was working outstation, about losing the car.

    When I did confess, his words were, “You should have held on, and after a while, it would have been okay.”

    Then, the dream progressed to the 2nd part. I had a different car. I had the feeling that what had been lost had been replaced. I drove to the town centre. All around me, people were in a panic. They were boarding buses to escape from the coming flood waters. Here, I must mention that my family and I are the only Christians in this town; all the rest are non-Christians, of a different religion. A neighbor of ours, someone of standing in the town, advised me to leave with the others. I balked at it because I felt we were safer here. We lived on a hill. Anywhere else, the waters would get us. I called my husband and he confirmed that the kids and I should stay put.

    So, against ‘popular’ advice, I went to make sure I had sufficient phone credit so as to be able to keep communicating. I was calm, although the town was rapidly emptying, and we were soon to be the only ones left behind.

    Although the meaning of the dream should have been clear, till today, I cannot say for sure that I understand what this ‘flood’ means. After the dream last year, I prayed to understand.

    Shortly after, I received this word: Prepare.

    And I’ve been trying to do that ever since. Preparing myself and others for whatever is coming.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for sharing these dreams, Peli, and also for all the beautiful comments. Two years ago there was a suicide in my family and I have been praying for the repose of his soul ever since, but hadn’t thought about the idea that my prayers now could work for his salvation.
    2016 was the year of mercy; perhaps 2017 will be the year we see God’s loving hand at work
    even if it seems in difficult ways. But hopefully the Rescue will come by the end of this year, the 100th anniversary of Fatima. May we live to see the triumph of the Immaculate heart of Mary!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Sr. Lorraine–I heard this wonderful truth explained best by Marino Restrepo. He said that Jesus showed him that all prayers we offer for others are–in the eternal Now of God–always present and at the moment of death someone in danger gets all the light and grace and help of those prayers at that moment. He experienced something of that himself in his ordeal in the Colombian jungle. And –he says he was shown–it’s enough to turn the soul to God and be saved. I take great comfort from this for my son died a sudden unprovided death and was not practicing his faith and yet I received many graces and comforts afterward, some quite direct from the Blessed Mother I believe–that he was safe.

      Liked by 3 people

  7. For several years now I have a reminder come up on my computer each day at work when the clock strikes 3 to pray for those who are dying and are in need of God’s mercy. After reading these following excerpts from St Faustina’s diary I knew this is something I could do every day to help save souls.

    At three o’clock, implore My mercy, especially for sinners; and, if only for a brief moment, immerse yourself in My Passion, particularly in My abandonment at the moment of agony. This is the hour of great mercy. In this hour, I will refuse nothing to the soul that makes a request of Me in virtue of My Passion (Diary, 1320).

    As often as you hear the clock strike the third hour, immerse yourself completely in My mercy, adoring and glorifying it; invoke its omnipotence for the whole world, and particularly for poor sinners; for at that moment mercy was opened wide for every soul. In this hour you can obtain everything for yourself and for others for the asking; it was the hour of grace for the whole world — mercy triumphed over justice. (1572)

    My daughter, try your best to make the Stations of the Cross in this hour, provided that your duties permit it; and if you are not able to make the Stations of the Cross, then at least step into the chapel for a moment and adore, in the Most Blessed Sacrament, My Heart, which is full of mercy; and should you be unable to step into the chapel, immerse yourself in prayer there where you happen to be, if only for a very brief instant. (1572)

    Jesus I trust in You!!!
    May the Lord’s peace be with you!!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Tom I have a 3:00 alarm on my phone, and as I work in a church, Father and I step into the sanctuary as soon as possible after 3:00 to pray the chaplet and the prayer for souls. God has arranged all this, when I think of how I came to be working there. 🙂 Praise be to God!

      Liked by 4 people

      1. What a great idea. So often I’ll look up at the clock and it’s already 4 or 3:30 and I’ve missed it. I still pray the Chaplet but upset that I got distracted and missed the hour itself. I ‘m going to put an alarm on my phone and see if that helps. I bet it will. Sometimes I awake just like clockwork at 3Am and always pray Chaplet (or try to–sometimes I’m too groggy) because I figure that too is the hour of mercy on the other side of the world.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I also had a water dream a few years ago.
    I was on the bottom floor of an open air hotel. The ocean water was up to the floor and nearly on it, with all those outside drowned by the rising waters. There was a huge cart on rollers, of dirty laundry, that I had to push away from me.
    I’m thinking that we need to stand our ground (in our faith), not allow others’ dirty laundry to soil (sin) us, and pray for those “outside of our dwelling” (expand our territory of souls)…
    Happy New Year to all.
    Yes–please Lord, let 2017 be the year of the definitive entry into the Era of Peace!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

