St. Joseph, pray for us…

Blessings dear friends. Ever since my pilgrimage to St. Joseph’s Oratory in Montreal last June, I have had a much stronger devotion to St. Joseph. The Oratory is the largest shrine dedicated to St. Joseph in the world, and was built against all odds through the prayers and inspiration of St. Brother André Bessette, the humble doorkeeper of Notre Dame College in Montreal, whose devotion to St. Joseph developed into a great ministry of healing. The secular press once dubbed him, “The Miracle Man of Montreal”. With a conservative estimate of 10,000 healings attributed to his prayers to St. Joseph in the 60 years or so of his healing ministry, it can be argued that he was one of the greatest healers in the history of the Church. However, he never took credit for any of the miracles. When asked for prayers, he would tell people, “Pray to St. Joseph. I will pray with you.”

Near the end of that article on my pilgrimage to the Oratory, I noted that in reflecting on the life of St. Brother André one thing that occurred to me was that his mission and ministry in life was not primarily one of healing, but of making St. Joseph more well known and loved, of increasing devotion to him for the greater glory of God. I have come to believe that God means this to be the era of Mary and Joseph. The Church has had 2000 years in which to solidify her theology and establish Jesus Christ as her true and only centre. However, it seems that Jesus wants his Mother and Foster-Father to be more well known and loved now. He is bringing them out from behind the veil as if to say, “Children, here are your Mother and Father. Listen to them, as I do. Love them as I do. Pray to them and I will respond with great joy.”

My devotion to St. Joseph since returning home has blossomed and I recently had an experience which left me feeling called to promote St. Joseph even more fervently.

Last Wednesday, the first Wednesday of November, I spoke to a classroom of students about my trip to Montreal. I related to them that I felt that the mission of St. Brother André was not so much one of healing, but of making St. Joseph better known. Interiorly, I felt privileged to be doing the same with these students in my small way. When I came home I checked my blog comments and one of my readers had posted this comment:

“…It’s the first Wednesday of the month. In the approved apparitions of St Joseph in Brazil, he said:

‘My beloved son, today is the first Wednesday of the month. On every first Wednesday of the month, my Chaste Heart pours numerous graces on all who rely on my intercession. On these Wednesdays, men will not receive a shower of simple graces, but very strong torrents of extraordinary graces! I will share them with those who honor me and rely on me, all the blessings, all the virtues, and all the love I received from my Divine Son Jesus and my spouse the Blessed Virgin Mary while still living in this world and all the graces that I continue to receive in the glory of paradise.’”

I was overwhelmed that this “First Wednesday” was the day I had evangelized about St. Joseph. I had been praying for a specific intention and that same day it seemed a great grace was given with regard to that intention. I was quite overwhelmed when I put the pieces together! I responded to the comment with this prayer:

Good St. Joseph, thank you! I claim these graces, these torrents of graces, over the one I am praying for most fervently, and all those poor sous in my spiritual territory. Today I had the honour of making you better known to a group of school children. I promise you good Father, that I will re-double my efforts in making you better known in the world, should you condescend to answer my prayers–and even if you don’t, for I know that whatever you do or don’t do is within God’s perfect will. May God’s holy will be done in me, through me, and around me. I love you Papa Joseph! St. Brother André, pray with me. Amen.

I think there can be no doubt that the days will continue to darken. I want to urge all readers to develop a devotion to the Most Chaste Heart of St. Joseph. Rather than duplicate what has already been done well, I will direct you to the Apostolate of St. Joseph website, where I also found this reference to a vision of Blessed Catherine de St. Augustin regarding the Ascension of Jesus:

“I saw a very august procession of blessed souls… St John the Baptist was at the head and carried a white banner, white as snow, on which was written in large red characters these words: Ecce Agnus Dei, ecce qui tollit peccata mundi. … This procession seemed to rise in the air, and the King of glory, in the centre of this entire troop, was taken up in an admirable way by His proper virtue. I followed as much as I could and my spirit accompanied Him… St Joseph was the closest at the entrance of the eternal gates, and it was he, it seemed to me, who spoke first to the Most August Trinity; and addressing himself to the person of the Father, after the most sacred Humanity was put into its appointed place, said to Him in a language of the blessed:

“’This talent has profited so much that not only do I return it to You doubled, but You see this multitude that it has acquired; I return all to You and offer it to You.’

“The Eternal Father then not only set him over a great many people, but even said to him: ‘Faithful servant! Since you were the steward of My house on earth, I want you to command here and to have all power.’ The Son Himself gave him power over Him, all King of glory that He was, and wanted him to have the honor of commanding Him.”

We can do no wrong in honoring St. Joseph and continuously begging his intercession. Believe in his faithful intercession and don’t stop praying. St. Joseph is a most powerful ally in this evil age, and he is meant to be our special intercessor and protector.

St. Joseph Guardian of the Unborn, pray for us. St. Joseph, Terror of Demons, pray for us.

(A litany of St. Joseph may be found on EWTN.)

16 thoughts on “St. Joseph, pray for us…

  1. Thank you for telling us about St Joseph. I was on and off with St Joseph for many years…. I was a bit annoyed with him sometimes because i feel he is so quiet for me or hides himself from me. Some years ago. After a major surgery, I had a strange dream that I found myself walking on the long hall. I sensed an invisble presence and this being held a book as I looked at the golden writings on the front cover…”The life of St Joseph”

    I woke up wondering about this book. A few years later . I got that book. Very interesting…but English is different and heavy.

    Like

    1. The book is named as “The life of Saint Joseph ” by Sister Maria Cecilia Baij….who was the abbess of the Benedictine convent of St Peter in Montefiascone, Italy . She wrote this book from 1743 to 1766 A.D.

      Page no : 341

      The saint continuously exercises his intermediary function before God… on behalf of dying… He also manifests a deep concern for the welfare of all souls redeemed by the precious blood of the saviour… He gets graces for all… but he shows a special solicitude for those who honour him…

      I , (sr m Cecilia) urge all souls in every state of life, to have a special life to this great saint. Marvellous effects will indeed be experienced by doing do….

      Like

    2. Saint Faustina wrote “st Joseph urged me to have a constant devotion to him. St Joseph,himself told me to recite everyday three prayers and the remember once. He looked at me with great kindness and gave me to know how much he is supporting this work ( Divine Mercy). He has promised me his special help and protection. I recite the requested prayers every day and feel his special protection. (III,55).”

      Like

  2. Dear Janet
    I too had a personal experience of St. Joseph on a first Wednesday before I knew what a first Wednesday was.
    Joseph has been on my mind and heart more and more the past few months. Praise God.

    Like

  3. I agree wholeheartedly, Janet, about the Lord’s desire to make St. Joseph known and loved more. He has given my family miracles the last several years as I have felt drawn closer to him and called on him so many times. He is very dear to me now. There is so much I could tell about him, but it would take too long! I love his title, “Terror of demons”!

    Like

  4. My husband Don and I were given a cruise for our 50th wedding anniversary. Montreal was our last port and our pilgrimage-goal was to the Oratory of St. Joseph. Don’s knee and feet gave out during the day and he was in intense pain. Upon returning to the hotel, he laid down on the bed. I put St. Joseph’s holy oil on his knee and both feet. HE WAS INSTANTLY HEALED. We were so thrilled. I brought home oil for all in our prayer group and all have been anointed and prayed over. We are embracing this ministry of St. Joseph and St. Brother Andre. Praise God!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The first public recognition of the devotion to Saint Joseph comes from the Orthodox Coptic church, as early as the beginning of the 4th century.

    In the west, his name appears in the Martyrologies of the 8th and 9th century and for the first time, in Bologna, Italy, in the 13th century, a Church is dedicated in his honour.

    His devotion , started as a private way of honouring the Guardian of the Redeemer, it gained great popularity through Saints like

    St Thomas Aquinas,
    St Gertrude
    St Bernad
    St Brigid of Sweden.

    They all had a great devotion for the silent saint.

    In the 19th century, Saint Joseph’s role as the protector of the Holy Family was extended to the whole Church.

    In 1870, on 8th December, Pope Pius IX declared Saint Joseph as “Patron of the Univeral Church.”

    From this booklet named as THE UNTOLD STORY OF SAINT JOSEPH. ( a handbook of devotion to Saint Joseph)

    This book(let)

    Like

  6. Sister Mary Cecila:

    In the year 1746, St Joseph revealed himself in all his glory to Mary Cecila after her reception of Holy Communion. She then spoke to to him (St Joseph), “Oh my dear Saint Joseph, Have pity on me! If I have written well about you, then please remember me. If I have written poorly about you, then punish me.” St Joseph said to her, Oh daughter, you have written well about me.”

    Our Dear Savior on one occasion told her that through her intrmentality, a large number of people would come to an understanding of His (chaste) Heart and would give it the devoted veneration it deserved.

    P. Odo Staudinger, O.S.B. commented that we hope therefore, that this book will contribute to a greater appreciation, love and veneration for the Son of God, as well as for His faithful, humble and chaste foster-father. To this purpose, take up and read!

    Page no xiii. ” The life of Saint Joseph.”

    Like

  7. After St Joseph’s death, Jesus took Joseph’s soul up into His Most Holy hands and allowed His most holy Mother in spirit to behold it. It was comforting for Mary to see Joseph’s most perfect soul.

    St Joseph was sixty one old at the time of his death. His dead body was surrounded by a wonderful radiance and also emitted a delightful odor.

    Page 339.

    Like

Leave a Reply

