As more souls fulfill their God-given purpose, the coming of the kingdom will be hastened…

Ephesians 4:11-13 The gifts he gave were that some would be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, some pastors and teachers, to equip the saints for the work of ministry, for building up the body of Christ, until all of us come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to maturity, to the measure of the full stature of Christ.

“My beloved, I have not left you orphaned but have equipped and sent you out for ministry. My gifts are not to be treated lightly but taken to heart and used for each one’s unique purpose. Are all apostles the same? Do all prophets carry the same message? All evangelists the same method? No. Each one is equipped in a unique way. It is wrong to compare them, for each one will be judged according to how they used what was given to them. Woe to those who bury their talent in the ground! Children, discern carefully the gifts you have been given and do not be afraid to use them for the building up of the kingdom—‘to the measure of the full stature of Christ.’ Do your part, and do not judge how faithful others are to their calling. Instead, pray for all, that as more souls fulfill their God-given purpose, the coming of the kingdom will be hastened.”

O my Jesus, forgive me for the times I have failed in my calling. Increase my fervour. Give me wisdom and insight to know in each moment how it is that you want me to build up the kingdom. Send forth your Spirit, O Lord, and renew the face of the earth. Maranatha! Amen.

13 thoughts on “As more souls fulfill their God-given purpose, the coming of the kingdom will be hastened…

  1. Lord grant me that with Thy peace I may greet all that this day may bring,
    Grant unto me Grace to surrender myself completly to Thy Holy Will
    In every hour of this day, instruct and guide me in all things,
    Whatever tidings I may receive during this day,
    Do Thou teach me to accept tranquilly, in the firm belief,
    That Thy Holy Will governs All.
    Govern Thou my thoughts and feelings, in all that I do and say,
    Whatever unforseen events occur, Let me not forget,
    That all is sent by Thee.
    Teach me to behave sincerely and reasonable toward everyone,
    That I may bring confusion and sorrow to no one.
    Bestow on me Oh Lord strength to endure the fatigue of the day,
    And bear my part in its events.
    Guide Thou my will and teach me to pray, to believe,to suffer,
    To forgive and to love.
    Amen

    Say every morning please

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I am sitting here smiling…… This message expresses what I truly sense the Holy Spirit say this morning. When a soul turns back and finds the right path again…. When someone unites with God….. When someone adores, prays…. Then the Kingdom is growing.
    The other aspect of all having different gifts to be used for others summarises my week!! All week I was made aware of the spirit of competition in the world….. And it’s devastating effects. Work…. Friendships…. Prayer groups…. Schools…. I had a week of it!!
    The only conclusion I could come to is that people are not secure in truly knowing how much God loves them. So like kids at school at school they jostle for attention…… From the teacher….from each other. They have to be seen, noticed, more successful.
    I had a wonderful week filling in for teacher in music…… I stressed that our little performances of percussion WERE NOT competitive. They were for us to bring out our creativity … God’s Gift to us…. And for us all to enjoy.
    The kids were wonderful….. They got it!!!
    It’s the adults who spoil things. So competitive.
    No wonder we are called to be like little children!

    Liked by 7 people

    1. This is where my thoughts were exactly this week Anne. I was walking my new puppy in the neighborhood and I heard children laughing and playing in their backyard! I found this very strange since they are usually busy inside with electronics or buried with homework or being whisked off to sports. I was one of these parents that did this and I never meant for it to happen in the first place. Its just starts to unfold as the years go by.
      I have had a chance to reflect on all the competitiveness and what a silly rat race it has been for our family now that the house is empty. I told another parent (with younger kids) that if I could change one thing about raising my daughters (now in college) it would have been less competition and more family time. (Also, our best vacations have been camping, not the fancy expensive vacations we’ve been on.)
      I have talked with a lot of moms where I work, and most of them would love for the rat-race to stop, but nobody wants to be the one who has their children get “left behind”. Competitiveness creates more competitiveness. It’s exhausting. Be not of this world, especially this one.
      I read it on one of the Catholic blogs a week or so ago, something along the lines of “God should be our only audience”. Imagine a world like that! All the rat-races would probably stop.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Sky ranch and pelianito…… Thank you so much. So very much!!
    This has become so clear to me. Everyone is trying to survive in this competitive spirit ….. Competition raises competition.
    The only answer is to let go and Jesus I trust in you!
    But people simple do not know Him.
    My prayer now is…….. lord they do not know….. Please show Youself and your love for them.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. A timely message about using our gifts & talents. I felt prompted just last week to write an article about Our Lady for a Peace magazine, but decided not to. Then I read this message, so I have gathered together my notes and written the article. Perhaps someone will read it and be inspired.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Janet I am still praying for you and hoping things are sorting out with great blessing for you. I am praying the wonderful Surrender Novena again–after reading your post at Charlie’s blog.
    Wish I’d read this message when I was 20 years younger. Sigh. :Paula NZ gives me some inspiration though. One thing I can do is write. And that’s what I might try to do. As Paula says, who knows someone may read it and be inspired.
    BTW for some odd reason I can’t connect directly to this site. I have to go to your Joy of Penance and come in through your blog roll. Very strange.

    Like

Leave a Reply

