Defend me and I will defend you—it is that simple…

Matthew 5:11-12 “Blessed are you when people revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

“Children do not fear persecution. It is a sign of great favor. Do not fear that which can harm the body, but cling to me as a little child clings to its mother or father. Let go of your fears. Trust in me. Know that I am most near to you in your times of great trial. Remain steadfast. Defend me and I will defend you—it is that simple. Those who do not lose faith will be richly rewarded. Ah, but this is not difficult—even under duress—for the one who places all her trust in me and none in herself. Left to yourself, you will crumble and fall. But I am ready with untold gifts if you place all your trust in me. Yet, even if you crumble, draw near to me and I will move you faster and farther than you dreamed possible. Give me your weakness and let me transform it. Do you see now why you must not be afraid? Look at me. See my love for you. Enter into my pierced heart. There you will be perfectly safe. Come to me, my children. Draw near.”

O my Jesus, give us joy in all circumstances, the joy of knowing that you are near, so near to us. Take your hand, Jesus, and lift us into your pierced heart. Plant us firmly there, Beloved, so that we will not be put to shame, but will use the gifts you offer to defend you and your Bride. Jesus, I trust in you. I love you! By your grace, may your name always be glorified in me. Amen.

 

18 thoughts on “Defend me and I will defend you—it is that simple…

    1. I am with Rebecca in being so blessed by your beautiful messages. It paints a picture of a humble, caring heart whose sole purpose is to be in union with God and love his people. Your words lift me to Jesus every time I read them. God bless.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Thank you for your kind words. I am always humbled by what God is doing through this unworthy sinner–and make no mistake, I am a sinner and very, very ordinary. I have so much to offer because I have so much yet to learn, so like St. Paul, I can only boast of my weakness, for without my weakness this blog would not exist. All glory and praise to God!

        Liked by 3 people

      1. Dear Joseph even in families, Christian belief ,church if they see you as a threat to there own comfort zone or pew, ministry. ” don’t rock the boat” they say, I love the way things are. It is most comfortable. I pray for more faith in the knowledge of who we are and who He is that loves us more than we can imagine , that we will be steadfast and humble in all circumstances God Bless you all

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Just this weekend I had the opportunity to stand up–in a way. I never saw it coming but a friend of my husband’s arrived unexpectedly from out of state and in conversation spoke of the corruption in the Church, the priest scandal and how he and his wife just simply left. This is someone who thinks abortion should be a choice and is beginning to look into “end of life” issues so that if he is suffering he can quickly end it. I jumped in and made the case for Christ and for the Church. Probably not very eloquently but certainly with great feeling and passion. I don’t think it had any effect but I spoke my piece. In spite of risking ridicule, which blessedly did not occur. What troubles me in all of this are the hardened hearts I see around me, hearts that once were open and are now slammed shut. Something is going on. Something very scary indeed. A kind of winnowing. God have mercy on us that we may be given the grace to” stand in the evil day” with the armor of God when the pressure really gets going. It’s just so easy to fall…to let up for a bit, to fall back on less prayer, to not get to daily Mass, to have things get in the way of Adoration hours. Bit by bit…For myself I’ve just got to recommit to penance and prayer and fasting. And beg for the grace to stay faithful. So many souls are at stake.
    On another note, as you may know, a priest was martyred in Normandy this morning while saying Mass by Isis thugs. Fr. Jacques Hamel may you be with the angels in Paradise! I can’t quite grasp the horror and sacrilege of it…so I’ll say no more.

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Thanks for the link Janet. I just read the article. Immensely helpful. I can see there some very concrete ways to approach these discussions/arguments etc. What I need is to get back into study mode so I can pull up the necessary info. I used to know a lot more than I do now. (you don’t use it you lose it ;-(
    Back to the Catechism and to Frank Sheed and/St. Thomas/St. Augustin etc. My poor old brain. Sigh. When I was young I devoured these books but now….I’ll need crib notes. The Holy Spirit is wonderful. Always connecting and confirming and expanding. I was so grateful for the resource list at the end of the article.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup! It is a blessing. The more I know my dependency on the Holy Spirit the better it is. It’s all blessing. All gift.
        thought I’d share the following to you Janet and the bloggers. At my Holy Hour this morning after a while of just being there with Our Lord and praying the Eucharistic reparation prayers from Fatima, and pondering about the Holy Father and some of the more troubling things he has said and praying about it I asked the Holy Spirit to speak to me through the Word. And quite quietly, peacefully, simply I was given Acts 11 vs, 13, “I saw an angel and he told me…go find a man whose name is Simon Peter…he will tell you what you need to know to save your family…” Well, I gotta say….how much clearer could it be. And it went on to say “they stopped criticizing and began to praise God…” So I pass that on because it hit me like a 2×4. It just lifted a big dark cloud off of me. And as if that wasn’t enough of a blessing, I started saying “I will bless you Lord at all times, your praise always on my lips…” and the breviary fell open to that very psalm 34!! And of course in one of the verses, angels again. “the angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him.” I think my Guardian Angel was working overtime. It is a beautiful, beautiful psalm. Every word minted gold. And just so I guess my cup could run over, I was given Hebrews 10, vs. 37 “Just a little while….” and the Lord is coming! And it went on to say “the upright will live through faith but if he turns back I will take no pleasure in him.” A sober call to stay faithful. I was thinking of that wonderful old hymn, “I have decided to follow Jesus, no turning back no turning back.” so it was a very powerful Holy Hour today. I’m going to post these guidelines on my frig where I can see them every day. Praise, Bless, Thank, don’t criticize, and DON’T turn back.

        Liked by 4 people

  3. “Be not afraid to tell Jesus that you love Him; even though it be without feeling, this is the way to oblige Him to help you, and carry you like a little child too feeble to walk.”

    St. Therese of Lisieux

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

