When I say that your reward will be great in heaven, do not imagine that I am being trite…

Matthew 5:11-12 “Blessed are you when people revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

“My beloved, do not imagine that the journey of my faithful ones is so different from the journey of their Lord. On the contrary, I AM the way and all paths lead through the cross. Remember, my children, that each cross is tailored to the soul. Each is unique, as unique as the soul that bears it. The only similarity in all crosses is that I am with you all in your passion. You need only turn to me and all the strength I had in my passion will be made available to you. This is especially true when one is being persecuted for my sake. Would I abandon that poor soul? Would not the Father see me when he looks at him? When I say that your reward will be great in heaven, do not imagine that I am being trite. Those who suffer on my behalf will be eternally grateful for what that suffering has purchased for them. Indeed, it will seem a far greater reward than the soul feels he deserved for it. In comparison, the trial will seem a small thing—even a large trial. My children, you cannot possibly imagine with what magnanimity your infinitely generous God can act. Be therefore consoled. All that happens in this life is as a passing shadow, over in the blink of an eye. Endure all with faith, fortitude, and great trust. I am with you through it all. Shalom.”

O my Jesus, help me not to get caught up in my daily trials, big or small, but help me to link all trials to the cross so that I may in some way participate in your redemptive act. O Jesus, in your mercy, give me grace, faith, fortitude and ever-greater trust, that I might endure all trials with great love for your glory. I love you Jesus! Amen.

10 thoughts on “When I say that your reward will be great in heaven, do not imagine that I am being trite…

  1. This is a very timely message for me. I have been experiencing persecution big time!
    Thank you Lord for this message, it gives me great comfort and confidence, in You I trust!
    Thank you Peli for being the messenger, a real life saver!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yes oh yes. This message is priceless in these days. Even if it’s not from the government, the family and friends “persecution” is just as sharp a serpent’s tooth in some ways. Maybe harder. We expect hostility from the secular state. What’s hard is the contempt of those close to us. It is so frightening to see how many have “drunk the cool aide” Just this morning I had new proof of it. I keep thinking of what it seemed the Lord told me to say when the gay marriage law passed the US Supreme Court. I didn’t know what to say or how to respond to family who are very “pro” this issue. It seemed the Lord said to me to simply say nothing. Or if pressed, to say the words of the old spiritual: “just tell the love of Jesus, and say He died for all.” and that’s sort of my bottom line now. I will stay silent in the face of the ridicule for my principles but if pressed I will simply quote that line. And remind myself of it!! Jesus died for ALL of us, even the people who are persecuting us. They are precious in His sight and need our love and our prayers. Not sentimental love but biblical love. What a difficult tightrope to walk. God bless all here.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. This evening I went to see the new adaptation of the story of Tarazan at the cinema with my daughters. We were dismayed to see the ‘baddie’ in the film carried a rosary bead wrapped around his wrist at all times which he used as a weapon to strangle and kill people with! When he was asked by the heroine where he had got the rosary from he said’he had been given it by a priest he had been friends with when he was a boy. To which she sarcastically replied “You seem to have been very close to your priest” This caused some in the audience to snigger in a kind of ‘we get the joke’ kind of way.
    It felt sinister that the film makers were trying to, even in a film like Tarzan, to ‘blacken’ and portray once again, that Christians are to be held in contempt. It’s like we are being ‘set up’ for persecution.
    Our Lady help of Christians pray for us!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thats funny you mention the Tarzan movie MG02. My older daughters and I saw the new Ghostbusters movie (which I thought was rather good) but rather than having some cute ghosts running around like in the original movie, these new ghosts were much more demonic looking. I thought to myself, wow, the story line is reflecting real life today, especially in NY. It would have been a fun movie but it felt real with all the crazy demonic activity going on in the world today. Instead of “laser tractor beams” or whatever they used to catch the ghosts we need all the sacramentals we can get our hands on.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Tarzan wouldn’t be my first choice by a long shot ☺️but we wanted a bit of light entertainment and as we had left it late and it was a very ‘on the spur of the moment’ decision, I left it up to my daughters to book seats for a film. I didn’t think I would have to check up on a Tarzan film!
    Both daughters adults, so no harm done ; )

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on pelianitoblog and commented:

    Blessings all. Here is the last of four re-blogged posts on the crosses we are carrying. For your further edification, I also want to add a quote from Archbishop Fulton Sheen:

    “There is in each of us a shadow-self, and a real-self. The shadow-self seeks only its own will and pleasure. The more we keep the sun behind us, the greater the length of the shadow, the less Christ is in our lives. Every pain patiently borne, every blow to self, shapes the real eternal self. It was the Crucifixion of Our Lord that prepared the way for His resurrection and Glory. Our Lord is weaving your heavenly robes for the heavenly nuptials, though you know it not, in moments that seem so loveless. You cannot see entirely God’s Plan for you. The uncharted ocean is before you, as you toss in the narrow cabin of your suffering; but the Divine Pilot is bringing you to port.” Archbishop Fulton Sheen Foundation (Lenten & Easter Inspirations)

    Like

Leave a Reply

