I left the tomb empty. Then do not return to it to sit weeping in the dark…

Luke 24:12 Peter got up and ran to the tomb; stooping and looking in, he saw the linen cloths by themselves; then he went home, amazed at what had happened.

“My beloved, can you even imagine such a moment? My servant, my friend Peter, traumatized by the horror of my death, now had to somehow accept this unimaginable reality—I had risen! You too are immersed in a world that gives birth to horror and terror at every moment. I come to give you great hope. Just as the resurrection was an unimaginable joy to the disciples, so too will the era of peace be to all who are now traumatized by the horrors all around. Be not afraid. I left the tomb empty. Then do not return to it to sit weeping in the dark. I have come to set the captives free and I will do it. The glory to come is unimaginable to you. Trust in me. Pray for sinners. Children, I am near, so near!”

O my Jesus, thank you for these words of hope! Our hearts are breaking over the sin and suffering in the world. Jesus we trust in you. We give you all souls in the Divine Will so that your mercy will act on them as it so longs to do. We immerse them in the ocean of your mercy. Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, we love you—save souls!


To all my dear friends, I pray that the glorious light of Easter will shine forever on you and yours. I treasure your presence, thank God for your faithfulness, and pray for you each day. I thank you for your prayers for me and mine as well.

He is risen indeed! Alleluia! Maranatha!

17 thoughts on “I left the tomb empty. Then do not return to it to sit weeping in the dark…

  1. How I love your title! Rejoice, dearly beloved brothers and sisters! If your home liturgies left a great deal to be desired, find two remarkable Easter liturgical hymns here: the Victimae Paschali Laudes gloriously sung by full choir and organ [with translation] and the stunning, simple EXULTET, the Easter proclamation of Holy Saturday vigil night, sung in Gregorian chant in English: https://soulfoodministries.wordpress.com/2016/03/26/christians-to-the-paschal-victim/

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yes, Kathy, I too was struck by that line that I used for the title. How easy it is to sit weeping in the dark, and to cling to that! What rubbish! We are a resurrection people and Alleluia! is our song.

      I hope to get a chance to check out those links on Monday.

      Bless you all!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. O Dear Lord Jesus – what hope! You are ‘so near’! Maybe ‘the glory that is to come’ is indeed just around the corner…? Maranatha – Come quickly dear Lord, and save this poor world, so immersed in its sins! I say ‘Amen’ to Peli’s prayer to immerse them (instead) in the ocean of Your Mercy…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Just finished my prayers, and asked Jesus for a word of hope….logged in and found this beautiful message. So needed to hear this!
    Thank you Jesus, and thank you Peli… very much : )
    Wishing you all, a very Happy and blessed Easter. You are all in my prayers daily. God bless!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yes we are Easter people. Over the last week our smaller Parishes have closed, on Palm Sunday we walked in procession to our newly renovated Basilica singing & carrying our palms and some treasures from our churches like chalices and holy pictures. The television cameras were there and surprisingly we made the national news. All our Easter ceremonies were in our Basilica with overflowing congregations, the church was filled with singing and joy and a tiny baby from among us was Baptised.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. As someone who was in a small community whose parish closed in 1999, I know well how difficult it can be. Yet, our congregation soared above their sadness and we had a blessed transition. I felt it was the Lord asking us all, “Will you follow me? Even to the next parish?” Sadly, some said no. Praise God for the joy you experienced Paula!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Beautiful, Paula. We too have lost our smaller parishes. It left some division and bitterness that I hope and pray has finally dissipated. Your experience is very heartening.

      Like

  5. What a wonderful “get a spiritual grip, people” meditation. Just like that prayer Beckita over a Charlie Johnson’s is recommending. A holy, healthy, happy Easter and blessed Bright Week to you, Janet!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Wow!

    This message makes me look forward to the future with great joy! I will share it with other people! A most refreshing message!

    JEREMIAH 31 : 25 “I will refresh the weary and satisfy the faint.”

    Thank you Pelianito for your faithfulness to Jesus!

    May we all see each other in the Era of Peace!

    Jesus has risen!

    Ave Maria! : )

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

