More on St. Joseph…

One of my blog readers sent me a link to the Apostolate of St. Joseph. I started by reading about the apparitions of St. Joseph, of which I had not heard much about. The 1998 apparition in Brazil has some especially consoling words for the dark times we are in. I could not wait to share this treasure with you.

St. Joseph, guardian of the unborn, pray for us!*

(*This prayer I have added to the end of each decade of the rosary after the Fatima prayer. St. Joseph, as a most worthy guardian of the unborn Jesus, is a perfect guardian also for all the unborn.)

22 thoughts on “More on St. Joseph…

  1. Thanks be to God justice was served in Wanda Lockert’s case in the Courts!. Thanks to Mary Therese who revealed to us the St. of unjust causes is St. Gerard Majella. We were praying to him and St. Joseph.
    Thankyou all dear Peli family. May you be richly rewarded.
    In Christ, Liz.

    Like

  2. I have never heard of this! How lovely that Joseph came and is offering his protection too! What are the the seven Apostles’ Creeds that is mentioned toward the end?

    Like

  3. Great to see that word is catching on about the Itapiranga apparitions – having read all the 20+ years of material connected with them, I’m convinced that they’re an incredible ‘hidden treasure’ for the Church!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I found this on the site above under the “St. Joseph Intercessor” link:

    St. André Bessette: When you invoke Saint Joseph, you don’t have to speak much. You know your Father in heaven knows what you need; well, so does His friend Saint Joseph. Tell him, “If you were in my place, Saint Joseph, what would you do? Well, pray for this in my behalf.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Off to Montreal tomorrow and will be visiting the St Joseph’s Oratory, to complete day 22 of my Novena to the Holy Cloak. I will put a Prayer Intention (your intentions) for the readers and contributors and creator of The Pelianito Journal Blog in the collection container, in front of the heart of St. Br. Andre. Pax Curtis

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Peli, from the very early days of this year, there has been for me a spiritual nudge to invoke St Joseph – a saint I don’t normally seek the intercession of. And his comfort and light has come speedily.

    Lately, I have become aware of a clamour of noises seeking to busy my soul in ways it should not distracted. Your posts on St Joseph remind me of the silence within him that allowed the Voice of God to come through unhindered. I think St Joseph is leading the way to a deeper communion between souls and the divinity through stillness of spirit. Its one we must enter into in order to not break when the gales rise. I pray this for you and my family here on this blog. I ask for your prayers for myself too. Love you, Peli.

    Like

  7. Dear friends: I ask for your advice (and prayers).
    At Christmas it was said by someone that “perhaps there was no room at the inn for Mary because she was not married. It was disgraceful for an unwed woman to be pregnant. ” Then at the feast of the Holy Innocence ” Can you imagine Mary having to flee to Egypt without a husband.” The logic of the person is they were not married because Mary was a Virgin.
    I believe the teaching of the Catholic Church is they were married at both the Annunciation and the Incarnation. Beyond that, catholic theologians feel Joseph was the father (more than just a foster father) of Jesus in a spiritual sense, because fatherhood is a three way covenant between father, wife and God – to rise the child – vice a carnal act . Mary was married to Joseph!!!!
    So my question is: Do I speak to the person(s), pray for them, stop letting it bother me????

    Like

    1. Robert, sometimes when something won’t let go it is a sign that you should, in charity, point out another’s theological errors. If you feel this is God’s will, then in charity, feel free to do so. I have had similar situations in the past. It is not easy, but do what will give you peace. That is a sure sign it is from God. Here are some of my thoughts. Use them if you wish.

      1. The “law” of consummation in marriage may apply to us, but God is free to act as he chooses for his own higher purposes.
      2. If in a dream, an angel appeared to St. Joseph and told him to not be afraid to take Mary as his wife, and then as Scripture says, he did so, THEY WERE MARRIED. Read Scripture:

      Matthew 1:18 Now the birth of Jesus the Messiah took place in this way. When his mother Mary had been engaged to Joseph, but before they lived together, she was found to be with child from the Holy Spirit. 19Her husband Joseph, being a righteous man and unwilling to expose her to public disgrace, planned to dismiss her quietly. 20But just when he had resolved to do this, an angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, ‘Joseph, son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary as your wife, for the child conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. …24When Joseph awoke from sleep, he did as the angel of the Lord commanded him; he took her as his wife…

      3. Was the innkeeper privy to the intimate details of the lives of Mary and Joseph? Categorically not! They were not even from Bethlehem, but were two strangers in a large crowd of travellers going there for the census. The Inn was FULL. No vacancy. God’s will. God’s plan. Also, I have read that inns in those days were just a big room with everyone sleeping on their mats on the floor. I doubt Mary would want to give birth there anyway.
      4. Scripture is clear that St. Joseph went with Mary into Egypt, and that God put him in charge of the trip. Otherwise the dream would have been given to Mary, and it clearly was not. He was her husband, her protector, and God respected that and used it for his purposes.

      Matthew 1:13 Now after they had left, an angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph in a dream and said, ‘Get up, take the child and his mother, and flee to Egypt, and remain there until I tell you; for Herod is about to search for the child, to destroy him.’ 14Then Joseph got up, took the child and his mother by night, and went to Egypt, 15and remained there until the death of Herod. This was to fulfil what had been spoken by the Lord through the prophet, ‘Out of Egypt I have called my son.’

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Peli. My concern is that many Catholics will believe this person. I don’t understand his motivation. I don’t think I will have peace unless I do something. I have assembled some scripture as you suggested and some things from the Marian Catechist Apostolate. I was thinking of just giving him this material without any dialogue from me. That way he might feel it is the teachings of the Church and not my personal opinion on the subject. I will ask my spiritual advisor what to do and follow his advice. Thank you again. So sad that some try to de-mystify God’s plan and God’s will. Also I will pray to St. joseph – to guide me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I read somewhere that the cave/stable where Jesus was born was originally part of David’s house where he lived as a child. So it does make perfect sense for Jesus to be born there.

        God had promised David, the first rightful king of Israel, that his throne would be established forever.

        “When your days are over and you rest with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, who will come from your own body, and I will establish his kingdom. He is the one who will build a house for my Name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever ” 2 Samuel 7:12-13.

        Like

  8. Thank you Curtis …
    St Joseph is often in the background of things … I wonder one day whether he will be glorified by God in a special way .. He is the only other human being apart from Mary to have had close care of Jesus … What an amazing role.
    Once when I was a teenager I did feel his presence in a special way. I was going through a tough time and it was as though when I was getting up that morning he was beside and behind me .. with consolation. When I went to Mass that day I learnt it was the feast of St Joseph the Worker.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wonderful comments on St. Joseph. I especially love Bl. Andre’s simple prayer. “St. Joseph what would you do in this situation? Well, pray for this in my behalf.” Wow. That may be my new guideline for my prayers. Could use it for Mother Mary too. And our Guardian Angels too. “What would you do in this situation Mother Mary?”

    I think I was “given” a scripture after Mass today during my meditation. It was Isaiah 2, specifically verse 22. But the whole short chapter is loaded!! Chilling and blessing at the same time. It spoke of everything being shaken loose and that ties right into a dream I had 7 years ago that I mentioned here awhile ago, where I saw absolute chaos and confusion and heard “Everything will be shaken loose.” verse 22 says “Don’t put your trust in mortals. What good are they?” At this time of election madness here in the US it seems spot on. Reminds me of the psalm “Do not put your trust in princes…” Now will I have the courage to share this with my loved ones? That’s the hard part. “St Joseph, what would you do in this situation. Well, pray for this in my behalf.”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ann, so glad to have read this today. It comes at a time when I am being pulled in several directions and finding it hard to pray much for others. Your sharing has, this morning, stilled the busyness within me, and brought into me a refreshed awareness that there are too many souls out there who need prayer-lights to see their road ahead. I will pray and send Mother Mary and St Joseph to them.
      Again, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

