St. Brother André Bessette…

January 6 is the feast day of St. Brother André Bessette, once dubbed “The Miracle Man of Montreal”. Brother André was a simple, humble, frail, uneducated man who worked for many years as doorman for the Congregation of the Holy Cross in Montreal. He had a very strong devotion to St. Joseph and often used the oil from the lamp burning in front of his statue to invoke his aid to heal people. Brother André died in 1937. A million people attended his funeral.

As doorman, Brother André met a lot of people. He got to know them personally and prayed for each of them, often well into the night. On average he spent only two hours a night sleeping. Many people experienced healings due to his prayers offered through the intercession of St. Joseph. My grandmother was one of them. At the age of 4 she was cured of deafness when her parents took her to see him. So, of course he holds a special place in my heart.

EWTN has produced a one-hour show about Brother André. It airs in the US and Canada Tuesday, January 12 at 1:30 am and Saturday, January 16 at 9:00 pm. May God be praised in St. Brother André Bessette.

St. Joseph and St. Brother André, pray for us.

8 thoughts on “St. Brother André Bessette…

  1. Dear Janet and all faithful friends here I am sending out an urgent call for prayer for my friend Alison who has just undergone her second knee replacement in six weeks and is in terrible pain but worse the pain medicine is having terrible side effects. She asked me for prayer and I thought maybe on this feast for Brother Andre we could all ask him and St Joseph to mKe the swelling go away and the pain vanish. I know first hand the power of this little band of prayer warriors so thanking you in advance for your help. God bless you all.

    Like

  2. My parents also had a devotion to Brother Andre. They visited Montreal many times! My mother passed many years ago but my father is near the end of his life and now my sister is making compromising decisions for his care. She is particularly vulnerable when money is involved. I believe that this sister is in a battle for her soul. Other family members are planning to move our father out of her care which will remove the danger to my father and the occasion of sin from my sister. Very delicate relationships to tend amidst stormy waters. I know God made her our sister for a reason. Please pray to Brother Andre for his intercession!

    Like

    1. Thank you Janet and precious brothers and sisters in Christ for your prayers! I am amazed at the big circle of family God has placed me in. All to Jesus through Mary!! Giving thanks!

      Like

  3. May I please ask for prayers for Fr Martin ? He is a priest in Canada who is affected badly by Lymes disease. His days vary from quite bad to terrible. He tries to offer this for the holy souls .. But he is grateful for prayers because he is struggling. He has a devotion to St Andre and has been asking his help … Many thanks.
    God bless
    Jo

    Like

Leave a Reply

