I am doing a new thing, but with an old pattern…

Ephesians 2:13-14 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ. For he is our peace; in his flesh he has made both groups into one and has broken down the dividing wall, that is, the hostility between us.

“Oh my beloved, what sorrow and woe is upon you! Do not let up on your prayers. I am doing a new thing, but with an old pattern. Just as my death brought about the salvation of Jew and Gentile alike, so today the sufferings of the Church—my Body—will bring about the conversion of many. Now you see hostility and division, but soon you will see unity and peace. Long for that day. Pray for it. Be wiling to give all God requires to hasten its coming. This is the Day the Lord has made. Rejoice and be glad! For he comes to rule the world with righteousness and the peoples with fairness. Children I am near!”

O my Jesus, what comfort, what hope! May your kingdom come and come quickly. May your will be done on earth as in heaven. Grant us grace upon grace to be able to do whatever God asks of us. Help us to be faithful to our mission. Jesus we trust in you! Save souls! Amen.

20 thoughts on “I am doing a new thing, but with an old pattern…

  1. I remember reading in one of the lives of the saints, Our Lord saying that we can unite and offer up to Him all the crosses and sufferings of the world of those who don’t know to offer them that His Heart may be consoled and sinners may be saved. I’ve been doing that for Paris and for France and for all of us in this poor staggering, brutalized world, for all in our territory of souls and for our “enemies.” I am thankful for this reminder that He is doing something new with an old pattern.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such encouraging words from Jesus even as we endure the pain and shock of the French tragedy! And what an enormous blessing is the Gift of the Divine Will – even sips of It from our Mother. Somehow I am feeling the momentum of the Divine Will in the foreground while the devastation of the human will plays out in ‘reality’ in the news. It makes me want to pray better, more and with hope and joy. Oh Jesus, your Love is strong and constant – what a vehicle for our depleted love. Amazing!

    Like

    1. Yes Karen, the Divine Will prayers are such a grace for our time and for all time from Adam to the last man. http://www.radiomaria.us has produced recordings of Fr. Robert Young’s Saturday reflections on the Divine Will. They may also be accessed here: http://www.divinewilltallahassee.com/. The Tallahassee group makes them easier to locate all the past programs. I will put up a new page on the Divine Will later today. It will be listed under Pages on the right sidebar (or perhaps at the bottom of the homepage if you are viewing on a device.)

      Like

  3. Dear Peli, When I read that you learn’t the St Gertrude prayer for the Holy Souls by heart, I decided to do the same so I could say it wherever I was this November. It has been a great way to fill in any slow spots during the day. So thank you for that. Thinking of Paris, I remember that the Sacre Coeur has had Perpetual Adoration continuously since about 1895. We can join our prayers with those Adorers there in Paris.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Paula. As France has become more secularized, those oases of mercy are so important. In the Divine Will let us all add our sufferings to theirs for the sake of all souls, especially those who will die suddenly.

      St. Gertrude prayer (with Divine Will addition): “Eternal Father, (in the Divine Will in the name of everyone from Adam to the last man) I offer You the Most Precious Blood of Your Divine Son, Jesus, in union with the Masses being said throughout the world today, for all the Holy Souls in Purgatory, for sinners everywhere, for sinners in the universal church, those in my own home and within my family. St. Gertrude, pray for us.”

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Paula it’s nice to see you posting. Seems like it’s been a long time. I too love that St. Gertrude prayer and say it many times a day, every time I pass a cemetery or when I see or hear the news of more tragedies and lost lives and always at night before I go to sleep. Another thing I try to do at least every day but always when I pray the Sorrowful Mysteries is at the Agony in the Garden, pray “Oh Jesus once in agony have mercy on those who are in their last agony and will die this day.” I remember praying that on my way to work that Tuesday morning of 9/11 because it was the day for the Sorrowful Mysteries. I received great comfort that morning remembering I had prayed for those who would die without knowing how needed our prayers were that day. Our Lord can multiply our prayers many times over especially when we pray them in the Divine Will, I’m thinking. (Janet, that’s right, right?)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ann, your love for souls is very inspiring. I believe that many would have had the necessary moments to repent – as a result of your tender love for them expressed through prayers. God bless you for this love.

        Like

  4. Janet, thank you so much for this wonderful post with so many excellent resources. We will need them in our lives as we move forward into this time of tribulation and reparation. I printed St. Teresa’s of Avila’s poem, I Was Born For You, [resource from http://www.spiritualdirection.com/2015/11/08/i-was-born-for-you%5D which drew me like new wine being sucked into a new wine skin. I read and re-read it many times opening myself to more of what God may be calling me to. Then your blog takes me to spend time with Fr. Robert Young teaching on Volume 12 of Luisa Piccarreta’s Queen of the Divine Will. It was an awesome evening being submerged in the Divine Will and God’s accompanying invitation to leave behind all that weighs me down in my human miseries and let Him take me into the heavenlies right now on earth. Pray for me, Janet, that my fiat to my Heavenly Father begins and ends every day of my life. I received the Baptism of the Holy Spirit, with new wineskins to hold its power and anointing in l971; I now have been given a new wineskin that holds the greatest additional gifts of the Father for this particular time we are facing; the Divine Mercy graces to live and serve His Divine Will. “I will fill you with Me and I will give you My own Divine love now to live, to operate, to carry out in you all that is pleasing to Me!” It certainly doesn’t get better than this. Thank you, again, Precious Lady at His beck and call to bring in the Children of God. Shirley

    Like

    1. Blessings Shirley. Thank you for your kind words. I can only paraphrase the words of scripture (Luke 17:10) and say I am just another unworthy servant doing what has been given me to do. To God be the glory forever! Amen.

      Like

      1. Janet, many thanks for your kind prayers for me…amazing to read your mention of St Gemma Galgani. (that is a signal grace for me from Our Lady via you…) I pray to St Gabriel of the sorrowful mother and St Charles of Mount Argus often and St Gemma was very devoted to St Gabriel of the Sorrowful mother.

        Like

Leave a Reply

