As day surely follows night, the brightness of a new dawn is surely coming…

Matthew 16:27 For the Son of Man is to come with his angels in the glory of his Father, and then he will repay everyone for what has been done.

“Beloved, just a little while longer and all the hardship and sorrow will fade in the twinkling of an eye. I have heard the cry of my children, and their constant supplication has pierced my heart. I mean to deliver them from the clutches of the infernal enemy. I mean to restore my kingdom and indeed raise it to a glory never before seen on the earth. There is a weariness in the souls of my faithful. I know well what it means to feel weary in body and spirit. But, my children, cling to hope! Now is the time to set your eyes on the horizon, for as day surely follows night, the brightness of a new dawn is surely coming—it is the Lord who speaks, and I will do it! Be faithful, be hopeful, hold your heads high. Your vindication is at hand!”

O my Jesus, thank you for this word of encouragement! Hearts are heavy. Souls are weary. The weight of sin in the world is straining the backs of those who carry the burden of reparation. Thank you for this hope. In your mercy increase our strength for the final push. Alone we can do nothing but add to the burden of sin, but in you we can do all things. May your holy, adorable will be done in us, O beloved Lord, Blessed Trinity of Love. Amen.

31 thoughts on “As day surely follows night, the brightness of a new dawn is surely coming…

  1. …Hearts are heavy. Souls are weary. The weight of sin in the world is straining the backs of those who carry the burden of reparation….

    I want to cry and cry and cry, Peli. Oh how those words resonate with me. I obeyed God, and did His will. For a time, I saw the blooms and the fruits. This year, more failures than successes. My heart is heavy, my soul is weary.

    But I can feel the Light within me and I won’t despair. Somehow, the pain of loss and failure is the necessary ark that I must ride to meet the New Dawn as Christ promises.

    Like

  2. God knows our interior battles, struggles. This spoke to my soul as so much mental attack lately. Thank you Lord. We pray for your Holy Will ! Spirit of Love n kindness come upon us🙏

    Like

  3. When I read the first reading and the Psalm today I felt the Lord’s abundant Mercy on the whole world and this message is such confirmation…the Lord does not tire of extending His Mercy everyday, every hour, every minute, every second!!!

    First Reading
    Zechariah 8:1-8
    1And the word of the LORD of hosts came to me, saying, 2″Thus says the LORD of hosts: I am jealous for Zion with great jealousy, and I am jealous for her with great wrath. 3Thus says the LORD: I will return to Zion, and will dwell in the midst of Jerusalem, and Jerusalem shall be called the faithful city, and the mountain of the LORD of hosts, the holy mountain. 4Thus says the LORD of hosts: Old men and old women shall again sit in the streets of Jerusalem, each with staff in hand for very age. 5And the streets of the city shall be full of boys and girls playing in its streets. 6Thus says the LORD of hosts: If it is marvelous in the sight of the remnant of this people in these days, should it also be marvelous in my sight, says the LORD of hosts? 7Thus says the LORD of hosts: Behold, I will save my people from the east country and from the west country; 8and I will bring them to dwell in the midst of Jerusalem; and they shall be my people and I will be their God, in faithfulness and in righteousness.”

    Responsorial Psalm
    Psalms 102:16-21, 29, 22-23
    15The nations will fear the name of the LORD, and all the kings of the earth thy glory. 16For the LORD will build up Zion, he will appear in his glory; 17he will regard the prayer of the destitute, and will not despise their supplication. 18Let this be recorded for a generation to come, so that a people yet unborn may praise the LORD: 19that he looked down from his holy height, from heaven the LORD looked at the earth, 20to hear the groans of the prisoners, to set free those who were doomed to die; 21that men may declare in Zion the name of the LORD, and in Jerusalem his praise, 22when peoples gather together, and kingdoms, to worship the LORD. 28The children of thy servants shall dwell secure; their posterity shall be established before thee.

    Like

  4. This message is timed very well, coming on the heels of the “shredded glass message”. A buddy of mine and I were just talking about Pope Francis’ visit and how “if I were the pope, I would have bluntly chastised those who promote abortion, SSM, etc.” Man, it sure seemed like an opportunity was lost by speaking around it. But that also meant that many other ears were opened to hear more, instead of tuning out.

    Thankfully, neither my buddy nor I are the pope. So we have to trust that Pope Francis is being guided by the Holy Spirit in how he is joyfully opening the Door of Mercy to many. I was impressed by his eloquence. I think he is also very wise and shrewd and knows exactly what he is doing, even though it may be confusing to the faithful. But I think he trusts that the faithful will stay just that – faithful. You and me. So those of us who are tired and weary and who have been, as Pelianito says, carrying the burden of reparation, must cling to hope, as this latest message says.

    We then talked about how the disciples must have felt when so many people left Jesus when he spoke of his body and blood being true food and true drink (John 6:55-56). Something that scandalized the Jews at that time, but is the beautiful essence of our Catholic faith today.

    If we look at this as St. Peter did, where we have no where else to go, then we can focus on our job of shoveling coal into the boiler (fasting, prayer, Holy Eucharist, confession, alms, etc) while the captain (Pope Francis) is at the helm of the ship, the Barque of Peter. It’s not my job to figure out the course he is charting; I need to keep the boiler hot. It’s too late do anything else, as St. Peter realized, just keep on shoveling!

    . . . Jesus then said to the Twelve, “Do you also want to leave?” Simon Peter answered him, “Master, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We have come to believe and are convinced that you are the Holy One of God.” John 6:67-69.

    God bless y’all

    FD57

    Like

  5. Yeah FD, thanks. I hear much the same you describe from some that I know. I want to stay faithful. There is only one rock. God keep us on it, safe from the flood.

    Like

  6. FD you have given a great “meditation” here and answered some of my own questions about the Pope’s words on this visit. I am just going to keep shoveling! (love that image)

    Like

  7. Fat dog , you expressed my concerns and feelings so well! Many of my faithful friends and I have felt the same and we decided that Francis is suppose to capture a different genre! Unfortunately, it is a struggle for those seeking absolute truth since many things seem murky and unclear. Prayers for discernment are more important than ever as well as the courage in live in truth. God bless all the faithful trying to coexist and feeling persecuted at this time.

    Like

  8. FD, God once gave me a vision of being in the bottom of His Ship-years ago. Pipes were exploding and holes were opening between the boards on the sides… I just looked around and told Him not to worry. That I liked to fix things😉 I have a feeling you were shoveling coal just out of my site!

    Like

  9. It surely has been the most trying year of my 20 years with my wife and now 2 teenage sons. I am in distress as I have just seemingly lost a large battle of keeping my family in the grips of the Faith. I have lost them to the material world and relativism of the times. The more I have grown in my Faith, the more “radical and extreme” that I have become in their eyes. There has to be a reckoning that I pray for soon! My role as a husband and father is all but gone! Jesus MARANATHA!

    Like

    1. Dciavarella, what I have found is that when my words fall on deaf ears, I have to back away and switch to the tactics of prayer and fasting. The more invisible I can make these sacrifices, the better. No one is offended by invisible sacrifices. Our job in these difficult times is to be a sign of hope to others, to grow in humility, and to live in the Divine Will as much as possible.

      It may help you to read this article I wrote some time ago for the newsletter of the Brothers and Sisters of Penance. http://pelianito.stblogs.com/files/2011/10/The-gift-of-your-faith.pdf May God give peace to you and your family.

      As a confirmation, in one of Marino Restrepo’s talks, he said, “Save yourself and you save your family.” If you read the article this will make more sense as a confirmation.

      Like

  10. Thank you ever so much for that beautiful lesson in humility Peli! I will follow and learn to trust more in the powers that are invisible. God bless!

    Like

  11. Dear Dciavarella–I have been where you are for some years now and Pelianito’s advice is right on the money. The best thing to do is fight it on the spiritual level and not the material level. I find that talk just hardens hearts. I see my job right now as trying to be as true to God as I can and as given over to His Will as I can, and just let His Light shine through me to my family and my neighbors while He sorts out my loved ones. This is very hard but I’m convinced it’s the only way to do it. I got some of this insight from listening to Marino Restrepo on you tube and I have to say that this Catholic lay evangelist has such a good message for all of us struggling in the world right now.

    But it doesn’t help to take away the heart ache. I know all about that. It’s just anguishing to see them move further and further away. Hang on. Live in hope. Offer up the anguish to Jesus. And as Peli says, pray “Jesus I trust in You” and keeping praying it until you mean it. God bless.

    Like

  12. Thank you and God bless you also Ann! I need to trust Him more. I am weary and weak and need work on my contemplation and distractions for peace to take reign in my heart. I am always thankful for the Nuggets of great advice and encouragement that this family of the faithful brings to us disheartened.

    Like

  13. A cute and powerful story about letting go and letting God:
    I sent out a cute/holy email one day to a number of people. My niece/Goddaughter, across the continent, sent a nasty email back to me telling me not to send such propaganda to her… I never mentioned it again, and years have come and gone. I saw her this summer and we rekindled a friendship. We told each other that we loved each other and had a peaceful relationship again.
    Fast forward three months. God”s humor:

    She gets a great job on our coast and plans to visit us in the near future.

    She is driving to her new job in Washington DC when she gets a flat tire. Gets that fixed and right after that gets rear- ended by an ambassador. Is dealing with that when the Pope drives by her in his Fiat! They wave to each other and her staff at her new job sees the whole thing on tv🌟🌟🌟🌟
    We just. need to be patient and let God act!

    Like

  14. Peli and Ann,

    God bless you for the wisdom you shared in your comments – that was truly from Jesus. It indeed a call to humility. To turn to Jesus and say, I feel like I’ve done all that You asked, but where it once worked, it’s not working out for me now…please tell me what to do.

    Some weeks back, I asked for help to discern Jesus’ words to me. In the midst of my Luisa Piccarreta novena, He interrupted to tell me: Blow the Spirit of My Mother into the realms. I came to this blog to ask for help in understanding and my family here reached out immediately, God bless them. I took the advice given by you, Peli, by Kathy K and Charlie Johnston.

    Today, I can tell you with certainty that when He told me, Blow the Spirit of My Mother into the realms…..He was telling me to humble myself, to release my will, to allow Mother Mary to have full access to my soul. Not to hold on to what I think is right, even if it is good. That required me to change prayer course, do my Morning Holy Hour differently. I was required to put the novena I was saying on hold, and do Padre Pio meditations. I was in some doubt for a bit because I don’t like switching prayer directions so quickly and leaving things undone. But I put it to the test, and I found it is in His Will.

    Dciavarella, I’m so glad you have been given direction. Family pain is a terrible pain to bear, and for many of us, this is our cross. Peli and Ann are spot on in their guidance. Doing God’s will is not just about doing what is good and right. It’s actually about discerning and obeying a SPECIFIC path set out for you, which at times can be very different from what others are called to, or even what you want to do. I think that finding that path, and staying on it requires humility.

    God bless you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

