Do not be one who shreds the Body from the inside, as one who eats glass…

Ephesians 4:1-3 I therefore, the prisoner in the Lord, beg you to lead a life worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, making every effort to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.

“Beloved child, the Body of Christ is being torn from without and within. Ponder these words (from Scripture). Do not be one who shreds the Body from the inside, as one who eats glass. Be as humble, sweet, and trusting as an infant at the breast. Do not pull away from the breast to wail over things that are not yours to change. Focus on what has been given to you. Do that well and completely and you will have peace and joy. You will be building a peaceful kingdom. You will be a herald of the Triumph of the Immaculate. Man your own tiller and no one else’s and you will be living in the will of God. Shalom, dear child.”

Heavenly Father, in the Divine Will I ask for grace upon grace in order that I might man my own tiller and no one else’s. Help me to keep my eyes on our Mother and be docile to her leading. May your Kingdom come and your will be done, on earth as in heaven, O God, my God! Amen.

(Note from Pelianito: Ephesians Chapter 4 has been an important, recurring passage in my journal. It speaks of unity in the Body of Christ, a theme that our Lord has particularly wished to stress with me. If you wish to read more messages that pertain to Ephesians Chapter 4, please click the link under “Pages” on the right.)

38 thoughts on “Do not be one who shreds the Body from the inside, as one who eats glass…

  1. Peli,
    Reading this message, I am once again reminded of the importance of discernment of God’s will for me. It’s imperative that I never be so busy as to forget to continually ‘check in with the Lord’ over what He wants me to do – or I’d be manning quite a few tillers not mine!

    Like

  2. Sad to ponder this and how much Our Lord suffers to give us such a message. Love is growing cold in so many hearts as pride has its hour. This is why I prefer the silence, and yet it seems that we must put our feeble little love out there to be trampled on and discarded if we are to follow in Our Lord’s footsteps. How hard to experience this in the places we should not expect to find it. Oh, Lord, give us the strength to lift that foot up one more time.

    Like

  3. Pelianito,

    Thank you for this, and for all that you do for the Kingdom of God. This really speaks to me in these times, and is such hope and a beautiful reminder to maintain all hope in Him for what is ahead for all of us. I did reference back to, and read your section from 2009, Ephesians 4. Wow. Praise be to God. It is so clear and concise-simply stunning in it’s beauty. Thank You, Jesus for Peli, and for Your Eternal Wisdom and Faithfulness to your little children. Jesus we love You, bless You, and adore You with Your Most Holy Will, to give all Glory and Honor to God.

    FiatMihi

    Like

  4. I am awed by how God communicates His will in so many different ways confirming for each of us that His Holy Spirit is directing us. On the Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows I got a very similar understanding at Mass–just almost the same essence, just presented a little differently but the upshot was to do what I have been given to do, which is plenty–and to stay simple, to let my yes be yes and my no be no and not to look deeply into motives and meanings and dates and whether a Bishop is doing his job or not. What I got was “it’s above your pay grade” 😉 and that made me smile. Military jargon for a time of war. 😉 I was made to understand that curiosity can be a sin. We just don’t need to know certain things and above all we must not be part of the spirit of divisiveness that is sweeping our homes, our places of work and our nation. When in doubt about someone or something–PRAY. Such a confirmation here with this posting!

    Like

    1. Bless you all for your kindness and wise words. Beautiful! As for me, I can only thank God for my weakness, because if I did not have so much to learn, I would not have so much to share through these messages. Praised be Jesus in all things!

      Like

  5. The reading for today, 1 Timothy 6:2-12 reiterates the same message! In fact there is an awesome meditation in The Word Among Us. These wonderful connections help all to confirm what God is trying to communicate to all his faithful.

    Like

  6. Thank you for posting this. This was always my favorite Scripture. I haven’t gone to it in over a year. I have been struggling for the last 5 years with my faith. I have been reading the dark night of the soul over and over. God does send me signs on rare occasion in this time just like this. “tears”. I know He is doing this as a Loving Father helping a child (like I have with my kids) learn to ride a bike. He lets go not to hurt me but to watch me grow in my Faith but this is getting very hard.
    one thing very recently that has been happening to me is that I am releasing more and more the events in my life to God. I have been overwhelmed recently with events. I am giving it all to God. it has helped but I feel I am not completely letting go of my problems. I pray that once I do this my burden is lifted, at least a little.
    God Bless!!!
    Tony

    Like

  7. Dear Peli
    God is so amazing He knows us so well and when we surrender our Will to Him and desire Holiness with correction He will do it . May God always give the Grace to hear Him and accept and listen attentively to His leading, Lord have mercy. This morning I noticed pelianito word but didn’t take the time to read it before going to Mass Then during the elevation of the cup and the Host togetherI got a strong word ” Unity.” I asked then for the grace of Unity for myself not to cause division by what and the way I say things or respond.
    Then I went to our prayer cenacle and I found myself wanting to say something and sometime I did but was careful how I said it .I know I was being shown ways how I can divide or cause dissention. then I come home and read the messages. It is directly for me. I repented and thanked the Lord for showing me this and more In my thoughts more than words I became a tiller of some one else”s tilling. How much clear can He be to show us our faults and sins. Thank you Jesus and My Mother Mary. Thank you Janet how timely. I will meditate the suggested word from Ephes and let it wash over my soul and cleanse me.

    Like

  8. This writing came at a very good time. I was just kicking myself for giving into the temptation to talk about my bosses many short comings with my coworkers. I knew I shouldn’t do it but spoke any way. I regret it. I am grateful for the Lord’s mercy in showing me how I must be – minding my own business. If I must speak of anyone faults, let it be my own.
    Thank you for this writing.

    Like

  9. Thank you pelianito! This confirms what the Lord has revealed to me also, not to worry about any turmoil that may be going on, but to be at peace and do what I am supposed to do, and let Him take care of the rest. God bless you.

    Like

  10. I been asking for patience, to forgive others and to wait patiently for God’s will for me. I tell you I have been fustrated at times. But I know he is working with me and for me. He has his plans and I need to put all my trust and faith in him. Hard to do at times. I leave it and then I ran back to pick up the load and then I leave it and wait and pick it up again. LOL but it is true.

    Like

    1. David, Fran & TA, it is so easy to know what is right and so hard to do it consistently. Our Lord will reward our intentions and our puny efforts. Keep trying, trust in Jesus, and be at peace!

      Like

  11. Tony,
    I went through a thorough cleansing of agonies within–some hurts I had no idea that I was carrying. Not sins so much as unimaginable hurts that took place in my past… There was a time period where I cried incessantly (interiorly) for months. And there were 3 weeks when I could barely walk from anguish. That was 20 years ago. When I dealt with each situation I would have varying degrees of pain. Then I would recognize it and Christ would heal it. Literally and for all time.
    I spent a lot of time, when on teen weekends at Franciscan University of Steubeville Retreats, helping those who went through agonies to gain their healings. It would be a similar experience to what some who go to Medjugorje receive. Both reflections of Gifts from Our Lady of Fatima…
    The great news–I’ve always felt that I can help to bring others to that Place of Healing in Jesus. Even those with major agonies. And in this time to come, I’ve already dealt with soooo much. No need to go there again. Thank You Jesus!!!
    And so, my friend, apparently this is becoming Your Gift too…
    SO REJOICE, Tony😇. Rejoice… You will have a great gift to give to the world for Heaven!

    Like

  12. Ann, I had to chuckle at your “it’s above your pay grade” intel…a year or so ago, I was pondering all the news, all the websites, all the prophecies, and clearly got the impression that I am on a “need to know” basis (also military or government jargon!) and to stay simple, stay small, stay quiet, and stay focused on the few things I do clearly know the Lord wants me to do!

    Like

  13. Please pray for my sister and our nephew. this legal situation over my deceased brother’s money. it gets worse. I beg for mercy and peaceful solution. I hope my sister will see the sense and give him all money which belonged to his father.( my deceased brother). Jesus, please solve this problem. Thank you for hearing my prayer. amen

    Like

  14. @Barbara,
    It is indeed sad to hear about the money woes in your family. Money has torn and is continuing to tear my family apart too. Money is very necessary, but when it takes precedence over family peace and serenity of soul, then, it becomes the Devil’s Dung. From what has happened in my family, I understand that when we allow money to dictate our lives, we are eating glass.

    I will pray for you, Barbara, but my prayer will be different. I will picture your brother’s money, and I will place it in Jesus’ hands, for He knows what is best for the family.

    Like

  15. I have to say that I continue to receive help from this message. It is serving as a good reminder of the wounds I create from partaking in gossip. It has helped me to stop from “eating glass” for the rest of the body. I have discovered peace from resisting this evil tendency. I am grateful for this message.

    Like

    1. David I am seeing that well-meaning Catholics too are shredding the body from within. In their zeal for the pure doctrine of the church, those on the peripheries are pushed farther away. God never compels us to believe, he attracts through joy and beauty. This past summer I had the privilege to attend a Ukrainian rite Episcopal Mass. Wow! What reverence and beauty! Before the Mass began, one of the priests gave a brief talk on the Ukrainian rite and one of the things he said is that the Ukrainian people were converted through the beauty of the liturgy, art and music of Christianity. In their liturgy I started to think that this particular branch may have been tasked to safeguard the beauty of the faith. It has been a pondering point for me since I attended. Once people have an appreciation for the joy and beauty of the church as an expression of God’s love, they will be more open to embracing the doctrine I believe. So, as faithful Catholics, let’s not push people away, but share with them the joy of the Gospel and the beauty and richness of our faith.

      Like

  16. Peli,
    I had this dream last night. I am at mass in a different place, not my usual parish. Some people I know are there though, and some are wearing costumes or different hats. There seems to be confusion in the Church, like no one is organized. Mass begins with a priest I know well. There is more confusion in mass. People aren’t paying attention. They are doing other things. Then its time for Holy Communion which I didn’t realize was happening for all the confusion. I rush up to one of the Eucharistic ministers, a white haired older lady. I don’t have time to genuflect. She is trying to put the Eucharist in my mouth and I am opening my mouth, but its like she can’t get the Host in my mouth. Frustrated a little, I hold out my hands, even though I prefer not to receive this way. She places the Host in my hands, and when she does it crumbles, fragments, that is the word that came to me in the dream, “fragment”, and then pieces of the Eucharist are blown to the floor, and because I am near a door where debris, like pieces of leaves and such has blown in, I can’t see or find the pieces of Host. The rest are in my hands, and I am trying to tell the lady to please give me a cloth, so I can lay the pieces of the Eucharist in the cloth before they blow away. They are blowing away before I can consume them. Then I woke up. When I woke up, I immediately felt that I should write this down, which I did. I believe the Lord has a message in it, and think I understand some of the dream, but perhaps you or someone else can help me interpret it. God bless you.

    Like

  17. Dear Fran,
    It could easily have been me in your dream too.

    a) The fact that the confusion and distraction in the church was noted might indicate that we are very aware of problems (faith issues, dissent, lack of reverence for sacraments) plaguing the Church; we are not the proverbial ostrich with head in the sand.

    b) To almost miss out on Communion because of the ‘ruckus’ around us may point to a dangerous tendency to focus on the failings of others without discerning that the same condition afflicts us. We might be in dangerous place because our supposed concern for the spiritual health of others blinds us to the cancer slowly growing within us. To almost miss Communion might, just might, indicate that we are not keeping our eyes enough on the Source of all Truth and Healing – Jesus.

    c) The desperate scramble to receive Communion is beautiful, for me. It’s a sign of hope that I am aware still of the importance of the Holy Eucharist and of God in my life. But I need to check – is it the Eucharist that is important or the ritual of receiving it? What has actually prompted me to seek Holy Communion?

    d) The Eucharist not being able to enter my mouth, the breaking up of it…. that is troubling. Is something undesirable/unclean taking up place in my heart, denying entry to Christ?

    e) Then again, was it really Holy Communion that was being given, or was it something else? In these days of increasing strife and false prophets, deception is gaining greater momentum. Was someone trying to feed you something that should never enter us? Was that why it broke up, blew away?

    Fran, forgive me is this hurts in any way; it is not my intention at all. I see this dream as a mosaic of warnings of external and internal dangers. Of late, I have been sensing a call to ask for the gift of discernment. I think it’s because I am / will face the very real danger of being subtly led away from Jesus. So, troubling as this dream is, it is still call to praise and thank God for His mercy.

    Like

    1. Catilynn I think your interpretation is very astute. Dreams can have many interpretations, and your speaks to us on one of the many levels that are possible. The fragmentation to me spoke of the brokenness of the Body of Christ, that perhaps we are witnessing a fragmentation and that all we have known and depended on will be changed or taken away, at least temporarily. This certainly echoes the theme of unity that the blog message above speaks to. Let us re-double our efforts and prayers for unity and peace in the Body of Christ.

      Like

  18. ….that all we have known and depended on will be changed or taken away, at least temporarily….

    It doesn’t fill me with despair, reading your interpretation, Peli, but I am deeply saddened, though not surprised. Of late, I feel as if I am saying or seeing small farewells, one at a time. Something of the old order is passing.

    Yet, as you have always reminded us, we must cling to Jesus, for that is what will carry us through the Storm.

    Like

  19. Thank you Pelianito and Caitlynne Grace. I will certainly take to heart your interpretation Caitlynne, and examine myself more closely. I too do not want to be subtly led away from Jesus either, and want to keep my eyes on Him always!
    However, I don’t think there is anything in my heart that is denying entry to Jesus. He is the source of all that I do, and I receive Him almost daily. While I will certainly ponder any personal meaning, it felt like it was more of a message about the Church in general.
    In the dream, it seemed that it was everyone around me who was unaware of what was really happening in the mass. People were wearing masks or hats and costumes (perhaps to hide who they really were?)I was disturbed that no one was paying attention, and that there were all these things going on that had nothing to do with mass. I was unable to tell that it was time for Holy Communion until I see the Eucharistic minister, and that is why I rush up to her to receive. I don’t want to miss receiving Jesus. When the Host “fragmented”, it felt like it was representative of brokenness. I was also upset that no one was helping me to preserve the pieces. Everyone was just looking around, and didn’t seem to realize how important it was to find every piece, and that is why I wanted to put the tiny pieces in my hands in a cloth, so I could find the others, and they were blowing away faster than I could consume them. The word “fragment” seemed important, as did the fact that pieces of the Eucharist were lost in the midst of “debris” that had “blown into the Church”.
    I will be praying for unity and peace as well, Peli. Thank you both. God bless you.

    Like

  20. Also, (and this just came to me) the fact that the Eucharistic minister can’t get the Host in my mouth seemed to be more because she didn’t want me to receive that way. The Host, when I looked at it held up in her hand, (and I am just remembering and putting this together too) already seemed to have little holes in it. So then with some frustration at her not putting the Host in my mouth, I hold out my hands. The fact that she was a white-haired older woman seemed significant also, but I am not sure why.

    Like

  21. I am adding a rather subjective observation here … But I prayed a long while ago now … About how to receive Holy Communion … Ie how would The Lord prefer me to receive … I received a definite sign to receive on the tongue. ( it was hard to change my habit of receiving on my hand but I did ).
    I soon noticed that the Eucharistic ministers in particular did not seem accustomed to giving the Host this way .. And that some priests did not like it either … Then one day I went up to receive from the minister and as she gingerly put it in my mouth she somehow slipped the Host and it dropped .. I caught it but not before there was an audible gasp from her and everyone looked our way … Now sometimes when I receive from a minister I put out my hands …
    I do not think it’s wrong to receive on the hand … There is even a passage where St Faustina has the Host jump onto her hand ( I think in a dream ). And encyclicals do authorise and accent the bishops permission for this practice … However when I asked Our Lord how He would prefer me to receive .. I got that definite intimation .. To receive on the tongue.
    I was wondering if the dream somehow addressed this issue of reception. Is understanding of Whom we receive only partial .. Is some reverence missing if we receive on our hand ..?

    Like

    1. Jo you are never wrong to obey your bishop. Our Lord is more pleased with obedience (to proper authority) than with piety. If your bishop says it’s ok to receive on the hand and you feel that the Extraordinary Ministers of Communion are not comfortable with it or skilled at it, feel no guilt at receiving on the hand. Find out what your bishop says, act with prudence, and be at peace.

      Like

  22. Dear Fran,
    Reading your recent posts on the dream, I wonder if one part of it points to subtle heresies, wrong prophesies, false prophets. Of late, these erring voices have been gaining strength, slowly leading others away from the holy sacraments of the church by trying to make other things seem more important. The additional info on the white-haired older woman – THAT means something to me, as some years back, I dreamt of an old woman I know (seemingly pious and devout) leading another old one away and out from the church. It tells me that everyone faces the danger of leaving the fold of the True Church, and that I have to test the spirits at all times.

    Once again, thanks for sharing about this dream and your insights too, Fran. It has stirred something within me.

    Like

  23. As one who has been a Eucharistic Minister, I was not as comfortable with putting the Eucharist into a person’s mouth. So afraid I would miss. People received with such lack of reverence some times,,, they didn’t hold their hands correctly-respectfully. Demeanor/attitude was sometimes poor. I really feel people should be educated once a year or so as to how to receive. And Who they are receiving,,,
    I find myself losing focus at Mass sometimes and wonder if others do as well,-confusion that the Lord sees in the congregation,,,

    Like

  24. Thank you Peli 🙂 I know that to receive with the heart is the way to receive, and also you have stressed obedience …
    Mary Therese I totally agree. My friend is a recent convert .. It is important that she observes and notices and realises we are receiving Someone .. not something. And when we genuflect that also edifies others. NOT for our glory but for His …

    Like

  25. Thank you all for your insights and comments. Just want to clarify that the part of the dream about receiving on the tongue or hand, was just me relaying what I was thinking and feeling within the dream. Not passing any judgment on anyone who prefers either way, and yes I think Eucharistic Ministers AND communicants should be educated on the proper way to receive from time to time in each parish. God bless you all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

