A time is coming when you will be forced to choose between comfort and the truth, between security and faith…

1 Maccabees 2:27-28 Then Mattathias cried out in the town with a loud voice, saying: ‘Let everyone who is zealous for the law and supports the covenant come out with me!’ Then he and his sons fled to the hills and left all that they had in the town.

“My beloved child, a time is coming when you will be forced to choose between comfort and the truth, between security and faith. Do not hesitate, but like the Maccabees, let your heart not be divided. Follow Truth. Cling to Faith. Set your heart on things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. My child the tempter knows your weakness. In your preparations do not neglect a thorough assessment of your weaknesses. Ask our Mother to assist you. Any unrepented sin is a gap in your armor. Discipline yourself, especially in your areas of weakness. If you do this you will find that I transform your weakness into strength. Cling to me and to our Mother and you will not be put to shame. Child, if our Mother points out a weakness of yours, do not rebel, but humble yourself, even if you have no respect for the person she chooses to reveal your fault. Turn everything to your advantage by remaining humble and willing to root out the most tenacious weeds in your garden. Child this is imperative. Your humility is your greatest strength. Cultivate it.”

Beloved Jesus, thank you for this teaching. There is still much that I cling to. Jesus help me to follow you, the Truth, help me to cling to our Mother, Faith. Help me to run down the path of humility. Help me to root out the tenacious weeds of my pride. Clothe me with our Mother’s humility. Blessed Mother, teach me. Lead me. I cling to you and your holy Son Jesus!

31 thoughts on “A time is coming when you will be forced to choose between comfort and the truth, between security and faith…

  1. This is a very timely message. Frequenting the Sacrament of Reconciliation will surely help us prepare. Root out the sin. Frequent Holy Communion. Litany of Humility. The Rosary & Chaplet of Divine Mercy.

    I can’t remember exactly which one of our Lady’s apparitions she said to the recipient(s): “Penance, penance, penance”. Was it at Fatima?

    God bless all of you!

    FD57

    Like

  2. Thank you….. Oh boy,….Dear mother Mary help us all. I know how weak I am…. Here I am sitting in a cosy coffee shop reading this.
    I am not surprised by these strong messages lately…. Time is just running….. And we all need help from all of heaven.
    For all on this blog I constantly ask The Lord to pour down graces.

    Like

  3. I have a question, especially today when families are being split, under attack by the evil one:

    http://www.drbo.org/chapter/47024.htm
    Matthew 24:
    [16] Then they that are in Judea, let them flee to the mountains: [17] And he that is on the housetop, let him not come down to take any thing out of his house: [18] And he that is in the field, let him not go back to take his coat.

    I hope those are the right passage(s) for what I want to ask…but will families be split? Will a husband or wife be asked to flee leaving their spouse behind? A child? Or will a teenager be called from their parents?

    I am at peace. This however, has been cropping up in my mind the last couple of days.

    +Dominus Vobiscum.
    Love in Christ Jesus, Dawn

    Like

    1. Dawn, I am not given specifics, and wouldn’t want them! What I take this message to mean is that we should not compromise the Truth or our Faith for the sake of comfort and security. We are better to take our families and flee. If you place your trust in Jesus and pray constantly for those he has placed in your territory, all things will work to their ultimate good. Keep praying and take the opportunities he sends you. Jesus we trust in you.

      “We know that all things work together for good for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

      Like

  4. All is know is it is Lifeboat time! I keep feeling the need to keep examining myself to make sure I am doing all I can- I am trusting Jesus to do the rest including with my family. I have been working on my root sin and doing my best to offer up my daily duty for my family. I love how this meditation asks us to listen to Mary- I believe she has been lovingly nudging me back on that narrow road when I get ahead of myself and full of myself lately! Prayer partner- you can’t ask for a better one than Our Beautiful Mother! Hope to see some of you this week at the Flame of Love Conference!

    Like

  5. Powerful and timely. Gaps in the armor–what an image. I can feel it. How much I need weekly Confession and as many daily Masses as I can get to–So often when I ask the Lord to speak to me through scripture I end up at Maccabees–for years now. I always brush over it thinking I got the message wrong. Maybe not. Maybe I better reread it. Carefully and prayerfully.

    I appreciate your words to Dawn. This is the predicament so many of us are in but it is comforting to know that God works all things to His good. Trust trust trust.

    Lately, I have been listening to many talks given by Marino Restrepro. I urge everyone to explore his many meditations on you tube. There is so much blessing to what he says.

    Like

  6. Dawn, that passage you quoted from Matthew, in my opinion, does indeed refer to the times in which we live. However it is the symbolic interpretation of Our Lord’s advice there that is important. By Our Lord telling us to go “to the mountain” and stay “on the rooftop,” He is, in effect, telling us to remain in fervent prayer and supplication; for both of those places in His day were known to be places of prayer.

    In the next verse, Jesus says “Wherever the body is, there the eagles will be gathered together.” Unfortunately some Bibles wrongly translate that as “vultures.” But the “eagles” is a reference to the contemplatives, and by saying “body” He is actually referring to His own Body in the Eucharist.

    Hence, that is our call in these last days. To be contemplatives, with Jesus in the Eucharist.

    Like

  7. Oh how I go to the FoL conference if I lived in usa!
    Anyone going…… I really implore you to listen especially to Johnettes talk on the Holy Spirit in us…… Title?? I have forgotten…..so you can share a couple of main points.
    At Mass I sense hearts must be so open…… No defences, layers….. So we can be a channel of grace for others.

    Like

  8. Peli and Fatdog,

    My google search found that it was at Lourdes that Mary said to Bernadette “Penance, Penance, Penance!”

    Like

    1. My mistake, Mimi. I was thinking of the angel who cried Penance! Penance! Penance! as described by Sr. Lucia in the third secret. Here it is copied from the Vatican website:

      The third part of the secret revealed at the Cova da Iria-Fatima, on 13 July 1917.

      I write in obedience to you, my God, who command me to do so through his Excellency the Bishop of Leiria and through your Most Holy Mother and mine.

      After the two parts which I have already explained, at the left of Our Lady and a little above, we saw an Angel with a flaming sword in his left hand; flashing, it gave out flames that looked as though they would set the world on fire; but they died out in contact with the splendour that Our Lady radiated towards him from her right hand: pointing to the earth with his right hand, the Angel cried out in a loud voice: ‘Penance, Penance, Penance!’. And we saw in an immense light that is God: ‘something similar to how people appear in a mirror when they pass in front of it’ a Bishop dressed in White ‘we had the impression that it was the Holy Father’. Other Bishops, Priests, men and women Religious going up a steep mountain, at the top of which there was a big Cross of rough-hewn trunks as of a cork-tree with the bark; before reaching there the Holy Father passed through a big city half in ruins and half trembling with halting step, afflicted with pain and sorrow, he prayed for the souls of the corpses he met on his way; having reached the top of the mountain, on his knees at the foot of the big Cross he was killed by a group of soldiers who fired bullets and arrows at him, and in the same way there died one after another the other Bishops, Priests, men and women Religious, and various lay people of different ranks and positions. Beneath the two arms of the Cross there were two Angels each with a crystal aspersorium in his hand, in which they gathered up the blood of the Martyrs and with it sprinkled the souls that were making their way to God.

      Tuy-3-1-1944”.

      Like

  9. In all her true and vindicated apparitions, Our Blessed Mother makes a call for penance … For our souls and the souls of others …

    Like

  10. Dear Peli Family prayer request for Jill Wytrykusz, mother of 3 and 28 weeks pregnant who is in Edmonton hospital for an arterial nose bleed; actually more than a dozen this week. The baby is ok for now but they need to control the bleeding. Ask for your prayers-all her children are very young. Husband Steve is @ her side. God bless you all.
    Liz.

    Like

    1. Prayers going up Liz. I was in Edmonton today. I place this family in the Flame of love and ask St. Maximillian Kolbe and Servant of God Luisa Piccarreta to intercede for them.

      Like

  11. Dear Pelianito,

    Though I usually don’t post, I read faithfully and consider this a family in Jesus. Those who post regularly call me to a higher standard.
    Since you posted about the flame of love, I have been praying it regularly. I am fortunate to live near Phiily and am excited to attend conference.
    Val mentioned going and hoping to see someone. If you feel it’s ok, you could please pass my self phone to her email so that we could maybe meet. That number is (hidden).

    Thank you for your faithful service to our Lord and all those here.

    Blessings, Donna

    Like

  12. Can I ask for your prayer. my granddaughter was born a preemie and was doing fairly well. But now has fallin ill and may need surgery. They cant feed her because of possible intestine block so basically she feels starvation n cries s lot. Though she getting nutrient thru vein in a IV. She has other common issues all preemies get. I ask for prayers to heal her n ease her pain n discomfort. 😦

    Like

  13. Thankyou dear friends for your prayers for Jill and family.
    She is sleeping well now and the stress test on the baby was ok.
    TA am praying for your grandaughter.
    Will pray the miraculous prayer of trust for her, and ask the intercession of St. Gianna Bereta Molla.

    Like

  14. Thanks for posting the 3rd part of the secret given at Fatima, Peli. I was pretty sure there was another instance of that quote in another revelation/apparition but couldn’t put my finger on it. God bless you and may He have Mercy on us and on the whole world!

    Like

  15. Pelli,

    I’m going to sound like a fool, but since it’s here in a blog that feels like home, I’m going to take the plunge and share.

    I cant remember when my last nightmare was (it’s been that long) but early this morning, just before 6am, I dreamt of the moon racing across night sky and crashing into a mountain. It wasn’t an asteroid, not a meteor or even a star or spaceship. The moon literally fell out of the sky. The mountain it hit began spewing out heaven-knows-what, but it wasn’t red lava. Just something dark, black almost. There was pandemonium. But I didn’t see death of people. Just panic.

    It certainly took some time for the fear to leave my belly. Since it is July, the month of the Blood of Christ, I asked for its protection.

    I’m not sure which apparition prophecy mentioned A Permanent Sign in the Sky, but if it’s a permanent moonless sky, it’s a dark terror for me, for the moon has always been able to soothe and comfort me even in my deepest sorrow.

    Like

    1. Blessings Caitlynne. Powerful dream! No need to feel like a fool about sharing a dream that you know has a message. Of course discerning that message is the tricky part! First of all, the first thing to remember is that the Lord speaks in parables and symbols. It is up to you to pray for an interpretation of that dream. Here is what came to me. It may or may not be the interpretation of your dream.

      Often, the moon is said to represent Our Lady. It could signify a direct clash between good and evil. I always take dreams as calls to prayer. Pray first of all for souls, that people will turn to God in their panic, that souls will be converted. We KNOW that the Immaculate Heart will triumph, but how many perish is still up for grabs. Pray for souls. That is the message I take away. Offer sacrifices, big or small, offer it all for souls. There is nothing more important than souls. Whether or not this is what the Lord wished to communicate to you, you can’t go wrong praying for souls!

      Like

  16. Gosh Pelli, that sure resonates strongly with me. It was a bit of a shock to read that Mother Mary is associated with the moon. Here’s why: Just beneath my altar at home, is a laminated prayer sheet propped up on a table. From the morning of the dream, twice since then, when I paused at the altar to say a quick prayer, I noticed the prayer sheet had fallen over. Twice I righted it up, and didn’t give it another thought. The 3rd time it happened, I was a wee bit puzzled, and wondered if there was anything in the prayer. It was a prayer to the Immaculate heart, and for conversion of sinners. But what struck me was that Mother in the picture was stepping on a crescent moon.

    And now, you’ve tied up all puzzle strings together. Yes, I will start praying for conversion of souls immediately.

    Pelli, thanks so much.

    Like

    1. Catilynne, even stronger, that sounds like a the miraculous image of Our Lady of Tepeyac (Guadalupe). You can read about the miraculous image here: http://jkmi.wsiefusion.net/the-miraculous-image.

      Another way Our Lady is associated with the moon is that the moon has no light of its own but only reflects that of the Sun (Son). This passage of Genesis is also said to refer to Jesus and Mary: “God made two great lights–the greater light to govern the day and the lesser light to govern the night.” (Gen 1:16) In that we can see Mary as our light in dark times, by God’s design. May God be praised in all creation!

      Like

Leave a Reply

