Canticle of Praise and Gratitude in the Divine Will

Blessings dear friends. While I was at adoration recently, this prayer of praise and gratitude came to me. As I am a professed member of the Brothers and Sisters of Penance of St. Francis, I feel St. Francis may have had a hand in its inspiration. May God bless all who pray it with a sincere heart. May he grant us all the gift of living in his holy adorable Will. Amen.

 


 

Blessed Trinity of Love, in the Divine Will we praise you and thank you for Sister Water, sustainer of life, and container of heavenly grace! You have infused our bodies with water as a sign of the infusion of grace that comes to us in baptism. You rain water upon us from the heavens as a sign of the plenitude of grace that flows from the merciful heart of our loving Father. You cover the earth with water as a sign of the infinite ocean of your mercy. We know that without Brother Water our bodies will die. Help us to know that without your grace our souls will die. Blessed Trinity of Love, we praise you and thank you for Sister Water!

Blessed Trinity of Love, in the Divine Will we praise you and thank you for Brother Sun, sustainer of life, and container of light. The warm embrace of the sun’s rays is a sign of your all-embracing love. The effects of Brother Sun which sustains every creature is a sign that in Christ our Light, all things hold together. The brightness of the sun is a sign of your own wonderful light, and is a pale preview of our heavenly destiny, wherein Christ himself shall be our light. We know that without Brother Sun our bodies will die. Help us to know that without Christ our Light, our souls will die. Blessed Trinity of Love, we praise you and thank you for Brother Sun.

Blessed Trinity of Love, in the Divine Will we praise you and thank you for Sister Air, sustainer of life, and container of the essence of life and love. The air covers us as a blanket, a sign of the Holy Spirit’s abiding, invisible presence everywhere. Sister Air infuses all life, a sign that your essence sustains all life. In every moment of our lives we inhale and exhale Sister Air, a continual sign that your love permeates our very being. Without Sister Air our bodies will die. Help us to know that without the life-giving love of the Spirit, our souls will die. Blessed Trinity of Love, we praise you and thank you for Sister Air.

Blessed Trinity of Love, in the Divine Will we praise you and thank you for Sister Moon, a light shining in our darkness, and sign of our Blessed Mother’s loving care for us. Sister Moon generates no light, but only reflects that of the sun, a sign of Mary whose predestinate holiness emanated from her perfect reflection of the holiness of her Son. Sister Moon has a powerful effect on the waters of the earth, a sign of our Blessed Mother’s powerful effect of grace in our lives. Sister moon is faithful in following her divine appointment in the heavens, sign of the perfect fiat of our Blessed Mother. Without Sister Moon we stumble and fall in the darkness. Help us to know that without our Blessed Mother, our souls are in greater danger of stumbling and falling. Blessed Trinity of Love, we praise you and thank you for Sister Moon.

Blessed Trinity of Love, in the Divine Will we praise you and thank you for our Brothers and Sisters the Stars, kindly lights shining in the darkness, and signs of the angels and saints who intercede for us unceasingly. The Stars, invisible by day, are a sign of the unseen presence of our loving, heavenly friends. At night the Stars cheer us. Their countless numbers are signs of the myriad prayers being offered for us by our heavenly allies. We know that without our Brothers and Sister the Stars, the darkness would close in on us. Help us to know that without our loving friends the Saints and Angels we would feel more lonely and sad. Blessed Trinity of Love, we praise you and thank you for our Brothers and Sisters the Stars.

Blessed Trinity of Love, in the Divine Will we praise you and thank you for our Brother Earth, sustainer of life and container of every good thing you have made for us to enjoy. Brother Earth is our loving home and firm foundation, a sign of your holy Church solidly built upon a Rock. The plants sink their roots into Brother Earth for sustenance, a sign of our need to sink our roots into your holy Church for sustenance. There is no end to the abundance and beauty to be found on the earth, above the earth, and beneath the earth, a sign of the deep and wide riches of the Church. When we die, the Church consigns our bodies to Brother Earth, just as she consigns our souls to heaven. Blessed Trinity of Love, we praise you and thank you for our Brother Earth.

Blessed Trinity of love, by your mercy accept these poor prayers of praise and gratitude offered in the Divine Will in the name of everyone from Adam to the last man. We praise and thank you for your Divine fiats of creation, redemption, and sanctification. Grant us the gift of living in the Divine Will, that we might praise you more perfectly and serve you more faithfully. We ask these prayers through the Flame of Love of our Immaculate Mother, Mary. Amen.

(For a printable version click here.)

(For a slide show with photos click here.)

 

37 thoughts on “Canticle of Praise and Gratitude in the Divine Will

  1. Amennnnnn! Dear Lord JESUS, we Praise You and Bless You as a little child Praises and Blesses his father for just being Daddy! Fill our hearts with Thanksgiving and Praise in and through all things and situations.

    YESHUA I Trust in You!

    Like

  2. This is a beautiful inspiration on the heels of the message to extol and praise God–I think your Guardian Angel has a gift for poetry or perhaps it was St. Francis whispering in your ear. Either way, it’s a magnificent prayer and it clarifies the prayer within the Divine Will for me, so thank you very much. 🙂

    Like

  3. Peli, this is amazingly and breathtakingly beautiful!!! Would you ever consider printing this as a booklet with a picture of nature for each paragraph of praise? Or perhaps an ebook? Anyway it’s beautiful, thank you so much!!

    Like

  4. Dear dear Pelianito
    Thank you so much for sending this out!! As I prayed out loud the joy the flowed thru me was so comforting. Yes! Praising and adoring our Beloved King and thanking the Holy Trinity thru these words !! Wow. This resonates St. Francis!! I remember the movie. “Brother sun sister moon! Saw it in my teen years and drew me close to God.

    I love these words….so so perfect. Thank you !!!! In the Divine Will

    Lily

    Like

  5. This is a beautiful song in praise of God’s creation. Thank you so much. We can never feel alone whenever we look around us at God’s beautiful creation. Everything is so beautiful in the Divine Will.
    Recently I was alone in the late afternoon swimming in the pool. The sounds of the water moving as the wind blew over it made me think of how God whispers to us in prayer and the way the sun danced and glistened in beautiful designs on the ripples of the water made me appreciate that God is continuously creating new life. The warmth of the sun’s rays made me think of His love, His touch. God’s presence in nature, a silent symphony of beauty.

    Like

  6. Beautiful Prayer. I have to admit, I was never “drawn” to St. Francis most of my life as I was drawn to many of the other saints. I think part of this, was that I never had that great love for animals that many have and when I was younger, I never understood St. Francis’ Prayers where he “humanized” the sun, moon and stars. Then, about l0 years ago, I was in The Eucharistic Chapel and I prayed that my Guardian Angel reveal their name. The name that came to me was my dog’s name “Clover”. I couldn’t believe that and I heard a giggle and an inner voice said, “No, not Clover, but I sent Clover to you to increase the virtue of patience which you lack”. Well, Clover was one of those dogs who did test me constantly:) I then turned my head in the Chapel and saw a mural of St. Francis and I thought, “Oh my goodness, your name is Francis”! It is so incredible, because the name Francis entered into my life at that time and became special to me and now we have A Holy Father by that name! I continue to be drawn to St. Francis and feel grateful and appreciative of this beautiful prayer.

    Like

    1. Love it Reeni! St. Francis is so much more than the world gives him credit for. The reason he was so in tune with nature was that he was in constant adoration of our Lord. He performed heroic acts of penance, was rigorous on himself, but oh so gentle with others. If you want to be challenged in your faith life, read “St. Francis of Assisi: Writings and Early Biographies: English Omnibus of the Sources for the Life of St. Francis” (2 Volume Set) available at Amazon. It is a lot to read, but if you read just a small section a day for the rest of your life and you will be transformed! 🙂

      Like

  7. Thankyou dear Peli for this beautiful prayer. Could all here please pray for a mother of six, Sherri Parker– expecting her seventh baby.
    The baby has been diagnosed with a hole in it’s heart.
    May God bless you all.
    Liz.

    Like

  8. Yes, I saw St Francis film years ago “Brother Sun, Sister Moon”

    I loved it, and just a couple of years ago found it on the internet in UTUBE and watched it again with great joy. It reminded me of the 60s though.

    It was lovely to watch again. Praised be Jesus and Mary.

    Thank you Peli for this lovely praise and Glory prayer. It reminds me of from the little I have read of Luisa Piccarreta where she does the rounds of thanking and blessing and loving God for all His creation. If that is living in the Divine Will, we can all rejoice.

    Merciful Jesus, we love You, we bless You, we praise You, we send You our little kisses and praises and hugs as we trust in You.

    Like

  9. Thank you Pel. the parallels….especially the Sun and sustaining of man, and the Earth and the Church…..are wonderful.
    i keep hearing unity, union. All of Creation in union with the Divine Will. Harmony.
    Not the division and ruination we see now.
    Oh Come Holy Spirit Come and renew the face of the earth.

    May the dear little one be healed.

    Like

  10. Oh, thanks be to God, Spirit Daily has headlined the 24 hours of World Wide Prayer on 13th 14th March = tomorrow =. Requested by our Holy Father.

    I remember last year Holy Father did a day of prayer at this time, and I felt sure the Middle East conflict was calmed down in a miraculous way at the time. Yes there are problems there; but it felt like it could explode out into more countries. God preserve us and grant Peace to the peoples of the Middle East and everywhere.

    Merciful Jesus, I trust in Thee

    Like

  11. Peli,

    This is really beautiful!! Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
    There are so many layers in Gods creation-real and symbolic-that open the heart and mind and penetrate the soul.

    I think also-this type of prayer is desperately needed right now. So many people live and work indoors-within cities and away from nature. Even in suburban settings we are are surrounded more by buildings than trees.

    On top of that-the techno culture has changed the way we live to such an extent (especially young people) that we are spending most of our time indoors even in good weather.

    This is sad because we lose that connection with Our Creator. We don’t “hear” the song of praise that is constantly lifting up to heaven – a song that would lift our own hearts up high.

    What a perfect time to raise our voices as Gods creation ushers in new life – pointing to the source of life- Our Savior, Jesus Christ.

    Let us take up Pelis prayer daily and share with those around us the Joy of Praise!

    Like

  12. I loved praying the Canticle of the Sun when I was attending Franciscan University. One of my philosophy professors – Dr. Earl Spinnenwebber – would always begin classes this way. I kept the copy of the prayer and continue to have my high school students pray it from time to time. It seems like your prayer was inspired. It seems that the relations you made of the elements to God, the saints and the Church is right on. I think I will have my students again read the canticle and then read, eventually, your prayer.
    Thank you!

    Like

  13. I took this prayer with me to Mass on Friday and then prayed it after Mass. It is really beautiful and solidifies the understanding that God is indeed RESTORING His creatures and all of creation…this is why all creation groans as the Scriptures say…as it awaits the fulfillment of His PLAN.

    This understanding of His Plan seems to be coming at us from all sides lately. It will be a wonderful thing to hang onto as we go through trials, difficulties, etc. How great a love God has for us to share all of this with us! He loves without limit!!!

    Like

  14. Happy feast of St. Patrick to all.

    I thought I would share this prayer/hymn written by St. Patrick-especially noting his reference to Gods creation in the middle of it.

    Patrick made this hymn in the time of Loegaire son of Niall. The cause of its composition was to protect him and his monks against deadly enemies that lay in wait for the clerics. Patrick sang this hymn when ambuscades were laid against his coming by Loegaire, that he might not go to Tara to sow the faith. And then it appeared before those lying in ambush that they (Patrick and his monks) were wild deer, with a fawn (Benen) following them. And its name is “Deer’s Cry.”

    The Lorica

    I arise today

    Through a mighty strength, the invocation of the Trinity,
    Through belief in the Threeness,
    Through confession of the Oneness
    Towards the Creator.

    I arise today

    Through the strength of Christ with His Baptism,
    Through the strength of His Crucifixion with His Burial,
    Through the strength of His resurrection with His Ascension,
    Through the strength of His descent for the Judgment of Doom.

    I arise today

    Through the strength of the love of cherubim,
    In obedience of Angels,
    In the service of the Archangels,
    In hope of resurrection to meet with reward,
    In prayers of Patriarchs,
    In predictions of Prophets,
    In preachings of Apostles,
    In faith of Confessors,
    Ion innocence of Holy Virgins,
    In deeds of righteous men.

    I arise today

    Through the strength of Heaven
    Light of Sun,
    Brilliance of Moon,
    Splendor of Fire,
    Speed of Lightning,
    Swiftness of Wind,
    Depth of Sea,
    Stability of Earth,
    Firmness of Rock.

    I arise today

    Through God’s strength to pilot me:
    God’s might to uphold me,
    God’s wisdom to guide me,
    God’s eye to look before me,
    God’s ear to hear me,
    God’s word to speak for me,
    God’s hand to guard me,
    God’s way to lie before me,
    God’s shield to protect me,

    God’s host to secure me –

    Against snares of devils, against temptations of vices,
    Against inclinations of nature,
    Against everyone who shall wish me ill,
    afar and near,
    Alone and in a crowd.

    I summon today all these powers between me (and these evils) –

    Against every cruel and merciless power that may oppose my body and my soul,
    Against incantations of false prophets,
    Against black laws of heretics,
    Against craft of idolatry,
    Against spells of women and smiths and wizards,
    Against every knowledge that endangers man’s body and soul

    Christ to protect me today

    Against poison, against burning,
    Against drowning, against wounding,
    So that there may come abundance of reward.

    Christ with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me,
    Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ behind me,
    Christ on my right, Christ on my left,
    Christ where I lie, Christ where I sit, Christ where I arise,
    Christ in the heart of every man who thinks of me,
    Christ in the mouth of every man who speaks of me,
    Christ in every eye that sees me,
    Christ in every ear that hears me.

    I arise today through a mighty strength, the invocation of the Trinity,

    Through belief in the Threeness,
    Through confession of the Oneness
    Towards the Creator.

    Salvation is of the Lord,
    Salvation is of the Lord,
    Salvation is of Christ.

    May Thy salvation, O Lord, be ever with us.

    (The Works of St. Patrick, Ancient Christian Writers, Trans. Ludwig Bieler. 1953. P. 68-72)

    Dear Saint Patrick, we ask you kind prayers and intercession today for all our priests in Ireland and throughout the whole world.

    Amen

    Like

  15. The words of The Lorica are so powerful, you can feel the spiritual weaponry being unsheathed. Thanks for sharing Dionna. I haven’t prayed this prayer in a while but what a perfect prayer “for such a time as this.”

    Like

  16. Thanks so much Peli! Ann and Julia I agree-it is so powerful-I had never read it before! It is now my first prayer of the morning. I feel like I am beginning my day by “putting on” my armor ready to face anything!

    It is said to be the breast-plate of faith for the protection of body and soul against the evils of devils, men and vices. When anyone shall repeat it every day with diligent intentness on God, it shall be a protection against every poison and envy, against sudden death and will be a breast-plate to his souls after death.

    It really is a perfect prayer for our times-and it makes me feel united to Saint Patrick in a special way. I have no doubt he is praying for us and understands very well what we are going through. He is walking with us for sure! I am asking him daily to pray and intercede for all our priests, nuns, bishops, cardinals and our Holy Father-all the clergy-in this time of new evangelization.

    Dear St. Patrick-thank you so much for this amazing prayer!

    Like

  17. Oops I forgot to say happy feast of St. Joseph also-thanks Julia.

    St Joseph is such a gift to us!

    I don’t know-maybe it is just me-but I have been feeling a very strong sense of their presence and a longing to connect more to our family in Heaven the Saints.

    I have always had some favorites that speak to my heart like everyone-and think of them pretty often but lately I have had a greater “awareness” and deeper longing to connect to them.

    Last Sunday a man who is the director of the Society of Saint Gianna came to talk at our parish after Mass about her and offer her glove for blessing and veneration. I have heard him speak before-and have always been moved by her story-her life of deep devotion to God and to her vocation as a mother and doctor. She is an amazing example of authentic love and sacrifice-giving her life for her child. But this time-when I went up with my family to touch her glove and pray for a moment I was just overwhelmed-tears flowed and I felt so close to her all of a sudden. I could barely speak. I keep thinking about her and feel like she is watching over mothers and families in a special way right now.

    It gives me great comfort-when I think of how many saints there are-and that they are with us-especially now.

    Lord, thank you for this Holy Catholic Church, for Our Mother, for St. Joseph and for the entire communion of Saints-our brothers and sisters who love us and are truly with us in these very difficult times!

    Like

  18. Wow Peli-thanks so much! This is just wonderful!

    “My faithful ones will know great consolation in all their trials. They will feel the miraculous presence of their heavenly helpers. All the saints they have invoked will come to their aid. When these things happen, my beloved ones, know that God is vindicating his Bride. Be joyful and do not fear”

    God is vindicating His Bride-yes!

    I felt like St. Gianna was wrapping her heart around mine-and it took my breath away. I have the sense that she is letting me know she will be with me from now on-and I am beginning to see multiple reasons why “she chose” to be with me. She is not just an incredible example-there is something in my life I think she will help heal and give me courage as well.

    What a blessing!

    I also love that site you referenced for a patron saint of the year-thanks again-I will be sharing that one around for sure!!

    Praise Your Holy Name Dear Jesus-now and forever.

    Thy Kingdom come!

    Like

  19. I began praying St. Patrick’s Breastplate (above) at work-for about a year now, my guess. I pray it before going to work, which I meet many people each day.

    Boy, have things changed for the better! Incredible!

    All I ask is, give it a try and give it a chance. Pray, then watch.

    Thank You, Jesus!

    +Dominus Vobiscum,
    Love, Dawn

    Like

  20. How prophetic is this thread.

    With Holy Fathers little miracle in Naples yesterday.

    The Blood Relic of St. Janaurius, Liquefied for Holy Fathers’ veneration yesterday, praised be Heavenly Father, Merciful Jesus our Saviour and Holy Spirit our Sanctifier.

    God bless you Saint Janaurius for you have been chosen as Gods’ messenger to confirm the Good News. His Holy Saints and Angels are there for us in these times.

    Merciful Jesus, I trust in Thee.

    Like

  21. Dear Peli,

    Might I have permission to post this beautiful meditation on a Franciscan website please? If so, kindly let me know how I should credit you. And I thank you!

    Ave Maria!

    Like

    1. Magdalene I am working on a powerpoint featuring this meditation with some pictures and hopefully some music. If you wait a few days, you can put them both up together. Sometimes, we just want to pray alone, and sometimes it helps to have photos to meditate with. I will have it up by the end of the weekend and possibly before that. To give credit just put my web address at the end. http://www.pelianito.stblogs.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

