The trust you build up in smaller trials will serve you well in larger ones…

Jeremiah 12:5 If you have raced with foot-runners and they have wearied you, how will you compete with horses? And if in a safe land you fall down, how will you fare in the thickets of the Jordan?

“My children, if you are being tested now, is it not a great mercy? Is it not to build you up in trust? Why then do you complain so bitterly? Accept with gratitude what the Lord sends, so that when you are more severely tried, you will have a foundation of trust to build on. Persevere, my children. Do not spend time worrying about things that may or may not come. Take the opportunities I give you to build yourself up in trust. For the trust you build up in smaller trials will serve you well in larger ones. Have I not told you that I am with you always—to the end of the age? Believe, hope, trust. Then you will have peace even when things around you are in turmoil.”

O my Jesus, help me to believe, hope and trust in you more! Help me to accept with gratitude the ways you use to build me up in trust. Jesus I trust in you! Amen.

46 thoughts on “The trust you build up in smaller trials will serve you well in larger ones…

  1. Oh my JESUS, I Trust in You…help my lack of Trust!!!

    May Almighty GOD THE FATHER, THE SON and TNE HOLY SPIRIT contjnue to bless you, your family and your vocation Peli!

    JESUS I Trust in You.

    Like

  2. Ah, Peli, so much could be accomplished, so many souls reclaimed if people really would quit useless worry about what may or may not come! Hold fast to Christ whatever comes and we will all bear much fruit.

    Like

    1. So true Charlie. But our enemy knows well how to push our buttons. Praise be to Jesus for giving us through St. Faustina that simple prayer of trust–and for emphasizing its importance. Trust is all we really have.

      “Jesus I trust in you.” We need to pray it till we mean it!

      Like

  3. Some of you who are having trouble with anxiety may find this peaceful, meditative Gregorian chant helpful. Quiet prayer is better than anything else. Spend time in the presence of the Lord. Quiet your spirit and trust.

    Like

  4. Praised be Jesus!
    I feel the Lord is talking directly to me!
    My husband has stage 4 cancer and there are days I am tearful over the future of life without him…….my youngest is not yet 15. I think of going to Mass by myself, no more dear husband to sit next to in the chapel, no one to hold hands with at night while we recite the Divine Praises……..etc….
    Last night while I lay my head on his shoulder, I felt his cancer was a huge mercy that we had this precious time together, as opposed to an immediate tragic death.
    Thank you Peli.
    Thank you King Jesus!

    Like

    1. Dear Juanita! You are living in the Heart of Jesus at this time. I will keep you in prayer. Today’s Office of Readings had a beautiful illustration of what it means for Jesus to be with us in our trials. It was the Second Reading from the feast of a group of Vietnamese martyrs.

      Like

  5. It seems, from all I read here and on Mark’s and Charlie’s blogs, that the storm is almost upon us. I just want to take this opportunity to thank you, Peli, for providing this oasis of hope and encouragement. It has been a great blessing to read all your posts and to be part of this small family. If all contact is lost, even temporarily, I will take great comfort in knowing that we are all praying for each other. Thank you, Peli, and God bless you and all my brothers and sisters here.

    Regina, I ask our Mother to wrap her heavenly mantle around you in your present sufferings and to take you personally to heaven when your time comes. Godspeed.

    Like

    1. Marie, I have also been edified by all those who post here. God has been good to give us this little harbor. Just to remind everyone that you may download a printable version of the blog through the link on the right “Pelianito blog to go”. Also at the top of the page are links to order my books. Jesus we trust in you!

      Like

  6. I know someone who went through training to escape a helicopter crash in the ocean. The training included practicing over and over, with the purpose of building “body memory”. When and if it happened in real life, the “body memory” would take over, without requiring conscious effort.

    I’ve wondered if the opportunities I’ve had lately to trust in Jesus without leaning on my human understanding were for this very purpose. This message confirms my suspicions!

    Like

  7. Hello everyone! I have only responded once here a few months ago. As my family is in the midst of a great trial right now. Our 15 year old daughter was diagnosed with Lymphoma non-Hodgkin T-cell cancer over two month ago the trials have never stopped. Her little body has been inundated with Chemo the past two months. This past weekend she was admitted back in the hospital with something has taken hold of her with abdominal pain and fever. The Doctor’s have not come with anything that might help her, she has been in total agony with pain constantly. Only a narcotic gives her any relief and she can sleep for a while.

    This is a time for me to Let Go and Let God. Only thing I can do is put total trust in Jesus and let him guide the Doctor’s works and thoughts and help this precious gift of God. What a gut wrenching ordeal. This is where my faith is tested and how I am going to handle this trial? May this come to conclusion that I and my family will be ready for the times ahead.

    I have to ask for prayers for Quinn and that she will turn the corner and that this family can get through this test so we can get stand up to the storm that is coming.

    Thank you Peli for this website to give us strength through our trials.

    Thank you in advance for any prayers for my daughter to recover from the ordeal!

    Jesus I trust in you,
    Shane

    Like

    1. Shane that is heartbreaking! I place you and your family in the Flame of Love. Lord if it be your will, let Quinn be miraculously healed. Jesus we trust in you. I ask the intercession of St. Padre Pio for your whole family.

      Like

  8. I would like to join Marie and thank you Peli, for encouraging us during these trying times. There are many of us who fight anxiety and discouragement. Your words are so soothing and give us hope and strength. God is using you to strengthen all of us. Thank you for being his instrument.
    Juanita, God has truly blessed you with this precious time. I will pray for both of you that every moment you have together will be filled with peace.

    Like

  9. Juanita, my heartfelt prayers go out to you and your family. It shames me to think that I nagged my husband a few times this weekend and did not act in a loving manner and here you are going through this suffering. I think this message really hit me between the eyes. I have been through quite a bit of suffering this past year and although I try to offer it up, I do find myself weary and burdened instead of silently offering my sufferings to God. Maybe the reason The Good Lord keeps allowing me to experience more suffering is because I did not learn my lesson the first time. I truly pray for great trust because I know love and trust go hand in hand, but it is so difficult trusting when bad things are happening to you. This is my constant prayer to God, to help me love Him more so that I can trust Him more. I pray that God will shower us each with the necessary graces to persevere in faith and trust when the time comes where it is necessary. Maybe we will all be surprised at just how much trust we really do have for Him when He showers us with this grace. God bless you all as many of us prepare to offer Thanksgiving this coming Thursday.

    Like

  10. Peli, we have not heard from Noel in a long time. I have been thinking about her a lot lately. Have you been in private correspondence with her? I hope all is well. Noel, if you’re out there and reading this, we miss all your stories from the farm.☺

    Like

  11. I join my prayers also to those who are praying for those most in need, especially Juanita and Shane and their family members.

    Can I also ask prayers for my brother Paul who is 65 and for the past two years has been ill with cancer. His situation seems to be getting worse.

    This message today is very consoling. It reminds me of the little way of St. Therese. Also, the very practical thought not to worry about things that may not happen. Jesus, I trust in you!

    Like

  12. Years ago I heard the term “sanctified common sense” from an old and wise Baptist preacher. This particular message to Pelianito hits it over the fence in center field: . . . “believe, hope, trust”.

    If we accept today’s trials with the assurance that they are helping to better prepare us for tomorrow’s tribulations, it brings some consolation and understanding as to how Our Lord, the Good Shepherd, is shepherding us. He is always there beside us, offering His protection, and gives us all of the weapons we need to fight off the wolves: Eucharist, Confession, Rosary, Divine Mercy, etc.

    So when the temptations, trials and tribulations come, which they will continue to do until we take our last breath (and then die and stand in judgement before our Lord Jesus Christ), try to ponder the blessing that the particular trial brings to you, helping to toughen you up for what is to come.

    God bless all of you and have a veryt Happy Thanksgiving!

    fatdog1957

    Like

  13. Juanita and Shane, I will be praying for your loved ones who are suffering for cancer, as well as for your families. God bless all of you.

    Like

  14. Shane~ I will certainly keep your daughter and your family on my mind and in my heart during my prayers. My father died from a similar type of non-Hodgkins lymphoma, and I have teenagers too, so I am aching for you and her, and what you must be going through. I will also ask (as Pelanito did) for God to heal her if it be His holy will. God bless you.

    Like

  15. Much prayer for Shane and everyone who is suffering with cancer or any other illness. May everyone have a Holy Thanksgiving.

    I also hope we hear from Noel.

    Like

  16. Regina, Shane, Juanita and Sr. Lorraine- you and your families are all in my prayers and I will offer Mass for you as well. May our merciful God provide healing and strength to each of you in a special way-through The Flame of Love!

    I know it has been a long time since I posted-please know I have been visiting and reading almost daily and I so appreciate your prayers for me-it has been a very tough road these many months with my brothers James passing. Suicide is something so tragic and difficult. This community had truly helped me get through. Please keep praying for me and my family. We have a ways to go.

    Peli this message really hit me .. and it seems Our Lord knows just what we need to hear at just the right time. He is surely preparing us-not just for more difficult trials-but also-to be able to receive Great Grace and take the next right step-without fear.

    Jesus we trust in You.

    Like

    1. Dionna, Julia, and all who are suffering so grievously right now–I think we can be so sorry for your pain but filled with joy at what the Lord is doing for you and for others through it. I know that if there was a way that was more efficient than suffering to win the battle we are in, God would have provided it. That is why we must trust him and as Julia said, place all our sufferings in the treasury of the Lord. Jesus we trust in you. I praise God every day for all of you dear friends, for your faithfulness, your patient endurance, your trust in God’s mercy. I place you all in the Flame of Love.

      Like

  17. To all, when I been going threw my trials and I always worry and anxiety no matter if its an illness of family or relationship issue or whatever it is. BUT recently, Jesus told me..to trust him. let it go and trust in him no matter what the out come is…it is his will. And every time I start to doubt or worry… I remind myself…who can I trust? Jesus is whom I need to trust! I cant trust myself or a meer human because we let ourselfs and others down…but trust in Jesus! It is his will and nothing, I mean nothing comes to us but through him!!!!!

    Like

  18. Sr. Lorraine, I will pray for your brother.

    I also hope to hear from Noel. Three or four days, ago, for some reason, I was thinking about her. And then I see posts from people asking how Noel is doing. I miss hearing about her farm life and the spiritual lessons she draws from it (I live on a farm, too).

    I hope everybody here has a happy and holy Thanksgiving.

    Like

  19. May the Good God be with all here who are suffering or caring for and loving family or friends who are suffering at the moment.

    There is a beautiful article in Spirit Daily today and yesterday about the graces and blessings and mercy dear God brings about through the suffering we endure, for His sake.

    I would like to share a little personal testimony on the reality of suffering in my own life.

    Having lived the last four or so years in the group who are carrying medically diagnosed suffering through illness. I came to believe, it was a chance to redirect my life to a new road, and now call myself a Prayer Warrior. LOL

    Last October as I was entering our Church, it came to me that suffering is a fact of life here in exile. However, when Jesus came to this earth, His sufferings changed all suffering for ever. If we offer and accept the best we can when this affects us. We can choose to turn the suffering into a blessing. This blessing may come our way or come the way of another even unknown to us who is in need of the grace of conversation.

    Sorry, I am not articulate in sharing this; but can be sure of this, I felt it was Holy Spirit Who made me aware that the suffering not endured for Christ’s sake is a suffering wasted. With Christ, suffering is truly transformed into a means to produce a great harvest of saved souls.

    The article in Spirit Daily today confirms what I came to believe that day last October 2013.

    Oh, and by the way the week after this experience, I pulled my back and the pain was that severe, I could not even pray, or sleep or eat. I was thank God able to say, Lord I can’t even pray. Please accept the pain, it is all I have to give right now.

    The outcome is in the treasury of the Lord.

    All you who are suffering out there, give thanks to God for the enormous good you can give to souls who might otherwise perish.

    Merciful Jesus, we trust in Thee.

    Like

  20. Thank you dear Peli; thank you. I don’t want anyone to think I am in such great pain now. The process of recovery after my injury last October (the week after my experience in the church) took about 2 Months. After that it was back to normal daily things.

    I notice Charlie J373. mentions he suffers from fatigue, that is part of what I live with. But we can’t complain because if we endured what our sins deserve, we would not be able to post on your blog.

    God bless you Peli, had to tell how it IS, so as not to feel like a fraud, getting sympathy when I don’t deserve any. LOL

    Merciful Jesus, please cover the poor souls in Purgatory with Your most Precious Blood, that You may cool down their scorching flames. Amen

    Like

  21. Want to thank all for the prayers. Quinn’s abdominal pain has subsided and only fever a little while yesterday afternoon. She got a good night sleep. All test came back negative and they think it was a virus that got a hold of her. It’s probably because her ANC (white blood count) was at 0. Her mother and I want thank you again for the many prayers. They did work for Quinn and she is getting in the comfort zone.

    Thank you again and again.

    Like

  22. I just want to share with you today what our priest said at mass. Suffering is meritorious when it is offered up in union with Christ’s suffering on the cross. When it is not offered up, it is wasted. Just a confirmation of what has already been said. When we can’t pray for ourselves or others, Jesus I trust in you. Have Mercy. I’m keeping everyone here in my prayers.

    Like

  23. Regina, Shane, Juanita and Sr. Lorraine, Please be assured of my prayers for you and your loved ones as well. Thank you for sharing your journeys. It gives me hope to persevere in carrying my crosses as well as you. God bless you all!

    Like

  24. Offer ur suffering to Jesus. I had 6 major back surgeries in a 2yr time frame! At this time is when I had turmoil with other things going on in my life. I began to pray and cry snd Jesus began to speak and show me many things. As I went through 2yrs with a broke back I tjought of this…my pain is my thorn from my cross I am carrying…my thorn is rubbing me wrong…so be it. God will not let me suffer more then I can handle. I picture myself carrying my cross next to Jesus as he carrird his. I prayed and when the pain got bad, miraculously n suddenly i felt calm n peace! Trust in Jesus n put all ur worries, pain and doubts with him. Believe me, it works. I still have moments of no pain but I moments whenI do and it gets hard at times when I am going for injection, mri, and such. But I realised it id a blessing too, because when in need whether sick, pain or whatever our need is when We turn to Jesus and we pulled closer to him!

    Like

  25. Shane, last night I turned to the large Divine Mercy picture in my living room and placed my hand on your prayer request and looked at JESUS and pleaded with Him for healing of little Quinn…I’m happy she had a good night…

    I did the same for a couple others as well. His Mercy is endless from abe to age!

    YESHUA I Trust in You, help my lack of Trust.

    Like

  26. What glorious angel food to read before Thanksgiving. All of you have just lifted me spiritually and reminded me of what I already know but always need to remember–everything from the hand of God is mercy and suffering in union with the Sacred Heart is “supernatural gold” as Jesus told Sr. Josefa Menendez in the Way of Divine Love.

    I keep you all in my prayers–and this is a good reminder to step up the intercession. Shane, Sr. Lorraine, Regina, Julia, Juanita and everyone–don’t mean to leave anyone out. The Lord has been teaching me those little lessons of trust for quite a few years now. If I weren’t such a miserable student, I’d have grasped it by now but He is so patient, He just goes back and gives me the lesson one more time.

    May God richly bless all of you this Thanksgiving Holiday (knowing not everyone is from USA) I am thankful for all of you!

    Like

    1. Kerry posted this under Flame of Love, but I wasn’t sure everyone would see it there:

      FLAME OF LOVE
      ADVENT RETREAT

      SATURDAY – DECEMBER 6, 2014

      ARCHBISHOP PRENDERGAST HIGH SCHOOL AUDITORIUM
      LANSDOWNE AVE. AND GARRETT RD., DREXEL HILL, PA 19026

      REGISTER BY PHONE: 267-353-5276
      REGISTER ON LINE: https://gfts.wufoo.com/forms/flame-of-love-retreat/

      SCHEDULE:
      8:00 WELCOME
      8:15 PRAISE MUSIC
      8:30 – 11:00 TWO SPEAKERS
      11:30 MASS (COLLECTION TO PAY FOR CONFERENCE)
      12:30 LUNCH
      1:30 THIRD SPEAKER
      2:30 CONCLUDING BENEDICTION

      SPEAKERS:

      Father James Otto, Pastor, Sacred Heart Church
      Mrs. Kerry DePalo (Mother – Heart of the Home)
      Mr. Anthony Mullen, National Director, Flame of Love

      A First Saturday Mass will be offered and there will be time for meditation.

      Please be certain to register
      and forward this invitation to your Catholic friends.

      Like

  27. Trust, and believe with all your heart in the words of Jesus. No matter what happens, faith will save us all. That’s not speculation, it’s a promise:

    “24 No man can serve two masters. For either he will hate the one, and love the other: or he will sustain the one, and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon.
    25 Therefore I say to you, be not solicitous for your life, what you shall eat, nor for your body, what you shall put on. Is not the life more than the meat: and the body more than the raiment?
    26 Behold the birds of the air, for they neither sow, nor do they reap, nor gather into barns: and your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are not you of much more value than they?
    27 And which of you by taking thought, can add to his stature by one cubit?
    28 And for raiment why are you solicitous? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they labour not, neither do they spin.
    29 But I say to you, that not even Solomon in all his glory was arrayed as one of these.
    30 And if the grass of the field, which is to day, and to morrow is cast into the oven, God doth so clothe: how much more you, O ye of little faith?
    31 Be not solicitous therefore, saying, What shall we eat: or what shall we drink, or wherewith shall we be clothed?
    32 For after all these things do the heathens seek. For your Father knoweth that you have need of all these things.
    33 Seek ye therefore first the kingdom of God, and his justice, and all these things shall be added unto you.
    34 Be not therefore solicitous for tomorrow; for the morrow will be solicitous for itself. Sufficient for the day is the evil thereof.” Matthew 6.

    God bless all!

    Like

  28. I think this may be off topic, and hope it is ok to share with you now Peli. It is as a result of an article by Monsignor Pope about Holy Mass from Spirit Daily today. And some Months ago I shared the first half with a promise to share this when I felt the time was right. In the article there is a sort of explanation of part which always puzzled me about what is shared below. It all happened over 30 years ago.

    To share.
    I arrived at Holy Mass at the end of a night shift, on my way home from work. I was at that time thanking God for making it on time each Sunday. And so happy in my heart just to be there; so thankful to God for the safety and surety of our Holy Mass. No matter what was going on in my life, it felt so comforting to know ‘in God there is no change.’ And He is always there for us.

    I was seated (squeezed) in a seat towards the back of a little Carmelite Chapel in a town called Tavistock, Devon. UK. The convent has since been sold through lack of vocations. The Priest who offered the Holy Mass is deceased over 10 years now.

    Any way, as Holy Mass progressed I was too happy and grateful for being there that I was unable to take in the readings of the day, just too happy and glad.

    I became aware as the Priest began the prayer ‘let us lift up our hearts’, that my heart took flight. I was so scared I was going to physically take flight that I held on to the back of the seat in front of me. The utter joy that I felt by the time we responded ‘we lift them up to the Lord’ and the remaining responses, in the midst of this extraordinary jubilant feeling that it seemed to me, we the people of God are responding with a DIRGE when we should be bursting with joy.

    To this day, I make a basket with my fingers and make a gesture to lift my heart to God when the priest raises his hands at that point in Holy Mass. But until I read this article, never understood what the meaning of it was.

    Thank you for this article. I will continue to make my little basket and lift my heart to God with greater joy.

    From this experience, it is only fair to share another outcome to that experience. Part of it really.

    I became aware internally of Jesus, hanging on the Cross, and a certainty came to me, that God has not created words worthy enough of this moment of joy. What we need to do is perform good works to put flesh on the words He has made known in the little prayers He has revealed to us in Holy Mass.

    Sorry, I am not articulate in relating this experience; but please God it will help others to find a new treasure in Holy Mass, for them to look forward to.

    Like

  29. Just to clarify the words used in describing something beyond my understanding in my post ‘God has not created words worthy enough’ should be worded ‘God has not made known to us words’

    It seemed to me, we would not be able to grasp the truly extraordinary moment of Grace.

    You see Peli, how difficult it is for me to share this. I wonder if it is still to soon.

    Merciful Jesus, I trust in Thee to bless my efforts if it is Your Holy Will.

    Like

  30. Julia,

    Your description was just perfect! I felt myself being lifted up with you just from reading this. Something I’ve been doing lately during Mass is offering myself to the Lord at the beginning of Mass so that… when the priest lifts up the offering…that I will also be transformed into something better for God. It has had a strong impact on me.

    Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  31. Peli and Kathy, thank you so much for comforting me on sharing this. I was concerned to have failed to express sufficiently the effect on this human being.

    Please read Monsignor Charles Pope’s article in Spirit Daily, and you will get a far better insight than I could ever share.

    The Church Fathers were telling the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the real truth. I have testified to the best of my ability what was permitted to this ordinary soul. Monsignor Pope’s article was like reliving the extraordinary moment again. I am still effected by reading that article, because it so well describes what I felt.

    I wonder if this will be for everyone as part of the Triumph of Immaculate Heart of Mary. And most certainly part of the Gift of Divine Mercy; but I don’t know why or how. Maybe Peli has some insight here.
    Thank you and God bless and save all here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

