Once the idols are shattered, my Spirit will once again go out over the formless void and renew the face of the earth…

Jeremiah 19:11 Thus says the Lord of hosts: So will I break this people and this city, as one breaks a potter’s vessel, so that it can never be mended. In Topheth they shall bury until there is no more room to bury.

“My children, do you think I take delight in sorrow and woe? Do you think I am edified by my people’s suffering? No, my delight would be in their conversion, my edification in their contrition. But this people has rejected my messengers. Once again, my Son is crucified and vilified. Yes, I mean to shatter them, but only so that what they cling to—all their idols—will be seen for what they are—shams, counterfeits, vapor. Once the idols are shattered, my Spirit will once again go out over the formless void and renew the face of the earth. My children, do you see how this must be? Fly to me, my little ones! Show me your humble, contrite hearts. Console me and help me in my work of renewal. I am looking for willing workers. There is much to be done in the glorious work of salvation. It is an honor to be asked to participate in this great work. Do you see that? Are you willing? Children come to me!”

Abba, Father, we are your children, contrite, penitent. We come to you in humble service. If you can use our poor efforts in the work of salvation, then do not delay, but use the little we offer magnified in the Flame of Love. In the Divine Will accomplish in us what we ourselves are incapable of accomplishing. In you all things are possible. Here I am Lord, I come to live in your holy will—save souls! Amen.

11 thoughts on “Once the idols are shattered, my Spirit will once again go out over the formless void and renew the face of the earth…

  1. Peli,

    Just last week, while awake in the middle of the night nursing my infant son, I prayed in the dark silence. All I could pray was “Abba, I understand. I’m just so, so sorry”.

    I want to be strong and courageous. But as we get closer and closer to the Storm, I find myself really weak and scared. I find myself feeling somewhere between the following Samwise Gamgee quote and Pippin Took quote for LoTR.

    Sam: It’s like in the great stories Mr. Frodo, the ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were, and sometimes you didn’t want to know the end because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end it’s only a passing thing this shadow, even darkness must pass. A new day will come, and when the sun shines it’ll shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you, that meant something even if you were too small to understand why. But I think Mr. Frodo, I do understand, I know now folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going because they were holding on to something.

    Frodo: What are we holding onto, Sam?

    Sam: That there’s some good in the world, Mr. Frodo, and it’s worth fighting for.
    _________________________

    Pippin Took

    “I don’t want to be in a battle. But waiting on the edge of one I can’t escape is even worse.”

    Praying for all of us!

    Becky-TN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What gems! Dear sister, don’t forget, you were made for this time and gifted for this time. Have no fear but place yourself in the Flame of Love. Deal with what comes minute by minute and then this too shall pass. Each minute is bearable. It is when we try to look at the whole that it becomes unbearable. Stay in the present where God is, look at the beautiful child you are nursing and savor the moment. Jesus we trust in you as much as that baby trusts its mother!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Peli. Thank you for your patience with me all these years. If you only knew how your posts and prayers/comments have been such a healing instrument in my life….you have no idea. Thank you!

    Love, prayers and HUGS!!!!!

    Becky-TN

    Like

  3. I love the quotes from Lord of the Rings from Becky-TN. To be sure we don’t know what’s ahead. Recently one of my sons has had deteriorating health from an inherited kidney disease. His wife and I have both put ourselves forward as live kidney donors for him( whichever is most compatible) This was on my mind last Friday at Mass when I was startled with words from the Gospel where Jesus cures a man with dropsy, the old-fashioned term for kidney disease. Luke 14: 1–6. It could be the only time kidney disease is mentioned in the Bible. God telling me all will be well?
    It’s certainly not what I thought I would be doing in my retirement.

    Like

  4. I have been in the perimeter for a while but wanted to share. In regards to the Flame of Love:
    I have just finished a 15 week course by Father Ignacio Larranaga (dec.) called Prayer and Life Workshop. It has been so amazing and wonderful! I highly recommend it!
    One of today’s prayers is as follows:
    “Father, fountain of life and warmth, send us your living word; let us greet it without fear, and let us be embraced by it.
    Let your word come, Lord, and when our hearts are aflame with your unquenchable fire, we will transmit this fire to one another.
    Transform us, Lord, into warm and glowing words, able to set the world on fire, so that each person may feel wrapped in the infinite flames of your love. Amen.

    Like

  5. Thank you. In the Divine Will and through the Flame of Love may we each fulfill our purpose. Amen. Fiat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

