Let the words you speak or write give life not death…

Jude 1:10 “But these people slander whatever they do not understand, and they are destroyed by those things that, like irrational animals, they know by instinct.”

“My children, beg me to set a guard over your mouth. Implore me not to let you slander with the written word. This is a grave sin of this generation. Never before have people had such ready access to the world stage. This is a great pitfall. Many are falling headlong into sin. Those who bear my name have the greater responsibility. You, my children, must be governed by the virtues of temperance and prudence. Every word you speak or write reverberates in eternity. Be wise. Be humble. Be reserved, especially when it comes to judging others on hearsay. Test everything; retain what is good. Let the words you speak or write give life not death. Build up and do not tear down. Does this mean that you should not correct the errors of others? Of course not. But with true charity and humility, without slander or scandal, if the Lord desires it, then speak or write what God has given you. And let peace be your measuring stick. God’s will brings peace. Children, enlist the help of your holy guardian angels. Give them permission to stop your words if necessary. Spend more time in silent contemplation and it will bear fruit in your communications. Children, peace to you. Shalom.”

Heavenly Father, grant us grace upon grace. Set a guard over our mouths and do not let us cause scandal or slander through our words—written or spoken. Holy guardian angels help us and stop our words when necessary. Help us to be humble and docile to the will of God, to use our communications for the glory of God and the edification of our brothers and sisters. Here I am Lord, I come to live in your holy and adorable will. Amen.

32 thoughts on “Let the words you speak or write give life not death…

  1. Here is real instruction from heaven! With the advent of blogs and com boxes there is such a rise in vitriol. I wonder if that is why Our Lord designates the “written word” first? Even Catholic blogs. And then there’s the spoken word. This is where I struggle–words of criticism out before I even know it. With God’s grace I do overcome more than I used to but lately with all the uproar in the Church (St Pat’s parade etc) it’s so easy to weigh in without being charitable. It’s such a tightrope to walk–to remain faithful to the doctrines of the Church and not to assume bad motives in someone, especially a prelate. Holy Spirit help us never to break the bond of charity!

    I shudder when I think of the admonition against idle words. I could go to confession for idle words every day! Please Guardian Angel put a guard on my tongue! I keep thinking of “let your yes be yes and your no be no–everything else is from the evil one”–has anyone else noticed that regular conversation in the world is almost always a critique of someone whether in the big sphere of world events or whether in one’s own circle? It really is a battlefield for our souls.
    “Help us Holy Angels to use our communications for the glory of God and the edification of our brothers and sisters Here I am Lord, I come to live in your holy and adorable will. Amen.”

    Like

  2. “Be reserved, especially when judging others on hearsay…” That is so right on target, Pelianito. Judging others on hearsay is the primary means of judging in modern times…and it is mere gossip that leads many to bear false witness against others. Oh, how I cringe when I hear people who want to be – and otherwise are – good people as they casually repeat some slander against someone they don’t know, just to seem to be in the know.

    We can’t let frightening times shake us to the point that we engage in idle gossip while calling it discernment. We will truly have to account for everything we say. It is far better to keep silent than to speak falsely based on hearsay.

    Temperance and prudence, humility and reserve…these are virtues that will carry us safely through troubled waters.

    Like

    1. Sins of speech–I don’t think it would be over the top to say that everybody’s confession could include sins of speech. I know I confess it often. It is so easy to get derailed. The old saying “silence is golden” says it all. 🙂

      Like

  3. Ha, Peli! And the more you speak, the more you have to confess! But God wants us to have the courage to go forth…so I keep on talking and trying to be careful what I say. But sometimes something rises before I catch it.

    I think the biggest thing to be mindful of is that we need to be very generous with the mercy to others that we are all in such need of ourselves. If we are miserly in giving what we have received in such abundance, I cannot but think it will go hard for us when we stand before the throne of judgment.

    Like

  4. The gift of Speech is a great gift. I know many Deaf people and they have no speech. They greatly suffer because they cannot defend themselves. when people slander against them. they cannot talk or speak. they cannot vocalise . they can talk with their hands.

    It is very tough for having no speech because many doors close to them such as jobs,good education,etc. Many of them are in poverty because of bad education, no jobs etc.

    I realise that having speech is a great gift. Use it well and carefully and not destroy others.

    I strongly advise Deaf people to say a rosary every day because it heals them and remove the mental stress and it is their lifebuoy! Our Lady of Deaf children will look after them in a special way because she is very aware of their darkest situations. Poor them without speech …phew!

    Jesus, please have a pity on Deaf children who have no access to the Catholic Church due to their loss of hearing and speech. Bless Deaf children who make a lot of effort by entering Masses at the Catholic Church.

    Jesus , please look after Deaf priests and protect them from every danger. Please support them to feed your Deaf sheep.

    Be grateful with our gift of speech and use them well and use it for the Glory of God!

    Like

  5. I will definitely be praying to my angel to stop any of my little opinions that are less than kind from coming out of my mouth.

    I try to remind myself that anything I feel I need to say might just be nothing more than “comments from the peanut gallery” anyway

    Like

  6. Something Charlie Johnson said has helped me so much with this: “I am not clever enough to judge.” This thought pops into my mind every time I’m tempted to pass judgment on others, interiorly or exteriorly. It stops me dead in my tracks, and leads to this prayer: “Lord, take all judgments from my heart. You are the only just judge.”

    Like

  7. Peli,

    I had a dream last night that I saw Father. John C. He died 14 years ago. He held the rosary of the seven sorrows of Mary. Everything was blurred or confusing but I forced myself in focusing on him with the rosary of the seven sorrows.

    I wonder if it can be used for holy souls? I am not so sure if he wants me to say this rosary of the seven sorrows for his holy soul.

    Like

    1. Barbara I would say yes! Definitely pray the Rosary of the Seven Sorrows for the soul of Fr. John. Anytime we dream of those who have died, I take it as a call to prayer. This one is quite specific and clear. It is never a mistake to pray! 🙂

      Like

  8. Oh Peli,

    I didn’t read this message until last night. The Lord was speaking directly to me – have mercy, Lord! Upon waking this morning, I checked my email and saw my daily meditation from Fr. Simon of the Legionaries of Christ and talk about confirmation…

    http://staticapp.icpsc.com/icp/loadimage.php/mogile/991252/2c4d672169aa2c2550dfd20c99738821/image/jpeg

    Guardian Angel, hog tie my mouth with Our Lady’s Rosary beads! Dearest Abba, forgive me and what has come out of my mouth that has hurt others. Help me to use words to lift up and not tear down. Have mercy on me, Lord!

    Like

  9. Hi, Family! I would like to share with you a very special consolation I received yesterday.

    I have been doing the novena to St. Therese (via the Pray More Novenas website) for a particular intention involving a specific person. On Saturday, I unfortunately committed a huge sin involving said person and was distraught. I had a moment where I thought, well, this is a huge step back; what if God and St. Therese roll their eyes as I am praying this novena and sinning so gravely at the same time? I also realized that I had not encountered any roses, St. Therese’s “trademark” sign that she is listening to/answering the novena. I was so sad and getting discouraged.

    Saturday was Day 6 of the novena, the day of my great sin. Sunday rolls around, Day 7, and I take my two kiddos to Mass. My little guy went downstairs for the Sunday school while I hung out in the vestibule with my toddler, letting her run around as I tried to listen to the Word over the loudspeakers. After Mass was over, I went to pick Andrew up and asked how everything went. He won a little frisbee in a raffle they occasionally have and was so happy. Then, he handed me this, something the children had been discussing and colouring during the class. Family… I unfolded the paper and turned my back to the kids so they wouldn’t see me burst into tears. This is what my precious son handed me:

    God is so good! Praise be Jesus Christ, now and forever (and the Blessed Mother and all the angels and saints, of course!)!!!

    If this wasn’t a confirmation that dear St. Therese has my back, I don’t know what is!!!

    Like

      1. I just came across this in the life of St. Francis. Since it fits the theme of sins of speech, I thought I’d share it:

        In Francis’ eyes the vice of detraction in particular seemed to be the antithesis of the religious spirit and an emeny of grace. He had a horror of it, like a snakebite or a deadly pest, and he declared that it was an abomination in God’s sight because the detractor feeds on the blood of the souls which he kills with his tongue. Once when he heard a friar taking away another’s good name, he turned to his vicar saying, “Quick, quick! Look into it carefully. If the friar accused is innocent, make an example of his accuser for all the others by correcting him severley.” He sometimes sentenced a friar guilty of hurting another’s good name to be deprived of his habit, adding that he should not raise his eyes to God until he had done his best ro restore what he had taken. “A detractor,” he used to say, “is guilty of greater wickedness than a robber, because Christ’s law which reaches its perfection in love obliges us to desire the good of our neighbor’s soul more than of his body.”

        Like

  10. Peli, that is powerful. So fitting. And ironically, timely, as I fell right into the trap today and gossiped. *sigh* Spirit is willing…
    Lord, please help us. We are infants who don’t know what to do.

    Like

  11. Very powerful from St. Francis! June 1, be sorry but don’t be discouraged. We are practically conditioned to this sort of behavior by our society. It’s all around us. What is the secular blogosphere often but just a long gossip feeding on venom? Any gathering of people usually gets around to this sooner or later, sadly. Thank God our Lord gives us the grace to open our eyes. About three months ago I was making a Holy Hour and asked the Lord what I was doing that most offended Him. Wow. Don’t ask unless you want the truth–and that is precisely what He showed me. Sins of detraction, criticism, listening to gossip etc. Why I passed these off before as not serious I don’t know but it was a real epiphany for me. I still fall but now I know I’ve wounded Him and I get myself to Confession. My Guardian Angel is helping immensely–when I start in a conversation of this sort I get a sick feeling in my stomach. That usually stops me in my tracks and shuts my mouth but sadly not always. Didn’t St Philip Neri say, “Oh Jesus, keep close watch of Philip this day or Philip will betray you.”

    By the way the rose was so beautiful and so touching, June 1. A real answer to prayer!

    Like

  12. I just read there is a confirmed case of Ebola in Texas. Despite what the hospital spokespeople and “experts” say, this could get really biblical really quickly. I think we here all realize that. A plague for all our sins. The fact that the chastisement really is in view at this point just means we need to up our prayers and quickly! No more delaying!

    Lord, please give us just enough time to prepare as the final minutes tick by, and please give us the will and drive to get up and do what we need to in order to be ready.

    I’ve been saying for months that I need to print prayers, etc. but haven’t done it. Maybe it’s time to “put everything in order.” Who knows if we’ll be here tomorrow!

    Like

  13. I felt the Lord ask me this week to ask my extended family in a email to pray the rosary daily for our nation and world. Nothing to apocalyptic- just referenced the world today and that it was time to spend at least five minutes a day in prayer and reflection. I also asked for forgiveness for any hurt I have caused linking it to the current Jewish season of atonement. I added this email to a forward I had from a friend of a Women of Grace email about the rosary and The Battle of Lepanto. This may not seem like too strange of a request but most of them are away from the Church and two of them (my daughters) were not raised Catholic. The Lord told me it is time- time to put down the lifeboat which is what I feel He has called me to be for my family. After I did it, I felt good about it even though most of them will just shake their heads at the crazy “Jesus freak” I have become. No one responded to me- just pray it is sewing seeds. I did this yesterday morning and then the Ebola news hit. Maybe it will get them thinking. I feel like the Lord will have more “orders” for me. In the meantime have really upped my game with prayer with the 54 day rosary novena which is online and adding prayer time in through much of the day and offering work as prayer and sacrifices. I have a chronic pain condition from a car accident- nothing too serious, just a bulging disc, but I offer it up daily for my family. I kept my email as light as I could and encouraging that God has a good plan but we need to cooperate with His grace- maybe that is my place in all of this, to be an encourager.

    Like

  14. Janet,

    Ive been following your website for years. Im kinda shy, so I dont comment.

    I need prayer so desperately. My mama passed away and all me and my three sisters do is fight, its horrible. My children turned against me.

    Please pray I dont give up, it takes everything I have to get out of bed. Im alone. I sleep with my rosary around my neck. I feel like the biggest sinner in the world, unforgiveable. I know thats not true, but I am being so attacked…

    I pray for you and the territory of souls.

    Like

    1. Beth please know that you are in our prayers. Offer it all up for the sake of the souls of those God has given you. Nothing is wasted when we give it to Him. May the peace of Christ fall on you like a gentle dewfall, dear sister.

      Like

    2. Just re-reading Flame of Love and found this. Jesus tells Elizabeth:

      “Do you really know what desire is? It is a wonderful and delicate instrument available even to the most helpless man that can be used as a miraculous way of saving souls.The key point is, that desire be united with my Precious Blood exuding from my side. Increase your desire with all your might to save as many souls as possible.”

      Our Lord is giving us innumerable miraculous ways to rout the foe. Let us ask the Lord to increase our desire for souls through the Flame of Love and the fount of Divine Mercy–two invincible weapons. Alleluia!

      Like

  15. Devotion to the Merciful heart of Jesus

    The Twelve Promises of the Sacred Heart
    As given by Our Lord to Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque

    1. I will give them all the graces necessary for their state of life.
    2. I will give peace in their families.
    3. I will console them in all their troubles.
    4. They shall find in My Heart an assured refuge during life and especially at the hour of death.
    5. I will pour abundant blessings on all their undertakings.
    6. Sinners shall find in My Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy.
    7. Tepid souls shall become fervent.
    8. Fervent souls shall speedily rise to great perfection.
    9. I will bless the homes in which the image of My Sacred Heart shall be exposed and honored.
    10. I will give to priests the power to touch the most hardened hearts.
    11. Those who propagate this devotion shall have their name written in My Heart, and it shall never be effaced.
    12. I promise thee in the excess of the mercy of My Heart, that its all-powerful Love will grant to all those who shall
    receive Communion on the First Friday of Nine consecutive months the grace of final repentance;
    they shall not die under My displeasure, nor without receiving the Sacraments;
    My Heart shall be their assured refuge at that last hour.

    Like

  16. Our Lady of the Revelation at Tre Fontane

    I AM THE VIRGIN OF REVELATION

    Our Lady bent a little towards Bruno and said these words to him, “I am she who is related to the Divine Trinity.

    I am the Virgin of Revelation.

    You have persecuted me, now is the time to stop! Come and be part of the Holy Fold which is the Celestial Court on earth. God’s promise is unchangeable and will remain so.

    The nine First Fridays in honour of the Sacred Heart, which your faithful wife persuaded you to observe before you walked down the road of lies, has saved you.”

    Our Lady continued to instruct Bruno as she said, “Live the divine doctrine. Practise Christianity. Live the Faith…

    .The Hail Marys that you pray with faith and love are like golden arrows that go straight to the heart of Jesus,”

    and, “Pray much and recite the Rosary for the conversion of sinners, of unbelievers and of all Christians.”

    http://catholicismpure.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/our-lady-of-the-revelation-at-tre-fontane/

    Like

  17. Barbara, Julie is Protestant and moved her family to prepare a refuge for others. The story is on her blog. I do think her theology regarding the timing and order of things (rapture etc) is different than ours, but I believe she is authentically hearing from God on how to prepare for the storm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

