The Way of the Cross for Greater Trust

Dear friends, the theme of trust in God has been central in my spiritual walk. Over the years, the Lord has taught me the importance of our absolute trust in Him. The signature at the bottom of the Divine Mercy image is no mere sentiment. It is a prayer given to us that was born of the longing in our Savior’s heart: Jesus I trust in you! Recently I felt called to write a Way of the Cross for Greater Trust, which includes excerpts from my prayer journal. May you be blessed as you journey with Our Lady on the Via Dolorosa, the way of trust.

The Way of the Cross for Greater Trust

Large Print version

17 thoughts on “The Way of the Cross for Greater Trust

  1. Absolute trust has been and still continues to be an issue for me. It’s easy for me to say but very hard to do in real life. I have prayed about some things, mostly work related, and I haven’t seen a change. I’ve had some pretty bad things said to me and about me that hurt me deeply. In all honesty I have questioned if God hears my prayers but I know he does. It’s really hard.

    How do you have such absolute trust?

    Like

    1. Our trust is not necessarily that God will protect us from all harm in this life. He himself was not saved from physical harm, but was obedient unto death. Our trust lies in believing that whatever befalls us is for our greater good or the good of those for whom we offer our sacrifices. For instance, your pain could be offered for the conversion of those who have hurt you. Our true enemy is the evil one, and if we can win souls from destruction by our sacrifices, then that is a victory for Christ! It is a form of martyrdom, martyrdom of the will, of our reputation, a way of dying to self. Jesus did not come to his own defense at his trial, even though he was most unjustly accused. Most times defending ourselves is futile and often invites further attack. Our best course of action is the prayer, “Jesus I trust in you. Be it done to me according to your will. Save souls!”

      Like

  2. August 6, 2014

    Dear Peli:
    For more than two years, God has given me the gift to find your blog through my friend Sue and be recipient of so many blessings as I read the spirit-filled messages and comments from others. It has been a tremendous source of learning for me. I have absorbed the messages in awe and wonder. Thank so much for sharing heaven with us. Today, inspired by the Holy Spirit I decided to share with you my experience with the Flame of Love.

    On June 28, 2014, the day of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, we (Legion of Mary) hosted a (bilingual-Spanish and English with simultaneous interpretation including professional interpreters and headsets) A Marian Encounter: Preparation for the Reign of Jesus Christ in the field next to St Anthony of Padua Catholic Church in VA. There are many details of the grace-filled day that it would be too long to write about it here. See the link of the article written by the Catholic Herald of the Arlington Diocese.
    http://catholicherald.com/stories/Marian-Encounter-brings-peace-and-harmony,26589

    As we were planning the event, I had the opportunity to do to Lima, Peru and by Devine Providence visited Mary of the Consecration Sanctuary. https://sites.google.com/site/virgendelaconsagracionperu/

    After the visit, we were inspired to include the preparation and Marian Consecration for the Marian Encounter as a culmination of the event. Over 1000 books were distributed in advance within the different groups and ministries thought-out the diocese. I called Ray Mooney, National Director of Parish Consecration and ordered books for the consecration. He sends me the book of the Flame of Love by Elizabeth kindelmann. I felt so excited with the “heavenly communication” and began to pray on a daily basis for many months,
    that the participants would receive the grace from the Flame of love through Mother Mary’s intercession for conversion.

    The Encounter was held under a 60×140 tent and we had over 1000 participants.
    A friend from Venezuela writes: “If you look closely at the tent that covered the event, turn it in the opposite direction, gives us exactly a large boat or ark carrying all those who accepted Mary’s voice calling them to come to this event. They had to go through the door (door in the form of an ark) as a sign of her immaculate womb, where they receive Jesus to be born again (new creation). “ As I reflect on these words and read Our Lord’s message to Elizabeth Kindelmann “The grace from the flame of love of my Mother’s Immaculate Heart will be to your generation what Noah’s Ark was to his generation,” I am speechless and my heart soars in gratitude. Dear Pali, what do you think about all this? What is heaven trying to tell us?

    Thank your again for all you do for our spiritual health. God bless you. To Jesus through Mary, Matilde Alvarado

    Like

    1. Dear Matilde, thank you for sharing this beautiful experience and confirmation of the Flame of Love devotion. We are living in a time of great grace. I believe Our Lady wants to encourage you and through you all of us with this experience. We cannot thank Our Lady enough for the glorious graces she is showering on those who will receive them. Let us always be open to them and pray that all souls will be open to her graces. As Our Lord told us recently in these messages, we will NEED them! Grace upon grace Jesus, grant us grace upon grace through your most holy Mother. Amen.

      Like

  3. Thanks Peli…as soon as I can print this prayer, I will use it…I think a lot of my troubles are due too lack of trust in God. Thank you God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit…Holy Trinity…One God forever and ever…Amen!

    Like

    1. James, it may also help you to look up all the messages on trust. There is a categories drop-down menu on the right. Click on the arrow and scroll to trust.

      “Jesus I trust in you.” Pray it till you mean it!

      Like

  4. Dear Peli
    Would it be okay to pray this prayer at home ? As part of my daily prayers ? Meaning I don’t have a literal stations of the cross here at home..

    Like

    1. Of course, Stella. Sometimes in a Sunday Missal there are pictures of the Stations and prayers. You could use the pictures, and follow the Trust prayers. But even without pictures you can pray the stations. God knows our limitations. 🙂

      Like

      1. Bad news about the comments, friends! I did not export a backup so they are now irretrievably lost. There was a bot-net attack on the St. Blogs site that loaded the comments with rude spam. Some people lost their comments, I was one of them. FYI there were over 14,000 comments on this blog! That is a lot of riches lost! However, I have always known that this forum would someday fail, so I am surprisingly peaceful about this. I suppose it is one more way to practise detachment. Perhaps it is a warning from the Lord to readers that if you want a copy of these messages, not to delay getting the book or downloading the printouts. No matter what happens to this site, or to the world, we will continue to hold one another in prayer. God bless you all!

        Like

  5. I think you’re right–time to download or get the book. So sorry about the bot-net attack–there’s something so creepy and evil about attacks on line. I dread the day this blog is no longer available, but as you say, I guess it’s another opportunity to get detached. Still…it’s hard. It’s a lifeline.

    God’s will. Always. Forever. His Will be done.

    And thanks by the way for the beautiful Way of the Cross. Every day is a deeper challenge to hope and trust. These beautiful meditations are so timely.

    Like

  6. “O my Jesus….may our lips beg Our Heavenly Father together to obtain Mercy.”

    In the OT reading for today’s Mass: “Till everyone who sees you runs from you, saying, ‘Nineveh is destroyed; who can pity her? Where can one find any to console her?'”It looks like the headlines came from the Mass readings: Mosul is across the Tigris river from the ancient city of Nineveh and even encompasses part of that city. The preceding verses described swords and spears, heaping corpses and endless bodies.
    Then the gospel: “‘ Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.”

    Like

    1. Nan I came to the blog to post the latest message and read your quote of the exact Scripture passage. It jumped out at me at morning Mass and I felt the Lord wished to speak to us through it. Thank you Jesus for this confirmation! 🙂 Save souls!

      Like

Leave a Reply

