You are poor, but you play at being rich and powerful…

Psalm 2:10-12 Now therefore, O kings, be wise; be warned, O rulers of the earth. Serve the Lord with fear, with trembling kiss his feet, or he will be angry, and you will perish in the way; for his wrath is quickly kindled. Happy are all who take refuge in him.

“My little children, how little you are! How lacking in strength and the cunning you need to live even one day on the earth! Do you not know that apart from grace you would cease to exist? Why do you persist in your pride, as if you had the least modicum of control over your station, your situation, your very breath? You are poor, but you play at being rich and powerful. Learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart. Be always grateful. Acknowledge and praise the gratuitous generosity of your loving Abba. The more you do this, the more prepared you will be for the coming trial. Depend on me, my children. I am your refuge.”

Beloved Savior, I repent of all pride, of clinging to my own will, and of failing to thank and praise you for your gratuitous generosity. You alone are our refuge, our safety, or very existence. I thank and praise you for each breath you give me, for every beat of my heart, for sustaining me, and for every blessing you have bestowed every moment of my life. Jesus I love you! Jesus I trust in you! You are my refuge. You are my all. Amen.

Leave a Reply

