Let my Spirit dwell in you as an only child, a favored son…

Dear friends, these are the messages I received at the retreat I recently attended. The retreat master encouraged us to ask the Lord what we needed to work on. The Lord in his mercy gave me much to ponder.

Joel 2:12 Yet even now says the Lord, return to me with our whole heart, with fasting and weeping and mourning.

“Beloved child, you honor me with your lips but your heart is far from me. Root out the idol! Turn to me with fasting and weeping. Crush everything in you that does not lead to me. Let my holiness flow through you unimpeded. Let my holy joy satisfy all your cravings. Let my Spirit dwell in you as an only child, a favored son. Let my peace fill you and do not be afraid to let go of all you cling to. Be assured that what you fear to lose is nothing and what you stand to gain is everything. Empty yourself! I am waiting for a place to lay my head.”

O my Jesus, forgive me for all the times I have placed an idol in my heart. I humbly repent of my attachments and ask you O Lord to fill me with your holy joy so that I may never look back. Jesus, you know my weakness. Let my heart not be divided but grant me every grace I need to act with temperance in all things. Jesus I trust in you. Amen.

Luke 12:3 Therefore, whatever you have said in the darkness will be heard in the light, and what you have whispered behind closed doors will be proclaimed on the housetops.”

“Beloved, do you see that what comes out of your mouth must issue from a pure spring? Let no idle talk issue from you. Let only light come through you and banish any dark thought. Hold every thought captive to Christ and let him say yea or nay to its utterance. Light, my child. Speak only light.”

Jesus, you know my weakness, my folly. Help me to keep you always in my sight, so that only light will issue from me. Let only your light come through me. Jesus help me! I surrender my tongue to your use. Jesus help me! Amen.

Acts 14:22 They strengthened the spirits of the disciples and exhorted them to persevere in the faith saying, “It is necessary for us to undergo many hardships to enter the kingdom of God.”

“My beloved, up to now your hardships have tested you and strengthened you. Those that are coming will be insurmountable outside of grace. I send you trials to build up your strength and so you will learn to persevere in faith. A day is coming when faith will be all you have left. But when you have faith you have everything. Therefore do not fear the time to come. Embrace the cross as I did, knowing that what it gives in grace far surpasses what it costs. Little one be at peace.”

Dear sweet Jesus, I have so little to offer you. I am weak and unrighteous but in you I am made righteous. Jesus I place all my trust in you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

