Know and believe that all you say has repercussions in time and eternity…

James 3:6 And the tongue is a fire. The tongue is an unrighteous world among our members, staining the whole body, setting on fire the cycle of nature, and set on fire by hell. *

“My children, let your speech be chosen with great care—it must be a light in the world. Know and believe that all you say has repercussions in time and eternity. Therefore, choose your words with wisdom and prudence, choosing to remain silent rather than fill the air with useless chatter or worse, gossip or virulent speech. Let your speech be a perfect mirror of your peaceful heart, a heart firmly grounded in the love of God and in complete trust in his goodness. Silence is often the more virtuous path. Bridle your tongue and you will be working for peace in the world.”

Jesus and Mary, forgive me for all the times I have spoken out of turn or said too much. In the Divine Will I ask that you will heal the world of all the times I gave my tongue free rein. If I have hurt anyone I ask you to heal them in body, mind, and spirit, for your glory and for the sake of their souls. Lord, in your mercy, let not my sin set on fire the cycle of nature. Jesus I trust in you! Amen.

(*I usually use the NAB translation, but this time I felt the Lord wished me to use the RSV. It was the line “setting fire to the cycle of nature” that really caught my attention. May God grant us every grace to bridle our tongues for the sake of peace on earth. Amen.)

Leave a Reply

