If you cannot be joyful today, what will happen when your faith is tested?

James 1:2-4 Consider it all joy, my brothers, when you encounter various trials,  for you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  And let perseverance be perfect, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

“My beloved children, practice now to be joyful in all things. If you cannot be joyful today, what will happen when your faith is tested? Children I do not ask you to enjoy suffering, but to transcend it by living in the joy of heaven, even while on earth. Let the joy of the Lord be your strength (Neh. 8:10). This is no platitude, but a guarantee, a promise, a sure help in time of trial. Say, ‘Lord, I give you my sufferings; I ask for your joy.’ I tell you, my children, you will be strengthened. Persevere, my children, and be at peace. Shalom.”

Sweet Jesus, beloved, give us your joy at all times. Help us to transcend our suffering and to live in the joy of heaven at all times. Jesus we trust in you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

