Do you think I would leave you without graces in your time of need?

2 Peter 4-9 For if God did not spare the angels when they sinned, but condemned them to the chains of Tartarus and handed them over to be kept for judgment; and if he did not spare the ancient world, even though he preserved Noah, a herald of righteousness, together with seven others, when he brought a flood upon the godless world; and if he condemned the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah (to destruction), reducing them to ashes, making them an example for the godless (people) of what is coming; and if he rescued Lot, a righteous man oppressed by the licentious conduct of unprincipled people (for day after day that righteous man living among them was tormented in his righteous soul at the lawless deeds that he saw and heard), then the Lord knows how to rescue the devout from trial and to keep the unrighteous under punishment for the day of judgment.

“My beloved, have no fear. Do you not see that those I choose and call I hold in the palm of my hand. Do you think I would leave you without graces in your time of need? I who am your loving Father, I who hold everything, and from whom all blessings spring forth? Of what good is it to possess all power but to leave your children unaided? Do you think so little of me? Children, draw near! My goodness, my mercy, my generosity are infinite—beyond comprehension. Then stop judging me by your own weakness. There can be no weakness in perfect power; there can be no failure in perfect love. Children, know and believe that whatever comes, my grace will be sufficient for you. Trust in me and be at peace.”

Jesus I trust in you. Heavenly Father, beloved of my heart, grant me every grace I need to live in complete trust, and to accept all that comes as a gift from your holy hand. Amen.

Leave a Reply

