What do you gain when you refuse love and mercy?

2 Corinthians 7:1 Since we have these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from every defilement of flesh and spirit, making holiness perfect in the fear of God.

“My beloved children, you know, don’t you, that nothing unclean can enter heaven? Then why do you cling to what defiles you? I have given you many ways and opportunities to repent of your sin. I make it easy and still you resist. Why? What do you gain when you refuse love and mercy? Do you think you are free in your sin? You are not. You are a slave to sin when you allow yourself to be mastered by it. Only in me is found true freedom and the forgiveness of sins. Run to me, not away. See, I am holding out my arms to you. Where else would you go? All joy, all peace, all holiness comes from me. I have everything you need in infinite abundance. You do eternal damage to yourself by your stubborn refusal of mercy. Come to me my child! I wait…”

O Jesus, merciful and good, holy and perfect, give us grace, the grace to see where we cling to sin and the grace to run away from sin and to run to you. Thank you Jesus for your love and mercy, the inexhaustible font of our joy and hope. Jesus, beloved, we trust in you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

