Let the fire of my love burn away the dross of fear in you…

Habakkuk 3:5-6 Before him goes pestilence, and the plague follows in his steps. He pauses to survey the earth; his look makes the nations tremble. The eternal mountains are shattered, the age-old hills bow low along his ancient ways.

“My child, my beloved, enter into the beauty of my embrace. Do not fear the events that are now upon you, but live in the light and joy of my eternal love. All these things (in the Scripture passage) you will see, and more. But let your faith and your trust be unswerving. Do you not see that these things (your faith and trust) do not depend on your strength, but on mine? Then what is there to fear? Perfect love casts out fear. If your love is not yet perfect–mine is! Then depend on my love, not on your own. Let the fire of my love burn away the dross of fear in you. Lay your head on my breast and I will fill your heart with the pure delight of the Holy Spirit.”

Heavenly Father, how unfathomable is your love and mercy! In my abject weakness, in the Divine Will, I clothe myself with your love and mercy, so that I will not be put to shame on the day of trial. Jesus, perfect and holy, I trust in you. Fill me with the pure delight of the Holy Spirit! Amen.

Leave a Reply

