Whom do you listen to? Whose voice resounds in your heart?

Matthew 11:9 Then why did you go out? To see a prophet? Yes, I tell you, and more than a prophet. 10 This is the one about whom it is written: ‘Behold, I am sending my messenger ahead of you; he will prepare your way before you.’ 11 Amen, I say to you, among those born of women there has been none greater than John the Baptist; yet the least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he.

“Dear child, whom do you listen to? Whose voice resounds in your heart? Be very careful whose voice you allow to invade the deepest, purest room in your heart. Let that pure space be reserved for God alone. Ask yourself what you have allowed to occupy the space reserved for God alone. What do you cling to? Whom do you listen to? Put away everything that would usurp the space reserved for God alone. If you do this, the storms and tempests of life will not be able to quench the flame of love that burns in you. Even in your darkest moment, you will have the brightest light and the warmest flame to guide you. Child, you have not discarded everything. What more can you give?”

Heavenly Father, I do not deserve to be called your child, but I trust in your unfathomable love and place myself in your merciful heart. In your mercy, grant me every grace I need to let go of and discard all that usurps the place in my heart that belongs only to you. Here I am Father, I come to live in your will. Amen.

Leave a Reply

