Did they not know that I would be here?

Luke 6:17 And he came down with them and stood on a level place, with a great crowd of his disciples and a great multitude of people from all Judea and Jerusalem and the seacoast of Tyre and Sidon, who came to hear him and to be healed of their diseases.

This was part of the Gospel reading at Mass today. It was a daily Mass and there were only a few people there. When the priest was reading that Jesus came and stood on a level place I felt the presence of the Lord come down at a level place just in front of the altar. When the priest came to the part saying that there were multitudes coming to hear him, I felt his sadness as he looked at the handful of people in the church. I felt him say: “Where are the multitudes? Did they not know that I would be here?” I felt keenly his disappointment and in my heart I felt my own burden of sin for not making more people aware of his True Presence at daily Mass.

Jesus, show me what I must do, and give me the courage to tell others about how you wait for them at daily Mass and in the Tabernacle. Jesus I prostrate myself before your Tabernacles in reparation for all the loneliness you feel at poorly-attended Masses and in the Tabernacles of empty churches. Jesus, lead souls to your real loving, healing Presence in church!

Leave a Reply

