Grieve with me when you see these things happening, but never let your joy be extinguished…

Isaiah 22:4 At this I say: Turn away from me, let me weep bitterly; Do not try to comfort me for the ruin of the daughter of my people.

“Child, there is a time to laugh and a time to cry, a time to mourn and a time to be comforted. Then do not be alarmed at my grief over the ruin that is coming to my Church. One mourns as if for an only child. Love can only weep at this. But, my child, the day of rejoicing will come. Pain, then healing, crucifixion then resurrection, grieving then rejoicing. Grieve with me when you see these things happening, but never let your joy be extinguished. For in the end the triumph is mine, and those who remain with me to the end will be vindicated.”

Jesus, beloved, may our sorrow be one with yours and our joy remain rooted in you. These things are too big for us–but they are not too big for you. We enter into the sacred wound at your side. We stay awake with you in the garden. We share in your sorrow and joy. Come Lord Jesus and do not delay! Amen.

Leave a Reply

