I am about to overturn the tables of the money-changers once more…

Ezekiel 7:19 They shall fling their silver into the streets, and their gold shall be considered refuse. Their silver and gold cannot save them on the day of the LORD’S wrath. They shall not be allowed to satisfy their craving or fill their bellies, for this has been the occasion of their sin.

“My child, I am about to overturn the tables of the money-changers once more. Greed is an abomination! The love of money to the exclusion of charity is a great sin. Those who see to their own luxuries without looking out for the needs of their neighbors will feel the full force of their own sin. A time of hunger is coming such as the world has not known before. You do not know what hunger can do–to people and to society. Pray diligently; offer fasts in reparation. You may yet mitigate some of the punishment due to sin, but the time is short. Make good use of this holy season of Lent. I am with all those who assist me on the way of the cross by their prayers and sacrifices. Follow me.”

Jesus, here I am. I follow you on the way of the cross with your Mother and St. John. Help me to never leave you. May my Lent, offered and redeemed in the Divine will, be an acceptable offering to you for the salvation of sinners, for the liberty and exaltation of Holy Mother Church, and for the coming of the Kingdom. Amen.

Leave a Reply

