Strive to be as rich in faith as are those who depend only on me…

James 2:5 Listen, my beloved brothers. Did not God choose those who are poor in the world to be rich in faith and heirs of the kingdom that he promised to those who love him?

“My child, look to the poor. Strive to be as rich in faith as are those who depend only on me. Believe in my mercy and generosity and do not grasp at the world’s treasures. I tell you, the great leveler has begun his work and many who have never wanted for anything will be thrown into despair. Better to detach yourself now from all that does not lead to me. Own without clinging; possess without being possessed. Give as I give–to the last drop of blood. Child you are clinging too much to what is fleeting. Be at peace. Trust in me. Do not waver in your faith but, with both hands, cling to the cross. It alone can save you.”

Jesus, help me to let go of all I cling to so that I can cling to the cross with both hands. Help me to model my life on your generosity–giving to the last drop of blood. Jesus may your grace fill me and fill the whole world. Amen.

Leave a Reply

