What must I think when my children are so busy about their own affairs that they cease to give life to the Church?

Haggai 1:9 …My house lies in ruins, while each of you hurries to his own house.

“Dear child, what must I think when my children are so busy about their own affairs that they cease to give life to the Church*? Am I to congratulate them on their successes? I tell you I cannot! My heart is shredded and my house is in tatters. Who will weep with me? My Son is crucified anew. Who will grieve with me? Little ones, do not be among those who flee from the hill of Calvary. Support my Son as he endures his agony. Do not run and hide, but remain steadfast. Cling to my Mother’s hem** and you will be strengthened. Show your love for Christ and his Bride. Do not be ashamed, but be willing to suffer anything rather than abandon your Lord in his hour of great need. There is triumph in this hour and all those who remain with me will be given a greater share of my glory.”

Jesus, what are we to say? “Save us from this hour”? But it was for this hour that we were created. Father glorify your name! Amen. Alleluia! (See John 12: 27-28)

*The life of the church is first of all prayer and the sacraments. Are we making time to pray? Are we attentively and faithfully participating in the sacraments? By participating wholeheartedly in the sacramental life of the Church we become conduits of grace in the world and this gives life to the church. In this way we act like the heart that pumps the lifeblood to the organs. This message is very intense and has many layers. Ponder it prayerfully and may the Holy Spirit guide you into his truth.

**The rosary

Leave a Reply

