Novena to the Holy Spirit – Day One

Revelation 22:17 The Spirit and the bride say, “Come.” Let the hearer say, “Come.” Let the one who thirsts come forward, and the one who wants it receive the gift of life-giving water.

Holy Spirit! Lord of Light! From Your clear celestial height, Your pure beaming radiance give!

The Holy Spirit

Only one thing is important — eternal salvation. Only one thing, therefore, is to be feared–sin· Sin is the result of ignorance, weakness, and indifference The Holy Spirit is the Spirit of Light, of Strength, and of Love. With His sevenfold gifts He enlightens the mind, strengthens the will, and inflames the heart with love of God. To ensure our salvation we ought to invoke the Divine Spirit daily, for “The Spirit helpeth our infirmity. We know not what we should pray for as we ought. But the Spirit Himself asketh for us.”

Prayer

Almighty and eternal God, Who hast vouchsafed to regenerate us by water and the Holy Spirit, and hast given us forgiveness all sins, vouchsafe to send forth from heaven upon us your sevenfold Spirit, the Spirit of Wisdom and Understanding, the Spirit of Counsel and fortitude, the Spirit of Knowledge and Piety, and fill us with the Spirit of Holy Fear. Amen.

Our Father and Hail Mary ONCE. Glory be to the Father SEVEN TIMES.

Act of Consecration to the Holy Spirit

On my knees I before the great multitude of heavenly witnesses I offer myself, soul and body to You, Eternal Spirit of God. I adore the brightness of Your purity, the unerring keenness of Your justice, and the might of Your love. You are the Strength and Light of my soul. In You I live and move and am. I desire never to grieve You by unfaithfulness to grace and I pray with all my heart to be kept from the smallest sin against You. Mercifully guard my every thought and grant that I may always watch for Your light, and listen to Your voice, and follow Your gracious inspirations. I cling to You and give myself to You and ask You, by Your compassion to watch over me in my weakness. Holding the pierced Feet of Jesus and looking at His Five Wounds, and trusting in His Precious Blood and adoring His opened Side and stricken Heart, I implore You, Adorable Spirit, Helper of my infirmity, to keep me in Your grace that I may never sin against You. Give me grace O Holy Spirit, Spirit of the Father and the Son to say to You always and everywhere, “Speak Lord for Your servant heareth.” Amen.

Prayer for the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit

O Lord Jesus Christ Who, before ascending into heaven did promise to send the Holy Spirit to finish Your work in the souls of Your Apostles and Disciples, deign to grant the same Holy Spirit to me that He may perfect in my soul, the work of Your grace and Your love. Grant me the Spirit of Wisdom that I may despise the perishable things of this world and aspire only after the things that are eternal, the Spirit of Understanding to enlighten my mind with the light of Your divine truth, the Spirit on Counsel that I may ever choose the surest way of pleasing God and gaining heaven, the Spirit of Fortitude that I may bear my cross with You  and that I may overcome with courage all the obstacles that oppose my salvation, the Spirit of Knowledge that I may know God and know myself and grow perfect in the science of the Saints, the Spirit of Piety that I may find the service of God sweet and amiable, and the Spirit of Fear that I may be filled with a loving reverence towards God and may dread in any way to displease Him. Mark me, dear Lord with the sign of Your true disciples, and animate me in all things with Your Spirit. Amen.

We offer these prayers with Jesus, in the name of everyone–from Adam to the last one yet to be born–for the sanctification of the whole world.


16 thoughts on “Novena to the Holy Spirit – Day One

  1. I have not contributed much to your blog site, Pel, but I have been reading it quite often. I do feel the same way as most of your regular participants about these special times that we are living in. It is a truly remarquable thing that you do here on this site. TODAY IS INDEED A VERY SPECIAL DAY. The Novena to the Holy Spirit that starts today is apparently the first and the greatest novena to the Holy Spirit. As you are probably aware, it was promulgated by Pope Leo XIII on May 4th,1897 and ordered that the Pentecost novena be celebrated in all parish churches in the world. Poe John Paul II reiterated Pope Leo XIII’s command.”YOU ARE SAD FOR A TIME BUT I SHALL SEE YOU AGAIN, THEN YOUR HEARTS WILL REJOICE WITH A JOY NO ONE CAN TAKE FROM YOU.’-John 16:22. Therefore, let us not give in to fear. We are on the threshold of a new Pentecost. Let us cry out unceasingly: ”COME, HOLYSPIRIT!”. Giovanni.

    Like

    1. Giovanni–Amen! Come Holy Spirit!

      MT, what can any of us do outside of grace? Nothing. Come Holy Spirit!

      Danielle I thank God for your docility to the Holy Spirit.

      Mary-Louise, I do not have the gift to sense the gifts of others. But I think if we pray to the Holy Spirit, asking that it be revealed to us, it will. If he has given a gift it is for a purpose and we can’t use the gifts if we don’t know what they are! So ask!

      Like

  2. Thank you, Holy Spirit. Thank you, Jesus. I will follow. I am open. I will obey. Please use me as a vessel in which You reside and from which Goodness and Grace flow.

    Like

  3. Thank you for printing this! A man in my area who has a healing ministry (approved by the diocese) told me some weeks ago to pray for an increase in the Gift of Counsel. He also said God gives everyone a root gift or predominate gift, to fit our mission in life. Peli, have you ever sensed or “known” the special gifts of those around you?

    Like

  4. This is an unusual comment, but I believe that it has a place here as we speak about gift of the Holy Spirit. I’ve heard it said that St. Padre Pio had the ‘gift of tears’. I become very emotionally overwhelmed I would say at the thought of certain spiritual matters, ie Good Friday, a song on the Christian radio station, etc. I don’t know if this is the gift of tears, I’ve never had anyone to discuss this with.

    Here I’d just like to say that I feel so encouraged by this little group here on the internet, I love you all as I have always felt out of place in society and certainly have never (outside of my small family) had the opportunity to freely discuss these topics. I have been met with those vacant stares mentioned on here before, quick change of topic, or total avoidance.

    But, what I wanted to say about this was just that lately, in the last few weeks, I have been tearing up at just about every spiritual matter that I encounter. I was hoping to get some feedback on this, or to know if anyone else has been experiencing this sort of thing.

    Thank you so much,

    Corinne

    I’d just also like to mention quickly that I have recently tried to start a few facebook pages – they don’t have many followers, if you use facebook, stop by and say hi, and join my pages.

    just search

    Milwaukee prayer chain
    the Angelus
    Mystical City of God – Venerable Mary of Agreda

    Thanks again

    Like

    1. Corinne, when I first started to feel the Lord speaking to my heart, he would pour his love into my heart and often I would sob uncontrollably. Someone explained that one of the effects of these tears is to heal us and cleanse us of past sins. But there may be other effects. Perhaps some of the other readers might know.

      Once, when I had cried quite a bit at adoration, I joked as I was leaving, “You messed up my face again.” He said, “It is the face of one who loves.”* Then I was given to understand why so many of the images of Our Lady are seen weeping–it is the face of one who loves.

      Often I would cry during Mass, but gradually, these instances have become less frequent and much less intense. I believe one reason that the Lord withdraws his consolations so that we have the opportunity to show him that our faith does not depend upon consolations. Again, I use the example of Mother Theresa. How fruitful were her final years, and yet those were the years of her most intense spiritual suffering. The Lord works in mysterious ways. Blessed be the Lord! Alleluia!

      (*This was less a statement about me than it was a call to become more loving through the undeserved graces being poured out over me.)

      Like

  5. Hi, Corrine,
    For a number of reasons, I don’t cry outwardly… Or didn’t, until a holy Optometrist friend recently decided that the only way I could wear my eye contacts was if plugs were put into my tear ducts, to help relieve my dry eye syndrome…

    And so one of my eyes has adequate fluid in it, but the other tears anytime that I think of something similar to what you mentioned above. So I accept this as a Grace of God–even though it was given to me through medical means!

    Also, I have seen the Gift of Tears many times at Steubenville. It is when a heart is finally opened so that the person experiences tears in times just as you mentioned, and other appropriate times. It is a lovely Gift and a Treasure given to you for sure!

    Like

  6. At Steubenville, I found out that tears were connected to sorrow for sin; but I also found that tears could also be about great pain from life’s experiences…. Many of the youth and people now into their 30’s and 40’s have suffered terrribly in their home situations… God heals greatly through such tears.

    Some tears became uncontrollable sobs. That was when “heart surgery” was being performed by God. I had the priviledge of being “mother” for a number of the youth on our buses–usually one a year–who suffered immeasureably. I always took the teen who was in the most agony.

    Our trips home were always a continuation of Saturday night. Music was sung inviting the Holy Spirit and an annointed time period followed with healing that took place. It was never known what would happen–the Holy Spirit took care of those who had the most intense need. That person or those persons were surrounded with prayer and protection and love to help them get through the pain and into God’s Loving Protection and Healing.

    Like

  7. Corrine-I have felt very emotional lately from sadness to despair to hopelessness. Just yesterday in adoration, I wept thinking about the state of the world. Having said that, I feel so strongly that God is preparing us all on a special way as illustrated by our love for one another through this blog. I couldn’t agree more with what you say about feeling so at home with everyone here. God has led each of us to this place as a consolation and refuge in this world
    that thinks so differently.
    On the gift of tears, I cry a lot when I am on deep prayer, but the most intense tears was in a very small room during an apparition of Our Lady with Ivan from Medjugorie. There were only about twelve of us in the room and I couldn’t stop sobbing. I was young and didn’t know why I couldn’t stop crying. I was embarrassed. I have been told it is a gift though I am not sure what that means.

    I love having everyone here as a friend who understands this part of me.

    Like

    1. Marianne, I praise God for the fellowship he has given us here and wait in joyful hope for the day that all souls are connected in the Sacred Heart.

      Yet I can’t help but wonder…if we were all thrown together in a refuge during a time of trial…would we all get along? 🙂 Here our humanity is hidden by the fact that we can only communicate in bits and pieces and don’t have to share a bathroom. But in a refuge our humanity–in all its unavoidable weakness–would be visible and magnified.

      I once visited a Carmelite Monastery. The Reverend Mother came to the grill to talk to us. She was very sweet and had a wee twinkle in her eye. She said that people assume that the life of contemplation is the easy way, but she made a great point of emphasizing that they live with “the same ten people” every day. She said it more than once: “the same ten people”. It is a big part of the penance I suppose.

      At any rate, let us enjoy one another’s company here as we encourage each other to grow in faith and love. Above all, let us live in unending gratitude for the unimaginable privilege of being members of the big messy family of God! 🙂

      Like

  8. I don’t find this to be an “unusual comment”, Corrine, and I’ll share with you why. If you had the chance to meet me and chat for awhile, you may very well think to yourself that here’s a guy who doesn’t cry. Well, you’d be right. I’ve often wondered why this is and if maybe this is a bad thing, or maybe if this is a guy thing. Maybe it’s just the tough Irish upbringing. I don’t know. At any rate, I remember meditating about this with the Lord just last week (this kind of theme thing happens all the time on this blog).

    Here’s the story. Yesterday my wife mentioned that my four year old daughter was having a final song recital at her preschool for the close of the school year. I was trying to finish up a project on a tight deadline, so I asked her if she could go for the both of us. No problem. I got a text from my wife about 15 minutes later and she said I better come because my daughter was looking for me. I jumped right in the car and managed to get there just in time to catch the whole program. Of course my daughter was happy to see me walk in and I was happy to be there.

    A swarm of little three and four year olds paraded out to the front of the sanctuary. (I call it a sanctuary because it’s a Lutheran Church. Maybe there’s another word for it. At any rate, we couldn’t find a Catholic program nearby so this one worked out well and all the people are marvelous.) So here are all these little souls pouring out their hearts to Jesus in song with light streaming in behind them from a beautiful stained glass window. What light! I’m really not talking about the window light, I’m talking about these little children. The more they sang, the more I was thinking about what a great consolation little children are to our Savior. Don’t we see this many times in the Gospel?

    Well, here I was, Mr. Tough Guy, and I could barely mask the wet eyes. I tried to cough a bit, act like my allergies were kicking in, etc. Nope. I just kept thinking about Jesus in the midst of the little children and my eyes were dripping.

    What an experience. I never would have imagined that He would answer me with a lesson like this. Our Lord surprises us always with His mysterious ways.

    I may not have a bunch of actual experiences like this, but I have read quite a bit about this subject from great spiritual works. Maybe I can pull some information together and post it later.

    Like

  9. I recall about 20 years ago in prayer having a distinct impression that our LORD was asking me to choose between having spiritual experiences such as locutions and visions, or dry, blind unemotional faith…at the time I felt the right decision was the no frills option…and GOD is faithful to our choices:-).

    My spiritual journey therefore, for over 20 years has been basically blind non-emotional faith.

    Not withstanding this, HE has many a time re-confirmed my choice in saying “blessed is he who believes without seeing”. I must admit that there have been many times when I would feel for a treat or two (vision, locution etc…) but each time without fail he reminds me of my promise.

    Recently, however, I can feel the turning of the tide and HE has started to make HIS words to me clearer and louder, as if to say…this journey of dry no-frills faith was the preparation for quite the opposite. The tide is indeed turning friends, even to be prayed with and told that I have healing hands twenty odd years ago and never been led into ministry by the spirit, has become so clear to me that all was preparation; for ministry is to come sooner rather than later, when the SPIRIT is once more poured out on a broken humanity.

    I’ve basically said all this to simply say ‘get ready my friends’, we must empty our souls (confession) of every wrongdoing (big and small), every distraction especially pride, for we can do nothing but for grace.

    The more we empty or souls…the more we will be filled with the SPIRIT. Let us pray “Come HOLY SPIRIT, come by means of the powerful intercession of the Immaculate Heart of MARY YOUR well beloved Spouse.” Amen

    Like

  10. Thanks Peli. I visited this site some months ago when you gave us the link. It actually was one of the confirmations to me that ministry is close at hand and that I must get ready and empty my bin to receive the fullness of TRUTH.

    As I said before, our beautiful LORD JESUS has been speaking to me much louder through scripture. Recently, on April 24th this Scripture came alive to me:

    Revelation 3: 7 – 8, 10 – 12
    7 “And to the angel of the church in Philadelphia write: `The words of the holy one, the true one, who has the key of David, who opens and no one shall shut, who shuts and no one opens.
    8 “`I know your works. Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut; I know that you have but little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.
    10 Because you have kept my word of patient endurance, I will keep you from the hour of trial which is coming on the whole world, to try those who dwell upon the earth.
    11 I am coming soon; hold fast what you have, so that no one may seize your crown.
    12 He who conquers, I will make him a pillar in the temple of my God; never shall he go out of it, and I will write on him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem which comes down from my God out of heaven, and my own new name.”

    I cant say I fully understand everything HE is saying (except that I have little power), but I Trust in HIM who so Loves me, that HE will reveal more to me at the appropriate time.

    JESUS I trust in YOU. Save us from our sin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

