Do you think I will be patient forever?

Lamentations 3:46-47 All our enemies have opened their mouths against us; terror and the pit have been our lot, desolation and destruction.

“My child,what sorrow and woe I see before me! Heaven weeps. The innocent are mercilessly slaughtered, my people are reviled and mocked. Above all, my own creatures have exalted themselves, to put themselves in my place. Do you think I will be patient forever? I tell you the patience of God has reached its end, and now the world will see whose power is greater.”

Lord, who can stand to contemplate your wrath, let alone endure it? Have mercy, please!

“My beloved one draw near. All those who come to me will find a place of safety; I turn no one away. My child, do not fear, but pray!”

Lord Jesus, you are merciful and just. May your justice be tempered, for the glory of your name and salvation of the sinners you died to save. Amen.

28 thoughts on “Do you think I will be patient forever?

  1. Abba FATHER, for the sake of His sorrowful passion have mercy on us and on the whole world.

    JESUS, for the sake of Your Mother’s sorrowful passion joined to Yours on calvary, have mercy on us and on the whole world!

    Dearest Mother, teach us not to fear Your Son JESUS in His time of anger. Go with us to Him, so that He may see His beautiful creation and consolation when He looks at You, and His anger will be quashed.

    We pray for mercy on this desolated and sinful earth Mama MARY, we have strayed so far from your Son, so far, so far! Pray for us and protect us under Your warm and gentle mantle.

    MARY, mother we trust in You!

    Like

  2. dear Lord, please open hearts and minds to YOUR Divine Mercy this Lent and Mercy Sunday coming. Pour Your graces over all so they DO not listen to the accuser, but run to Your Mercy and humble themselves.

    Like

  3. Oh, Lord, You Who Are Loving-Kindness, Your Mercy is Just, But Your Justice is Merciful.

    For the sake of Christ’s Sorrowful Passion, have mercy on us and on the whole world…

    Our Lady, Undoer of Knots, please place this entire world into the Ocean of Mercy of your Divine Son that the knots of our age and of all ages may be undone. Immerse all of creation throughout the ages into the prayers of the Gloriana, we pray…

    Like

  4. This is such a difficult message. But how can we be surprised? Jesus we trust in you alone. Father hold us! Holy Spirit comfort us.

    Here is a novena to St. Joseph which could be prayed beginning Mar 11 and leading up to his feast day.

    Like

  5. Peli, this is a very VERY disturbing message for me to read, and I’m sure the others feel this way.

    It’s so strange: I feel such sorrow and heartache for the Nigerians who have been slaughtered for their Christian beliefs; for the mothers and children who have been burnt alive or hacked to death. This is just unbelievable cruelty, and NEVER in my lifetime, I would have seen it so clearly.

    The world has been tilted – literally by all the earthquakes, and spiritually. What-else is there to do but pray.

    My Lord, My God: please enclose us in your loving arms. Please hold all those to your chest who seek refuge from the evil ones. Have mercy on those who have done wrong, and we ask that you cleanse us so that we are worthy to be with You soon.

    It’s happening, people, it’s happening.

    We pray.

    Like

    1. Danielle, through this message and through Christiana’s dreams it is important to focus on God’s promise to be with us. The Jesus figure in the dream was very calm, in control, available. I would like to count the times that Our Lord has said, “Be not afraid.” in these blog posts. Now it’s time to put our confidence in the Lord to the test! Jesus we trust in you!

      Like

  6. Abba, forgive us. Thank you for Your Son. Give us the strength to be warriors for You. Give us boldness to speak the truth even when they ridicule us for it. Give us compassion for them and let us console the Hearts of Jesus and Mary.

    Like

  7. I wrote before about the Latin words I had received, and fruit of the sacrament of reconciliation – the word subito, meaning “now”, but also another word meant to tie up the strings. Before I got to my pew, I knew that it meant “wrap it up, finish – now” I have so many irons in the fire – an unfinished house, but mostly the feeling that I am going to be feeding a lot of people! Would you please pray for me to quiet my soul enough to hear what it is that I need to do “now”. My husband is skeptical and he hates for me to even mention such things. He is a kind and generous soul, and I could SO MUCH use his strategically gifted brain… Would you please pray for us? Also, again, about the St. Gertrude prayer. By ending the prayer with “for all the holy souls in purgatory and, (NAME) you can attach thousands of souls to pray for individuals.

    Eternal Father, we offer you the Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity of Your Dearly Beloved Son, our Lord, Jesus Christ, in atonement for our sins and and for the whole world. For the sake of His sorrowful passion, and BY THE MERITS OF HIS MOST HOLY CROSS, have mercy on us and on the whole world.

    Like

  8. How is it that Mummy MARY could have seen her Son flogged almost to death, climbed calvary plant herself at the foot of the Cross, see the the Creator murdered by his creatures and not be afraid? She had total trust in Her Son JESUS. She was faithful to Him and knew His promise to those who remain faithful.

    My friends, let us not be scared or afraid. Will our Daddy and Brother cast out and chastise those who love Him? As a father and in my imperfect love would not condemn my children even in anger…how much more merciful, loving and compassionate is our GOD to those who love Him? “If you love Me you will keep My commandments”; let us pray for the grace to keep His commandments ‘love GOD and love our neighbour’.

    That being said, redemptive suffering must still come our way…what JESUS assures us is that we will not be alone or condemned.

    JESUS said “do not let your hearts be troubled, trust in GOD and trust in Me”

    JESUS, MARY, we trust in You. St. Joseph protect us! Amen

    Like

  9. Bonnie, I am doing the same things to prepare for many, including our animals. I’ve just prayed to the Lord to help make sure that I have what I am going to need. As I go through my day, I pick up what makes sense and comes to mind. I know that God can multiply whatever we have and St. Anthony can help me find what I need, even if it was never there before!

    Like

  10. Peace, brothers and sisters. The peace of Christ be with you.

    Let us not look back over our shoulder. Let us not look ahead. For the Truth and the Wisdom that does not err has called us (such as we are), and has prepared us and offers us all the necessary Grace for each instant. Jesus, we trust in You!

    Thank you, Father, for this great gift of life. Thank you for your Love and Mercy which You have lavished upon us, your sinful and sorrowful children. We plead for the Divine Mercy on behalf of all our brothers and sisters from pole to pole and spanning the equator, for the sake of Your Son’s sorrowful passion, have mercy on us all. Thank you for hearing our prayers. Thank you for taking us, our families and loved ones into the protection of your Sacred Heart. Thank you Mary, Holy Mother of God, for shielding us in your embrace under the shelter of your mantle. And thank you for our brothers and sisters in Christ, who you lovingly gathered together so that we may find added strength and the consolation of companionship for our journey.

    Like

    1. Michael Patrick, you comment reminded me of something I add this intention before I pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet: “In the Divine Will I fly over the whole world dispensing Divine Mercy to every person, place, and thing, from the upper reaches of the atmosphere to the molten core.”

      Like

  11. Our time reminds me so much of the time of the old prophets, Isaiah and Jeremiah, Ezekiel – when the hard words came because the whole society had abandoned God. Israel, God’s chosen of all the tribes of the earth, had passed over the point of no return into destruction. When a whole society becomes evil, individuals can no longer say, ‘I’m a good person!’ and blithely ignore the consequences.

    See Isaiah. 6, where he says, ‘I am a person of unclean lips, and I dwell among a people of unclean lips!’ Once the coal had touched his lips, what is the poor, spared man’s first prophesy after he says, ‘Send me!’? Something easy to say and to hear? No! It is a message of destruction! Yet each of these same prophets gives us whole chapters of encouragement. ‘God takes no pleasure in the death of the wicked, so repent, ‘, ‘ a remnant will return,’ the voice of the bride and bridegroom will again be heard in the city,’ great is thy faithfulness, morning by morning fresh mercies I see, ‘perhaps he will relent and leave a blessing behind’.

    If God was willing to destroy Israel and allow Jerusalem and the temple to be razed it’s only logical to expect the same fate for ourselves if we do the same things. We are only grafted in to the tree, as Paul says. Once faced, the mind at first boggles, and if we’re honest, we can see exactly how little merit we have to stand before God. The only possible course is repentance, to throw ourselves into the Ocean of His Mercy and tremble at the prospect of standing before the Judge. Once again: This may be a hard word, but it is a truthful one. Better to hear it and repent than go to on in my sins to the final lake of fire.

    I, also have been called to establish a place of refuge. It was years before my husband was on board. Talking and thinking through what that might mean, and having experiences where we did take in people (passing guests, children in trouble, my dying mother), I’m not in doubt about the seriousness of it and of my inability to be equal to the task.

    But doing whatever the Lord is calling us to is a kind of thread. Beside it is the thread of our own repentance and decision to follow the Lord no matter what (by His grace), repentance and prayer, and there is yet another thread of being obedient, day by day. It could be that the hands in the dishwater, or stained from harvesting food from the garden, or peeling off gloves from the sickroom will be those who open the door to the Returning King.

    If there were no hope, He would not have encouraged us to wait for Him. He would not have showed us the martyrs under the throne in Revelation. He would be building no city to come down from heaven, the New Jerusalem.

    Did you ever notice that there is no account of Jesus coming, alive, to his mother after the Resurrection? I’ve often thought about this. It must have happened, but that meeting is cloaked to us, as the meeting of love and beloved should be. She didn’t have to be at the tomb. She knew and believed him. She waited for the moment at home, going about her life of prayer and service, is my best guess. May we have her faith! Mother Mary, help me to please your Son as I go through my daily work, always awaiting the call, ‘The bridegroom comes!’

    Like

  12. I am a geologist by trade and have been watching patterns around the earth for the last several years. I fear we are entering a time like man has never endured before. I’m concerned about islands that are located on the edges of deep trenches. I trust in the Love and Mercy of the Two Hearts of Our Lord and Blessed Mother. While I feel that time is short and imminent, I saw this somewhere recently and thought it was applicable.

    While hoeing the garden, St. Francis was asked by his followers what he would do if he knew the Lord was going to return that hour, and he replied, “I would keep hoeing the garden.” Not because the garden needed weeding, but because that was God’s will at that moment. Since no one knows “the day or hour” of the Lord’s return, it is necessary that we continue to build the kingdom on earth “as it is in heaven.” Continue on with your plans, your dreams, and the fulfillment of your vocation so long as they are in harmony with God’s will, for “everything could last a very long time yet”

    Like

  13. “…All those who come to me will find a place of safety: I turn no one away…”

    I read this post shortly before I read Mark Mallett’s recent post– “So, What Do I Do?”– and I was filled with a need to be about the Lord’s business of bringing souls to Him.

    John Henry Newman’s prayer came to me:

    Dear Jesus, help me to spread your fragrance everywhere I go. Flood my soul with your Spirit and life. Penetrate and posses my whole being so utterly that my life may only be a radiance of yours.

    Shine through me and be so in me that every person I come in contact with may feel your presence in my soul. Let them look up, and see no longer me, but only Jesus! Stay with me and then I shall begin to shine as you shine, so to shine as to be a light to others. The light, Jesus, will be all from you; none of it will be mine. It will be you shining on others through me. Let me thus praise you in the way which you love best, by shining on those around me.

    Let me preach you without preaching, not by my words but by my example, by the catching force, the sympathetic influence of what I do, the evident fullness of the love my heart bears for you. Amen.

    He is our leader and we are His ambassadors but He is already with us and in us and He is carrying us like we were the little lost sheep that we are.

    I, however, must trust Him to continue to guide and not become so anxious about what might happen that I miss what He want’s from me in the present. He has the master plan and I don’t.

    Like

  14. Oh the tears I shed this a.m. of frustration and knowing, knowing that I was not aligning myself to Jesus – then the gentle, thoughtful and encouraging words after my post. The present moment, living in the present moment! Yes, back to basics, quit worrying and praise Jesus by trusting in Him, not worrying what I need to DO.

    My prayer group’s message this week was to let Jesus shine through us, let others know, see, find Him by His light shining through us. The John Henry Neuman prayer – that I loved – somehow ended up on the sidelines. It has illuminated me again.

    Another prayer group message; a frequent one: “I am your Jesus! You need only me!” Like the message of the dream – God has prepared everything for us!

    Remember, holding the rosary is holding Our Lady’s hand!

    Like

  15. Fr Mark has a great post here;
    http://vultus.stblogs.org/2010/03/visit-her-with-the-radiance-of.html

    “Courage, dear brothers and sisters! Even if our Holy Father Pope Benedict were the only light in the darkness, that darkness cannot overcome that light nor can it diminish it. And in addition to our Holy Father there remain among the clergy and religious many brilliant lights burning with the glory of Heaven. Think for a moment of those lights and how the darkness can never overcome the Light of Christ all over this beautiful and troubled world. . . . and even though some of us may feel like a dimly burning wick, Christ promises never to put it out and, again, the darkness cannot diminish even a dimly burning wick.

    “Let us shine before the Lord with His Light, and let us do so in confidence. And everywhere we go let us leave the encouragement of the Holy Ghost with friend and stranger, priest and pauper, bishop and Pope!

    “O Christ our Light, the one true Eternal Flame,
    behold thy Bride the Church,
    surrounded and assaulted, infiltrated and distressed,
    and visit Her with the radiance of thy Holy Face
    that all darkness and every evil
    be cast out from Her good company
    of faithful people, devout religious and her anointed priests
    so that She be ready at thy soon-appearing
    with lamps alight and hearts raised up;
    for thy tender mercies’ sake. Amen.”

    Like

  16. nancy, i nearly fell off my chair!!!only the other day i came across Cardinal Newmans prayer and was so taken with it i typed out several copies for others.!!!what a confirmation you have given me. My son went to Newman College and my husband used to teach there. the more i read of the Cardinal the more i understand what a gift he was to humanity.
    isnt the prayer wonderful. and Mother Theresa and her sisters prayed it each day. thank you Nancy.

    Like

  17. Anne, you are entirely welcome, but it wasn’t me. I had walked into my bedroom looking for St. Augustine’s Confessions and picked up a prayer book that opened to that prayer. So you see, He uses us all–we are his instruments. We are sent into this world to do a work for Him. I can only do it if I use the graces He sends. All thanks go to Him. (So often I miss the opportunity.)

    Like

  18. Hi Bonnie, I believe the following words of St. Josemaria Escriva applies to most of us:

    “You suffer and you want to bear it in silence. It doesn’t matter if you complain; it’s the natural reaction of our poor flesh; as long as your will wants, now and always, only what God wants.”

    — St. Josémaria Escriva

    Dearest St. Joseph, touch the face of He who you lovingly called Son, and sweetly as you would have sang to Him in the manger ask His mercy on our wretched world.

    Oh Joseph spouse of MARY whisper to MARY and JESUS to send the HOLY SPIRIT that He may renew the face of the earth and bring conversions as never seen before.

    JESUS, MARY and Joseph pray for us and for families…we love You and implore Your help.

    God bless us all.
    Amen.

    Like

  19. I finally found the quote from Our Lady of Fatima that I had been seeking and it is # 14 on this great website (under Our Lady of Fatima Said) and very appropriate in this discussion:

    http://www.2heartsnetwork.org/Fatima.htm

    14. ST. JOSEPH: The only saint who appeared at Fatima besides Our Lady. St. Joseph held the Child Jesus in his arms and blessed the 70,000 people three times. It is he of whom it has been said: “THE SOUND OF VICTORY WILL BE HEARD WHEN THE FAITHFUL RECOGNIZE THE SANCTITY OF ST. JOSEPH.

    Like

  20. Steve: kindly specify which islands. I live in Trinidad, the Southern most Caribbean country.

    Any indication of it being the West Indies???

    Like

  21. The West Indies near Trinidad does not have any deep trenches so I don’t think your area would be of concern. The area where you are consist of relatively stable carbonate shelfs. Grand Cayman and Little Cayman would be of concern in the Caribbean, but my primary concern is in the pacific for islands like Guam, Tonga, Samoa, Vanuatu, or New Britain. These islands all back up firmly against a deep oceanic trench and a proper placed earthquake could be devestating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

