If man alone had to make reparation, it would be impossible…

2 Peter 2:12 But these people, like irrational animals born by nature for capture and destruction, revile things that they do not understand, and in their destruction they will also be destroyed.

“My child, this passage tells what will happen to those who embrace the Culture of Death. The angels themselves are astonished at how many in your age are bent on their own destruction through sin. But, my child, do not despair even at this late hour. The doomsday clock has not yet reached midnight. Work tirelessly while it is still daylight. For when darkness comes it will be too late. My child, continue to pray and offer sacrifices for souls. There is much reparation to be made for the sins of this age. Indeed if man alone had to make reparation, it would be impossible. But for God, all things are possible. Link your offerings to the cross and you will be given the strength of heaven. Your prayers will purchase souls far out of proportion to what you offer. Child, I cannot say it often enough—time is short!”

Jesus, I trust in you. I offer all my prayers and sacrifices, my every breath, in the Divine Will in the name of everyone, linked to the cross, for the conversion of sinners and in reparation to the sorrowful hearts of Jesus and Mary. Jesus I trust in you! Amen.

18 thoughts on “If man alone had to make reparation, it would be impossible…

  1. just before i read this message i spent some time on net reading Fr. John Hardons archives. looked at several topics including sin.
    Father says: God allows suffering in our lives for the privelege of expiatiing our sins and those of others.
    i draw attention to the writings of Fr. Hardon. His writings are well worth reading and pondering.

    Like

  2. This message today about making reparation gives me an opportunity to give you a fine example of what it is that God calls us to every day. I have six grandchildren, three of whom are old enough to be taught the basic concept that you should unite your sufferings with Christ and offer it up for souls. The two older children, 12 and 11 years old, take this with a grain of salt. But my 8 year old granddaughter, who ponders everything for days, immediately embraced this idea of saving souls through suffering. She listened attentively as I explained how it endears us to Christ and makes us more and more like Him, so that He can share His crown with us in heaven. Well, she must have thought very deeply about this because I have heard her tell the other children recently to offer up a suffering when they are upset. She never forgets what she is taught. The other day when she was outside playing with other children in a wooded area near their homes, one of the children pulled back on the branches of a thorn bush and released them as my grandchild came by. She was hit in the face with the branch and a thorn punctured her forehead just below her hairline. The wound bled heavily and chaos ensued as neighbors came out to bind up her wound. She was fine. But later, as she was telling me about her injury, she said, “Grandma, I was asking Jesus if I was going to be able to suffer for Him, and I think this thorn was an answer to my prayer”. Later, she told me that, before she was injured, she had asked Jesus what it felt like to have the thorns poking in His head. She understood intuitively that the thorn was a gift to her to help her understand Him better and to be able to share in His suffering. She was overjoyed. To put this child’s age in perpective, she is still so young, she is missing both of her front baby teeth which have recently fallen out. This child thinks way beyond her age. At school, she teaches the other children about God, particularly those who say they don’t believe in God. When they misbehave, she admonishes her schoolmates to be good and to follow Jesus. She is teaching her best friend how to say the Rosary; her best friend’s parents are divorcing and the father is out of the child’s life now. There is a bully who threatens her, but she keeps telling him that God loves him, even though she is a tiny, undersized kid who looks two years younger than the rest of the kids. This child is fearless when it comes to God. She is already in love with Him and tells me this frequently. She protects even a tiny pea ant and won’t let me harm it. She tells me to take the spiders outside. I have heard her talk repetitively to a mourning dove outside my home (when she was barely 7). She would coo at it, then wait until it cood back, then she would coo again, as they engaged in a long drawn out conversation with one another. This would go on for the longest time as she sat quietly out there listening to nature around her. This child is a sign to the world: an innocent, gentle, faithful, couragous, obedient, evangelist and servant of God. She is a humbling example to me everyday as I ponder what it is that God wants from me.

    Like

    1. Oh Jean! What an inspiring story of God’s work in an innocent soul! She is an example to us all. How she reminds me of St. Therese the Little Flower. Our Lord has plans for this little saint. One of the things God wants from you, I am sure, is to continue to nurture the gift of abundant faith in this child. Wow! I am in awe.

      Like

  3. Pelianito, I am in awe too and marvel at her sometimes. Another story that pertains to her…I was driving in the car with the 3 kids and explaining the fall of the angels and how St. Michael said, “I will serve!”, and I explained what that meant. The children continued to chatter abour various things, but after awhile, this youngest grandchild said resolutely, “I will serve too”. She had given it a lot of thought before she made this firm resolution. The conversation continued until we pulled in to park. As I was getting them out of the car, she said,”Grandma, when everyone was talking, I could hear someone else talking to me too.” I asked with surprise, “Well, what did they say?”. She responded, “She said, ‘I will be with you always'”. God always looks for our free will choice first, even in trying circumstances, then He responds with the Grace to do it.

    Like

  4. I mentioned a book before; The Golden Arrow. It is based on the revelations of Sr. Mary of St. Peter and is a Devotion to the Holy Face of Jesus. Even though she died in 1848 the prayers Jesus dictated to her in order to make reparation for the sins of that time are seemingly even more important today. History definitely repeats itself!

    Offering of the Holy Face of Our Lord Jesus Christ to God the Father in order to appease His Justice and Draw Down Mercy Upon Us:

    Eternal Father, turn away your angry gaze from our guilty people whose face has become unsightly in Your eyes. Look instead upon the Face of Your Beloved Son, for this is the Face of Him in Whom You are well pleased. We now offer You this Holy Face, covered with shame and disfigured by bloody bruises in reparation for the crimes of our age in order to appease Your anger, justly provoked against us. Because Your Divine Son, our Redeemer, has taken upon His Head all the sins of His members, that they might be spared, we now beg of You, Eternal Father, to grant us mercy. Amen

    He said to her “My daughter, I give you My Face and My Heart. I give you My Blood, and I open to you My Wounds. Draw from these and pour out their spiritual riches on others. Buy without money! My Blood is the price for souls! Oh, how painful it is to My Heart to see remedies, which have cost Me so dearly, scorned! Ask of My Father as many souls as was the number of the drops of Blood that I shed in My Passion!”

    There is another prayer (actually five altogether) which I think is worth mentioning because of one paragraph, remember, this is in the 1800’s!:

    “Avert from us destruction by war and it’s consequences which loom through the malice of revolutionary men who have risen up to stamp out religion from the face of the earth through false indoctrination, and who now stand ready to impose their wicked designs with militaristic force. May this offering of the Holy Face of our Savior before Your throne of majesty obtain for us deliverance from these evils.”

    Jean, that’s encouraging about your grandchild. I love to see God in children…it’s so appropriate! Their innocence and simplicity are natural magnets for God!

    Like

  5. Yes, it sure sounds like a saint being called. Let’s all offer a prayer that the Lord will have his way and the call on this child’s life will not be hampered in any way.

    Like

  6. There is a common theme running:

    From Michael Patrick’s post of March 6 2010, from Peli’s mention of St. Therese the Little Flower, Jean’s post concerning her precious granddaughter, and all of the visions I have had of entering into or being in the Era of Peace, we all must be like the “little children” of God. We need to become once again, if we were blessed with a good childhood, that child we once were in order to enter into the Era of Peace or heaven. We need to become our true selves once again, so Jesus can find us once more! If a person never had a gentle childhood, the Lord will help them to become His beloved child, I’m sure…

    Like

  7. I thank you for your prayers for my grandchild. I too pray she will not lose this gift. I see forces in her life seeking to take away her innocence and goodness and it’s difficult not to lose heart over it all. But I’m constantly reminded of the supernatural orgin of these virtues (it certainly didn’t come from me!) so I believe God will continue to protect her despite worldly influences. I also believe she may be one of a million little saints He is raising up to become among those great saints prophesied to come in the last days. I think He’s raising up an army of them to see His Church through these difficult days to come. God Bless!

    Like

  8. M.T. you beat me to it.!!i had exactly the same thought when i read the posts but could not comment as running off to Mass. so when i read what you wrote i was overjoyed. YES, we must be as little children to enter the NEW ERA. Amen.!!!

    Like

  9. Thanks for sharing that story, Jean. It’s amazing to see all the different spiritual personalities in the Body of Christ, and very comforting when God creates a prodigy for His own purposes.

    Of course my children are all so different as well. I had high hopes for my 4 year old daughter, Lucia, but she’s a chip off the old block. Today at Mass she was fussing around and I had to scold her with the look. “Please be quiet and say your prayers,” I said. She returned the look, then eventually folded her hands. A minute or two went by then she leaned over to me and whispered, “If I pray, can I have a doughnut after Mass?” Sigh… I’ve got my work cut out for me.

    Interesting point, M.T. I’ve had a real affinity for Therese the Little Flower for quite some time, and it never seemed to make any sense because our spiritual personalities don’t seem to have anything in common. It seems natural for us to look to certain saints after we read about their lives and find something we can relate to. One day I was reading somewhere that the Lord presents certain saints to us, who are quite different, for exactly that reason. I suppose for the same reasons that so many of us marry someone that is our opposite. They say that opposites attract. Perhaps it would be better to say opposites complete.

    So many different souls here… one beautiful Communion of Saints there, with no more deficiencies and fragmentation. The children of the Father. One with the Triune God. Whole. Complete. What a beautiful hope.

    Like

  10. Friends, I think of great pertinence is this Sunday’s Gospel: Luke 13: 1 – 9. Please read it over again and before you do, ask the HOLY SPIRIT to enlighten you as you read.

    I have been finding the Sunday Gospels to be so much in sync with Pelianito’s inspirations from our Lord. This one is no different. In today’s Gospel the Lord gives the parable of the vinedresser; where the owner of a fruitless fig tree is about to cut it down, but the vinedresser intercedes for 1 more year:

    7 “And he said to the vinedresser, `Lo, these three years I have come seeking fruit on this fig tree, and I find none. Cut it down; why should it use up the ground?’

    8 And he answered him, `Let it alone, sir, this year also, till I dig about it and put on manure.

    9 And if it bears fruit next year, well and good; but if not, you can cut it down.'”

    Sounds a lot like our Mother MARY is the vinedresser in this very fruitless culture/world. For me what is appropriate is the intercession of the vinedresser for a period of mercy to cultivate the fruitless tree. After the time of mercy is granted and the tree still does not bear fruit, then the justice of the Owner will be forthcoming…it can be cut down.

    May this Lenten period be Yours dear Mother to fertilize our souls, that we may bear much fruit for Your Son JESUS.

    I originally got this analogy from A priest who gave a dramatic conversion story on EWTN. See story on this link:

    http://www.frtommylane.com/homilies/year_c/lent3.htm

    Like

  11. The story of the priest, Fr. Scheier, was wonderful! Our mother Mary is incredible as she fights for our souls.

    For several months I have been sleeping with a Rosary in my hand. I asked my guardian angel to pray it while I sleep. It has made a profound difference in my life.

    As for contemplation during the Rosary, again, the Fr. Scheier testimony has made a huge difference.

    Thank you!

    Like

  12. I noticed at the video link, just below they mention the final dogma of Mary as Co-Redemptrix. I think we definitely need that for completion or fulfilment, or something.
    I think it is important and Truth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

