What does it mean to follow me, but to travel on the way of the cross…

Luke 9:23 Then he said to all, “If anyone wishes to come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.

“My child, there is so much in this statement; ponder it often. For what does it mean to follow me, but to travel on the way of the cross. Ponder well what this means, for at various times you will identify with each of those witnesses and participants. When you have conformed yourself to my will, you will embrace the cross as I did when I conformed myself to the Father’s will. My child, the cross holds the key to everlasting life. Do not reject, disdain, or fear the cross, but in abject humility, ask for the grace to carry it with loving obedience, as I did. Our Father will see me when he looks at you, if you do this. Child, be faithful and cling to the cross, for its wood is more precious than all the earth’s treasures combined.”

Jesus, grant us grace upon grace, that we might embrace the cross with loving obedience, out of gratitude for your great gift of mercy. Jesus we trust in you. Amen.

14 thoughts on “What does it mean to follow me, but to travel on the way of the cross…

  1. Thank you all for your encouragement and prayers for me and my loved ones. One step at a time, following the Cross… Please keep an intensity of prayer for us on Thursday and for some time thereafter. We need the help of the Gloriana through the intercession of the Immaculata. Once again, thank you so very much for caring…

    Mark Mallett’s new blog sums up our roles in the present evolving world drama:
    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/?p=629

    Like

  2. Hello to all! I only just found this place a few months ago and have been quietly “listening”. 🙂 It is certainly a huge blessing for me …. a fount of refreshing Water in this desert!

    I just wanted to say that when I read this one the word obedience stood out, so I went and read through all the older posts under the obedience catagory. As I “chewed” on all of that, I realized that I have always pictured embracing the cross as an empty, splinter-covered, heavy …. any adjective you can imagine suffices here ….. piece of wood, a thing, but this time was different. Jesus was there …. not beside me like Simon the Cyrenian helping to carry it with me, but ON it. If I wrap my arms around this thing ….. in loving obedience …… I can’t but help hold Him too! It’s really Him I embrace! It totally changed my perspective of the cross!!

    We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you!
    Because by your holy cross you have saved the world!

    Like

  3. Thank you to all who prayed.

    When you go through the intercession of Our Lady to the Gloriana, everything falls into place and fear is replaced with Trust. The more trust we place in the Lord, the more He is able to help us…

    Jesus, I trust in YOU!

    Like

  4. I found this slightly added to Anima Christi. Notice the sixth line.

    Soul of Christ, Sanctify me.
    Body of Christ, Save me.
    Blood of Christ, inebriate me.
    Water from the Side of Christ, wash me.
    Passion of Christ, Strengthen me.
    Cross of Christ, lead me.
    Sacred Heart of Christ, inflame me.
    Mother of Christ, form me.
    Spirit of Christ, create in me a clean heart.
    O Good Jesus, hear me.
    Within Thy Wounds, hide me and heal me.
    Suffer me not to be separated from Thee.
    From the malignant enemy defend me.
    At the hour of my death, call me and bid me,
    That with Thy saints, I can praise Thee forever.
    Amen.

    Peace to all!

    Like

  5. Jeanne,
    The Anima Christi is one of the most beautiful prayers and yet I don’t pray it on a regular basis. The extra verses in this one make it even more meaningful. I have printed it out and will put it next to my bed to pray daily. God bless you.

    Like

  6. Anima Christi is a wonderful devotion for after receiving our Lord, too.

    So glad to hear an ‘answer of peace’ for Mary Therese.

    Mark Mallett was right on the money, as usual, and his word was confirmed, for me at least, by a word sent on by a Protestant mystic that said the same thing.

    ‘Do not be weary in well-doing, for soon you shall reap, if you do not lose heart.’

    Like

Leave a Reply

