True freedom culminates in death to self…

Galatians 5:13 For you were called for freedom, brothers. But do not use this freedom as an opportunity for the flesh; rather, serve one another through love.

“My child, do you see how the enemy has perverted God’s great gift of freedom? For God’s freedom is the freedom to love and the desire to serve others in charity. But the world teaches that freedom serves the self. What a travesty this is! For true freedom culminates in death to self. Anyone who has not died to self is a slave to his lower passions. True freedom is found in love and service. My child, how few there are in the world who understand this, much less embrace it! Be a child of freedom, little one, and you will know a joy that surpasses understanding.”

Jesus, in your great mercy, grant me every grace I need to live a life of love and service, that I may live in the freedom of God’s will forever, as the Holy Family did. Amen.

10 thoughts on “True freedom culminates in death to self…

  1. Thank you for your writings in this blog-journal, Pelianito. Before in the past I was confused about what true freedom is, and since then, having learned true freedom is to be free to do God’s will in one’s life, in contrast to just doing whatever feels good at the moment, whether it’s God’s will or not. Hope to visit your blog-journal from time to time. If it is not private, may I ask you what as the profound experience with the Holy Communion you received? Thanks again, and God bless you, your family and your writing!!

    Like

    1. Welcome RosaMaria! Thank you for your presence here and for your comment.

      I have related my experience of the Lord in the Eucharist on this blog. If you look on the left-hand side, there is a page called, “The Real Presence”. You will find it there.

      Peace and blessings to you and yours.

      Like

  2. Wow! “True freedom is found in love and service.” Thank you Jesus for confirming and answering my prayer. What an AWESOME Lord you are!

    Pelianito, I humbly ask for your prayers as I said, “Yes” to Jesus to facilitate the Divine Mercy cenacle (our facilitator had to step down). I have prayed and offered myself to His service, and I believe He is calling and directing me. I hunger for Him — and I, too, pray for His grace to live a life of love and service. I pray all may see how Divine His Mercy is …

    PEACE&LOVE

    Like

    1. Peace Mary Jude. Praise God that he is speaking to you through this blog. May his will alone be done.

      I do want to add that our service must first be to those closest to us. Service that unduly takes us away from our primary duties is not pleasing to God. Pray and discern God’s will. Then go forward in faith and joy.

      You are in my prayers dear sister, as are all who visit this blog. I place all of you in the Immaculate Heart. Peace.

      Like

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this message. Very timely indeed.
    God Bless You Pelianito, and all that read and post on this site.
    Death to self, is the key, and the “crown”, of true freedom.

    Like

  4. “I do want to add that our service must first be to those closest to us. Service that unduly takes us away from our primary duties is not pleasing to God.”

    I’ve been struggling with this idea for a while, have been tackling some personal family issues and silently asking for spiritual help – you have just about pointed me in the right direction, thanks very much!
    What a sense of timing God has, and He uses you 🙂 to provide the answer!

    Like

  5. Dear Pelianito, God bless you! Thank you for this online journal. It is so in-sync with, it echoes everything that I am “hearing” in my own spiritual life and affirms me. Thank you for opening your heart and being such an effective instrument, because of your selflessness, your “littleness”. I am learning so much from you and Heaven. You have my prayerful and loving support. In Jesus’ and Mary’s Hearts, B

    Like

    1. God bless you dear sister and welcome to the blog.

      I feel I would have much to answer for if I did not share what I have been given. The prophetic gift is a gift for the whole Church. All glory and praise to our God! I like what it says in Luke 17:10 “When you have done all you have been commanded, say, ‘We are unprofitable servants; we have done what we were obliged to do.'”

      Peace to you and yours from this “unprofitable servant”. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

