Am I a General who does not equip my troops?

Psalm 92:11 You have given me the strength of a wild bull; you have poured rich oil upon me.

“My child, my beloved, do you think I call you to mission without adequate supplies or protection? Am I a General who does not equip my troops? If I have called you, believe and trust that all the strength you need is yours and that I have anointed your mission as you go forth to conquer evil in my name. There is nothing to fear. My rod and my staff are at your disposal. Your head I have anointed with the finest oil, and the cup of salvation is yours to drink. Then, whatever comes, be at peace, rejoicing in being found worthy to serve under my command. Child, I need soldiers willing to fight to the finish. Be not afraid. My angels are with you and the saints intercede for you. Our Mother is your guide and leader. Then how can you be afraid? Let us march, together, in the cause of peace and justice and right. My child, I am with you and I love you.”

O my Jesus, you have found the most unworthy, weak sinner to fight with you. Then do not leave me anything of my own but by your grace use me as you wish to conquer evil in your name. Jesus in Mary I trust in YOU! Amen.

11 thoughts on “Am I a General who does not equip my troops?

  1. I was thinking today that the latest Medjugorje message to Mirjana (1/2/10) sounded like marching orders–moving forward with Our Lady:

    “Dear children, Today I am calling you to, with complete trust and love, set out with me, because I desire to acquaint you with my Son. Do not be afraid, my children, I am here with you, I am next to you. I am showing you the way to forgive yourselves, to forgive others, and, with sincere repentance of heart, to kneel before the Father. Make everything die in you that hinders you from loving and saving – that you may be with him and in him. Decide for a new beginning, a beginning of sincere love of God himself. Thank you.”

    And then this message to Pelianito. It sounds like God’s troops have begun to move forward. Lord have mercy on us and on the whole world.

    Jesus I trust in You.

    Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I love you, save souls…

    Like

  2. Somehow, I continue to feel that Our Lady of America’s bannered attendance at the March for Life in Washington, DC–the same area where Our Lady requested to be enthroned in the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception by the bishops of the USA 50+ years ago–is part of this march as well.

    If you look closely at Our Lady’s face–as Our Lady of America–it appears to resemble a bit of all of humanity, and America has always been known as the melting pot for people of all nations…

    Our Lady of America is also dressed as a Bride–and the Blessed Mother is a symbol and prefigurement of the Church…

    Which leads to Mark Mallett:
    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/?p=849

    And much to ponder…

    Like

    1. I had to look this up, so good question MT!

      Scripturally, the rod and staff signify the power of God. In Exodus 4:7 and 14:17, Moses uses his staff as an instrument to perform miracles. The Bishop is given a staff as a symbol of his authority. The word rod is sometimes used interchangeably with a staff, but a rod may also refer an instrument of correction, and that is significant in these times, is it not?

      I believe in this message that our Lord is telling us that we will go forward in HIS power, as Gideon did when 300 men defeated an army as “numerous as locusts”. Be not afraid!

      Like

  3. I saw this article too, Mary Therese and wondered about it because I have a particular affinity for animals and nature. You bring up a great point about God’s protection which I hadn’t thought about in detail, and you draw us once again to the ultimate importance of the Divine Mercy. I was thinking about this from a slightly different angle and thought it might have some worth to share.

    We see before the fall of man in Genesis that God gave man “dominion” over the animals. In the account of the preparation for the flood, Noah takes two of every creature into the ark, so it might seem obvious that to pull this off Noah had a special relationship with animals that we lack today (I can’t seem to get my own dog to follow the simplest commands). When God made the covenant with Noah after the flood, we see that “dread fear of you shall come upon all the animals… into your power they are delivered.” So, as one of the consequences of the sin and depravity of mankind to that point, the animals now feared us.

    There are other many other references to animals in the scripture. I picked out a couple: We see the punishment of disobedience in Levitcus 26: 21-22, “I will unleash the wild beasts against you, to rob you of your children and wipe out your lifestock…” (this one I turned to first at random). Daniel 6:22-24, “Daniel answered the king: ‘O king, live forever! My God has sent his angel and closed the lions’ mouths so that they have not hurt me. For I have been found innocent before Him; neither to you have I done any harm.” There are many instances in the old testament, but these two seemed to pop out.

    Of course the four gospels are full of references, but I have a fondness for the image of the little donkey that bore our Holy Mother to Bethlehem, the docile creatures that provided warmth and comfort to our Savior in the stable where He was born, and the little colt that bore our Lord into Jerusalem. I like to imagine that these creatures behaved in the way that was originally intended, the order that God will restore when finally the sheep lays down with the lion.

    Sadly, it seems that nature is rebelling against us on all sides. This story of the elephants reminds us of this painful truth, and there are many more stories increasing in frequency and intensity in these times that bear this out. I think that humanity has sunk to such a low level of sin and depravity where the animals not only fear us, but they are actively attacking and striking out against us as God had forewarned.

    I take comfort in the words, “My angels are with you and my saints intercede for you. Our Mother is your guide and leader.” I rely heavily on Our Mother’s love and ask for constant intercessions from the saints. I think St. Francis would be particularly good in light of this topic.

    Also on a personal level, I am very pleased to see my 4 year old daughter exhibiting a real affinity for animals. Not entirely like mine where I have a deep appreciation for God’s creation from an artistic perspective, but Lucia’s relationship with animals seems to be one more akin to St. Francis’. She’s tender, caring and fearless with anything as small as a bug to as large as an elephant. Truly it’s amazing to watch her interact and talk to them, and provides me yet another reminder how important is is that we become again as little children.

    And finally, I take comfort in Luke 10:19 20, “Behold, I have given you the power to tread upon serpents and scorpions and upon the full force of the enemy and nothing will harm you. Nevertheless, do not rejoice because the spirits are subject to you, but rejoice because your names are written in Heaven.”

    Lord Jesus, help us always so that we may fight to the finish. For Your Glory alone!

    Like

    1. Thank you for this reflection, Michael Patrick. As a professed lay Franciscan, it speaks to me on many levels. It also reminded me of this dream that I had in April 2009. May God grant us every grace for peace and harmony in all creation through Jesus our Lord.

      Like

Leave a Reply

