I have given you many lights to guide your way…

Jude 22-23 On those who waver, have mercy; save others by snatching them out of the fire; on others have mercy with fear, abhorring even the outer garment stained by the flesh.

“My beloved, this is a time for extreme caution. Remain rooted in the Spirit. Avoid those who may seduce you to false ways of thinking. The tempter is at work, more so than ever. He is looking for ways to lead my children astray and will use even their good acts to tempt them away from me. Beware of voices, even sweet-sounding ones, that may cause you to grow lax in your prayers or in the practice of your faith. Remain firm. You are grounded on the Rock. Then do not be tempted away and do not fall into sin. Confess often, read Scripture, pray, and receive the Eucharist. These things will keep you from falling into serious error or sin. And should this happen, call on your angel to guide you back. My child, I have given you many lights to guide your way. Follow me and you will be safe in my heart.”

O my Jesus, keep all your children safe. Shine your light on the deeds of darkness that would lead to a fall. Jesus I trust in you. Keep me far from temptation and from the near occasion of sin. Beloved angel of my heart, guardian dear, guide me! Amen.

10 thoughts on “I have given you many lights to guide your way…

  1. “press into the Heart of the Father, hold fast to the grace recieved, Breathe in the life of the Spirit and with your faith believe”
    the words of one of my favourite songs of Robin Mark from Belfast. So we must truly PRESS IN.

    Like

  2. Thanks be to God! I learnt a very important lesson from St. Louis de Monfort and that is, beware of pride! He taught that even when we have answered yes to Christ and are no longer indulging in serious sin, we may be compelled to say “I” have conquered sin and “I” am now living a spirit filled life. This is when the devil steps in through pride to rob us of that which we just achieved. The cure to this is, as St. Louis states; offer all our virtues received to Our Lady – loving Mother Mary, that she may be the custodian of ALL our Graces, keeping guard over them that we may not misuse or abuse them. So when we share an inspired word or a gifted salutation let us remember that we are “only” instruments of God and have nothing to boast about.

    Mother Mary, as we seek the full Life of your Son JESUS, in us, may you be the Gatekeeper of all the virtues and graces we receive. Amen!

    Like

  3. AJ this is so true. We can never let down our guard or think we have it made. I like what St. Louis-Marie said about making Our Lady the custodian of all our graces. To use a modern term, we can make her our CAO, Chief Administrative Officer of all that we are, and all that we have.

    One of the images that Our Lord has given me is that my own mission is like that of the donkey that carried Jesus into Jerusalem. This image gives me a real sense of my importance in the order of things: just a humble beast carrying the precious Word.

    And so in sharing with others the Word and words I have received, I want the focus to remain on our Lord. May all of you grow in your relationship with him, deeper into his Sacred Heart through the love of Mary, CAO of our hearts!

    Like

  4. “Beware that your hearts do not become drowsy by carousing and drunkenness and the anxieties of daily life…” Luke 21:34 (from today’s Gospel). Carousing: fruitless activity that does not serve the Kingdom. Drunkenness: all the intoxicating and empty promises of the world. Anxieties of daily life: Everything that spews forth from the mouth of the adversary that weakens our resolve and ability to trust in Jesus.

    “After you have made a decision that is pleasing to God, the devil may try to make you have second thoughts. Intensify your prayer time, meditation, and good deeds. For if Satan’s temptations merely cause you to increase your efforts to grow in holiness, he’ll have an incentive to leave you alone.”
    — St. Ignatius of Loyola

    Like

  5. Family, let us pray this advent in a special way for the conversion of sinners…that our Good Merciful Lord JESUS be born even in the hardest of hearts! Last year Advent I started a “ritual” with my family, that we will continue this year; we bought an Advent wreath with the candles and every day we would light the appropriate candle and say some prayers as a family. So for those that may be looking for a venue or window to introduce family prayer, this may be an opportunity.

    Most Sorrowful and Immaculate Heart of Mary pray for us sinners that we may receive your Son JESUS in a deep and irreversible way this Christmas! May The WORD become flesh and dwell in us. JESUS I trust in YOU! Peace and Grace to you all and your families during this seson of Advent!

    Like

  6. I really like the idea about the Advent candles, especially since I have been thinking about two things for the past week (1) how to get the family to pray TOGETHER, and (2) that I had to do something very different in our celebration of Christmas this year. This fits nicely, AJ. The good Lord answers.

    Also, I’ve had some other thought rolling around in my mind for a long time and I want to share it. On our way to Mass every Sunday we pass by some very large fields of cotton on the Pima Reservation. Each year we get to watch the whole cycle. The earth is plowed, seed planted, sprouts pop up and grow all throughout the wickedly hot summer, etc. By summer’s end the plants are fairly mature and green, but no cotton yet. Then as fall hits, the cotton buds emerge causing the field to gradually turn white. At the same time, we begin to notice the plants are dying, gradually turning from a rich green to a dusty brown. As of this Sunday, the fields are absolutely rich with white cotton ready for the harvest, which of course will eventually become beautiful garments. This growth cycle really struck me this season, particularly on this first Sunday of lent.

    Like

  7. Wisdom speaks to us so clearly in nature and mirrors the lessons of God and yet we miss it daily. In dying (to ourselves) we bring forth life. The cotton tree dies and the cotton blossoms. Thanks Mike!

    Prayer life is a discipline for us as individuals and as families…I pray that it be easier for you than for me, to gather the family together every night and pray :-). I will also share another “ritual” that we do as a family, every night. We read the gospel for the day (available on the EWTN website) then I hold a Crucifix and pray aloud (kneeling) “we adore YOU O Christ and we bless YOU (kiss the crucifix)” and they all respond “for by Your Holy cross YOU have redeemed the world”. Everyone then takes a turn at it.
    Finally, with Holy water and starting with me (head of household), I bless my wife firstly then the two kids “in the Name of the FATHER and of the SON and of the HOLY SPIRIT” say a little prayer and again everyone does likewise.

    Now this is my family nightly prayer, yours can be different of course, I’ve shared it to give you an idea or two. I’m hoping and praying for us to graduate to saying the Rosary nightly but it just doesn’t happen (mis-management of time). My CAO, Loving Mother Mary, needs to pour on some more graces!

    Thanks for your sharing again Michael, I need to be more aware of GOD speaking through his creations (nature).

    Like

    1. God bless you and your family AJ! This is beautiful!

      If you want to read more about God speaking through creation, read some of Michael Patrick’s comments on previous posts. He has shared many beautiful signs with us of God’s loving presence in creation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

