A meditation on the Lord’s Prayer…

Dear readers, over the past few days I have felt called to meditate on the Lord’s prayer in light of the passion of our Lord. May what we ponder bear abundant fruit in our souls.

Our Father who art in heaven…

“Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.” (Luke 23:46)

“Child, I am your loving Abba. Can you not trust me with everything? Give me your very life and you will see what I can do.”

Hallowed be thy name…

So the chief priests of the Jews said to Pilate, “Do not write ‘The King of the Jews,’ but that he said, ‘I am the King of the Jews.'” (John 19:21)

“My child, so many deny the kingship of Christ. Pray always that the eyes and hearts of all will be opened to the truth—that Jesus Christ, crucified, died, and risen is Lord of all.”

Thy kingdom come…

Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.” He replied to him, “Amen, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise.” (Luke 23:42-43)

“Oh my child! Pray for the coming of the kingdom. How it pleases me to hear children calling for my kingdom to come. Do this sincerely and often, and you give me great joy.”

Thy will be done…

After withdrawing about a stone’s throw from them and kneeling, he prayed, saying, “Father, if you are willing, take this cup away from me; still, not my will but yours be done.” (Luke 22:41-42)

“Imitate your Savior in this if nothing else! For in this is found everything else. Enter into the will of God and you will never be in want, for you will have everything. Ponder this my child.”

On earth as it is in heaven…

It was now about noon and darkness came over the whole land until three in the afternoon because of an eclipse of the sun. Then the veil of the temple was torn down the middle. (Luke 23: 44-45)

“My child, if you knew how intricately I have linked heaven and earth you would be amazed. What happens on earth resounds in heaven and what happens in heaven resounds on earth. Do you see this? Look around at the world. Heaven is weeping at what sin has done and will do. Pray my child and do not stop!”

Give us this day our daily bread…

Then he took the bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which will be given for you; do this in memory of me.” (Luke 22:19)

“Can I say often enough how crucial the Bread of Life is to the life of the soul? My child, even in those who do not receive the Eucharistic bread, it is the Eucharistic Bread that sustains them in their faith. One day, they will come to realize this and they will lament at the time spent away from the Sacrifice. Pray that many will come back to me and will know the joy of union with me.”

And forgive us our trespasses…

Then Peter remembered the word that Jesus had spoken: “Before the cock crows you will deny me three times.” He went out and began to weep bitterly. (Matthew 26:75)

“My beloved, how often must I forgive my wayward children? The ocean of my mercy is infinite. Do not despair, but like Peter weep bitter tears at your transgressions and trust in my mercy. Trust completely, for mercy will never fail those who place their trust in me.”

As we forgive those who trespass against us…

Then Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, they know not what they do.” (Luke 23:34)

“Then, child, because of the great mercy shown you, go then and do the same. Let there be no excuse, for your Lord does not find excuses to hold you accountable for your many transgressions. No, your loving Father kills the fatted calf and throws a great celebration. Be reconciled my people. It is the commandment of love.”

And lead us not into temptation…

Then all the disciples left him and fled. (Matthew 26:56)

“Beloved, a trial is coming to my children unlike any before. Pray not to be put to the test. Pray for supernatural faith and it will be granted. I have given you a simple prayer for times of temptation: ‘Jesus I trust in you.’ Use it often and you will defeat temptation before it strikes. Can I make it more simple? Use this prayer my child. This prayer is mercy itself.”

But deliver us from evil…

When Jesus had taken the wine, he said, “It is finished.” And bowing his head, he handed over the spirit. (John 19:30)

“The moment of salvation—ponder this often my child. It was at this moment that evil was defeated, that hope was restored to fallen humanity. Enter into the passion and death of your Savior and you too will conquer evil. This is a great mystery and must be pondered. Child I have saved you. Rejoice and be glad!”

14 thoughts on “A meditation on the Lord’s Prayer…

  1. thank you and so so wonderful. i fully believe we must focus on the Passion for strength for now and coming trial. i had the very words Jesus, i trust in You confimed to me today as the great words of Mercy and then i read this. !!!

    Like

  2. I saw this today and thought it went beautifully with the above scripture and description–no matter where we find ourselve and no matter what happens…

    “The Lord has laid his hands upon us and he wants our hands so that they may become his own in the world. He no longer wants them to be instruments for taking things, people, or the world for ourselves, to reduce them to being our possession, but instead, by putting ourselves at the service of his love, they can pass on his divine touch. He wants our hands to be instruments of service, hence, an expression of the mission of the whole person who vouches for him and brings him to men and women.” Pope Benedict XVI

    Like

  3. What a beautiful insight Pelianito! For the last little while, every day as I pray the rosary, every mystery has been reduced to a simple trust in God. Reading this seems to confirm that. Thank you and God Bless you for sharing this, and your entire blog. It truly is an inspiration and comfort for this wretched sinner.

    Like

    1. The Lord seems to be distilling spirituality for us at this time, showing us what is essential. “TRUST IN ME!” What could be simpler, and yet we have so much trouble accomplishing it. Grace, Lord, grant us every grace we need to place all our trust in you.

      Thank you for your kind words, Guy. This wretched sinner had much to learn, and so I can only boast in my weakness for that is what led to this blog! I would have much to answer for if I did not share it, and the list of things to answer for is long enough already! Mercy!

      Like

  4. in all honesty i believe the Passion is near. Please keep me in prayer everyone right NOW as my husband is truly putting me throughmy passion. i am asking for every prayer from everyone now that he has a DESIRE for conversion. a man knowledgable on Spiritual attack and has written on it says this is important. also that i ask souls in purgatory who have done similar things to intercede and pray. thank you to everyone.

    Like

    1. Wow! Powerful! I also know a woman who endured a great deal and finally brought her husband to the Lord just before his death. We talked about the lengths God will go to for one soul. Amazing!

      Like

  5. Anne, offer up your sufferings for your husband’s conversion….its a very powerful prayer, and a good way to keep the adversary at bay. He’s not a big fan of causing sufferings that then lead to the conversion of a soul. God WILL answer your prayer. I am interceding on behalf of both of you, as well. Jesus , I trust in you!!

    Like

  6. thank you to all for your prayer support. what a group! and especially thank you and welcome the Kathy. i have been told by a Catholic man who has written much about Spiritual warfare that i should pray for his DESIRE to convert as this grows in the free will and blocks attacks. and yes i am offering up sufferings to Jeus’s sufferings for his soul and others. i have been gently shown over time like many here the battle truly is on for souls. God wants to enjoy the Kingdom of reigning in each soul. He wants to delight in being IN each soul and pouring love and recieving love. so all the little ones are suffering and praying to allow the LORD to pour graces to reclaim souls as HIS KINGDOM. God created souls for this beautiful purpose but sadly the human will can block this. THis website is instrumental in helping us all cling to Christ and Our Lady and ask for graces and graces . i truly value everyone here as we are all asking the LORD for the graces of being channels for others in the world. the battle is so real and the JESUS i TRUST IN THEE and clinging to Mary are so vital.
    thank you again to all for prayers . Dear LORD, i pray that you pour graces into the hearts of all here and give them YOUR strength each moment of each day. Lord use the prayers and sufferings of the lilttle ones to be channels of grace to all souls in the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

