Many are blind to the signs; many are blind to their sins…

Wisdom 19:13 And the punishments came upon the sinners only after forewarnings from the violence of the thunderbolts. For they justly suffered for their own misdeeds…

“My child, can anyone be surprised at the consequences that will befall the human race on account of sin? Yet many are blind to the signs; many are blind to their sins. Let those who pray do so with renewed fervor. Let them go into mourning over what is coming to the earth. Is it time for festivity when suffering and calamity surround you? My child, subdue your life as in the days of old when they put on sackcloth and sat in ashes. The destruction due to sin will be the cause of many tears. The only joy will be that which my faithful ones have in the hope of the kingdom. My child, the trial has been shortened because of the prayers and sacrifices of my faithful ones. Keep your eyes on the hope that is contained in the resurrection. One can only climb the hill to Calvary one step at a time. The resurrection awaits. Keep this thought firmly before you as you carry the cross to the crucifixion.”

Jesus in Mary, give us your strength, courage, and hope as we climb the hill to Calvary with you. Keep before our eyes always the joy and hope of the resurrection. Jesus we trust in you and offer you the gratitude of the Gloriana wrapped in the love of the Blessed Mother for having shortened the time of trial. Help us to do more for the sake of the souls you love so much. Amen.

32 thoughts on “Many are blind to the signs; many are blind to their sins…

  1. I had the opportunity to attend the Our Lady of Guadalupe festival in Phoenix back in August. It was held in a packed arena with various speakers, singers, performances, etc. I remember being a bit surprised at the tenor of the production, put on by the Phoenix diocese and the KofC, which seemed to be pretty festive, including lots of pep and cheering for different performances… not really what I expected, but I felt it was important to be there.

    The first speaker made a huge impression on me and I was kind of surprised at the lack of attention from the rest of the crowd. The people around me all seemed to be distracted, animated with various other discussions and diversions. In fact, I remember turning to my wife and commenting how I felt she was the most important speaker of the day and few people were listening. The speaker’s name is Immaculée Ilibagiza, a survivor of the Rwandan holocaust. Her book is entitled Left to Tell, Discovering God Amidst the Rwandan Holocaust. http://www.leftottell.com. I highly recommend it.

    Since reading the Word in Pelianito’s previous post, I have been wondering how anyone could be so deaf, dumb and blind to the signs of the times. I see the Holy Spirit teaching in themes again, as today’s post has many of the same notes that were in my thoughts today. I wish I had more to offer, but I’m still meditating on these words here and they are difficult ones.

    Like

    1. Thank you Michael Patrick. Immaculee is an important voice for our time and her story is an amazing testimony of faith, reconciliation and hope through unimaginable difficulty.

      I too feel there is an incongruity in my life and in society. After last night’s message I am asking God to somehow get me out of some social engagements I have committed to. However, even if I have to attend, I do not have to stay late, and can subdue my participation, staying in the background and praying when I can, also offering up the penance of having to attend. However, I will try to get out of as many as I can.

      God bless.

      Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to write for weeks but held back. Two Sundays in a row, the words came to my heart, “The hour is getting late. The hour is getting late.”
    As I read daily all the other comments posted here, I know that I too must say “fiat” to Him. Yes, Lord, take my everything, take each of my moments, take each breath, take my weaknesses & flaws, my poor humanity and my little prayers… If it will help to make a difference!
    But how can we live through the trials, Lord? I asked. (He knows I am so very weak.) And the answer came, “One step at a time. Place one foot forward, then the other.” And what a surprise to have this confirmation from Pelianito today: “One can only climb the hill to Calvary one step at a time”!
    I am so grateful to know this little army of willing souls through this blog, even if we only “meet” online. Your faith, courage & like-mindedness give me much strength.
    Do you know how difficult it is to speak of these things to come, to your own family members, to the parishioners in your own church? It’s as good as speaking in a foreign tongue.
    Thank you all! Peace & blessings to all here!

    Like

    1. Agnes I am with you in feeling overwhelmed at what may come. But our Lord teaches me time and time again that I only have to do what he puts in front of me each moment trusting him in all things. This lesson has taken me a long time to learn.

      I too find it difficult to speak of these things to others, even in church. There are some people I know that are not blind to the signs of the times, including you here on the blog. We have discussions and pray. We pray for all the others. I have been feeling that something big will happen before Christmas, perhaps more than one thing. I personally hope it is the Illumination so that people will be forced to choose and the lines will be more clearly drawn: Are you with me or against me? However, I have been given no solid insight into this.

      I want to thank you for your comment Agnes. Your confirmation is also my confirmation as our Lord is trying to teach me to have faith in the great gift he has given this unworthy sinner. When I focus on myself, I lose faith. When I take the leap of faith and place all my trust in him, he is swift to confirm. God bless you dear sister!

      Like

  3. Take heart, Agnes. Our Lord is with His children. His Cross is our strength. I never thought that I could be of service, wretched beggar that I am, yet Jesus steadies my every step and picks me up when I fall.

    Of course the adversary will come around and try to sow fear and give us all the reasons why our efforts are futile. Let us cling to the Cross, through which all Graces are obtained, and be defended by the Word:

    Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me.” Matt 17:24

    “But blessed are your eyes, because they see, and your ears, because they hear.” Matt 13:16

    “Go out, therefore, into the main roads and invite to the feast whomever you find. The servants went out into the streets and gathered all they found, bad and good alike, and the hall was filled with guests.” Matt 22: 9-10

    “On the evening of that first day of the week, when the doors were locked, where the disciples were, for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood in their midst and said to them, ‘Peace be with you.'” John 20:19

    “Yes, I am coming soon.” Amen! Come, Lord Jesus! Rev 22:20

    Like

  4. Pelianito, I see so many messages converging on the idea that something is at hand. Jennifer, the messenger at Words From Jesus, also has posted a message saying the time is near. Even some priests have been writing about this (see Fr. Longnecker). I am praying for my family, but I must remember to pray for other poor sinners, most especially those priests who are not meeting their obligations — how awful will the revelation of the state of their souls! May God have mercy on us.

    Like

  5. “I have been feeling that something big will happen before Christmas, perhaps more than one thing. I personally hope it is the Illumination so that people will be forced to choose and the lines will be more clearly drawn”

    I think nothing could make us happier than that Pelianito.

    I hope that the Illumination that Jesus told Saint Faustina comes soon.

    I am not sure if that Illumination is also conected with the Medjugorge secrets. Can anyone clear that up?

    Like

  6. A lot of people, Catholics included, just want to have their “ears tickled” and are only in this for the “show” be it a mega church production or a full on high noon mass.

    This past weekend, many websites that address the issue of prepping and the coming bad times were hit in a massive DOS, (denial of service) attack. I would not be surprised to soon see many reglious sites such as this also be hit with DOS as time draws near.

    I would guess that right after the “ilumination” most of the internet will be closed down to prevent the like minded from discussing what took place.

    Like

    1. Holy Angels help us!

      The following is a prayer sent out by CatholiCity in response to the latest attacks on life in the United States. I felt it was very powerful and wanted to pass it on.

      “Dear Father in Heaven, we have failed you. We have not prayed enough, sacrificed enough, paid enough attention, fasted enough, or worked hard enough to end the scourge of abortion in our country and our world, and now we face being forced to provide, pay for, and support abortions in Your hospitals. Look not on our sins and failings, O Lord, but on the faith You provided us during our baptisms, when we ourselves were most vulnerable. Like the Good Thief, we admit our failures, yet we cannot take our eyes away from Your Son on the Cross, and with the encouragement of our bishops call to action this very week, we beg You to unleash Your Most Powerful Angels and give them the greatest possible leeway and authority to change the course of human history in the United States and the world so that it cannot unfold except in perfect accord to Your Divine Will. Unleash them! Unleash your Angels, O Lord, we beg You! Amen.”

      Like

  7. absolutely Pelianito. When i focus on myself , i lose faith but …..he is swift to confirm.
    wow, immaculee is coming to Aust next year. for us that is big.

    Like

  8. When in our area, Immaculee became very sad as she told her story. (It is not an easy story to tell.) When she left the stage, she sat right next to me. I was blessed to hug her and hold her for a little while. She is such a delicate and precious child of God…

    A couple of weeks ago, I felt that the Lord told me the bishops would suffer because of how slow they are to positively respond to the requests of Our Lady. Our Lady of Kibeho, Our Lady of Fatima, and Our Lady of America come to mind… (Perhaps also Our Lady of Medjugorje…?)

    Like

  9. i too pray and hope for the Illumination but do remember that things will have to be utterly terrible in the world. truthfully i do not think we have reached that yet despite all around us. and the Pope has to go to Moscow as was told the girls from Garabandal. THEN the warning will come.
    so Please everyone keep praying and offering every moment to the LORD.

    Like

    1. Thank you Anne. I do not have the gift of being able to remember these sorts of details. Our Lord is very patient with me.

      Of course, things could get terrible awfully fast…May God’s will alone be done! Lord have mercy!

      Like

  10. We, in the USA, desperately need the entire Gloriana to interceed for us immediately. Come Holy Angels, come in the power of the Holy Spirit. Interceed for us, Holy Souls in Purgatory and Saints in Heaven.

    With the Power of God, interceed for us, to change the dreadful history that is about to be made in the United States of America… Help America to instead become the Father’s instrument to lead the world to the Son through the intercession of the Holy Spirit and His Beautiful Spouse–Our Lady of America!

    Oh, Lord, I pray that the bishops of America will quickly fulfill the requests of Our Lady of America… I pray that Our Lady may be honored as her Beloved Spouse, Heavenly Father and Son desire…

    Change our hearts, Oh, Lord… Make us like You!

    Like

  11. i must say that i do believe also that we are on a truly rapid degeneration slope now too, Pelianito. But how far and how fast depends probably on prayer, suffering and offering. i know in my life i have been brought to one second at a time living in TRUST.
    i do want to share some insights i fully believe the LORD gave me yesterday.
    i was praying to the HOly Spirit after a terrible attack on Saturday. i was falsely accused of something very hurtful and was thrown but clung to Jesus. then yesterday it was made very clear to me that as the world is spiralling downwards in so many ways and control and reliance on money and goods are such a focus, the little ones are being taught and guided in the other direction, TRUST in JESUS. Abandonment and reliance on GODS Providence is the contradiction to this world going so quickly the other way.
    the more the world goes in that direction , the more we are being led by Jesus in the other. just as Jesus was a contradiction, we are truly being asked to be a contradiction to the world.
    the other awareness i had was that we are all wounded. Jesus took on our wounds and reconciled us to God the Father. WE must truly forgive and forgive and be merciful to others and to ourselves. this world is really so full of wounds. our CHurch is so wounded and will be purified and healed.society too.
    the secret is forgiveness and mercy.

    Like

  12. Our Lady’s words from the official website of Our Lady of America: http://www.ourladyofamerica.org
    (The people who oversee it are under the direction of the bishop there, and were asked to work to fulfill this request of Our Lady by him.):

    Strong warnings were repeated by Our Lady throughout 1957 and 1958, and there after, indicating that the hour grows late and Sister must tell the Bishops of the United States of Our Lady’s desires and how she wishes them to be carried out. Our Lady spoke: “Unless my children reform their lives, they will suffer great persecution. If man himself will not take upon himself the penance necessary to atone for his sins and those of others, God in His justice will have to send upon him the punishment necessary to atone for his transgressions.”

    Like

  13. Anne, this is exactly the message that radiates most powerfully from “Left to Tell” by Immaculée Ilibagizi. The Power of forgiveness. My wife read the book over and over, then without a single word or prompt from me, she took up the Rosary into her daily life and hasn’t missed a beat since. This is truly a miracle and I am in awe of her renewed faith and fervor.

    In a world embracing, among other things, the insanity of feminism, I am continually renewed by the spiritual courage and strength of women who choose to follow the powerful example of Our Holy Mother, the Queen of Heaven.

    Again I implore the women to stand fast like the women on Golgatha. Once again you will be called upon to gently minister to the men who flee and abandon. You will need to be a loving mother, sister and friend and a heart with no limit to forgive. Please don’t think I’m insulting the men. We must cling to the Cross and emulate the example of John who had embraced love and charity to such and extent that it became a mighty bulwark against the vicious assaults of hate.

    It is all in the Gospel, and we know that the Church (all the faithful) are asked to follow in the footsteps of Christ, including His Passion. I believe that none of the elements will be missing, in a figurative sense, although some facets may be more obvious than others. Current events and speculations aside, Jesus always gets to the heart of the matter in His teaching: His Kingdom and the Way.

    Jesus I trust in You! Help us all to fully embrace hope in Your Kingdom to sustain us on this difficult way.

    Like

  14. My Mother was not an educated woman but she was a very wise woman . She told me many things that She ” wouldn’t live to see ” , but that I probably would . I especially remember her saying to me that “God will not be Mocked ” I too feel that something is going to happen soon . I am so glad I found this blog .

    Like

    1. God bless you Maryanne. I’m glad you found this blog too! We all must pray often, “Jesus I trust in YOU.” And if you want to be encouraged in your trust read Mark Mallett’s latest blog post here.

      Like

  15. M.P. thank you so much for your supportive words, they are a gift to me. truly you have no idea what you have said! please ask your wife to support me in her rosaries. really. and TRULY.

    Like

  16. When Jesus said, “subdue your life as in the days of old when they put on sackcloth and sat in ashes. “, I asked Him, how does that work Lord in 2009? He responded quietly in my heart, “rend your hearts, not your garments.” So I then asked Him, how do I rend my heart? I am getting the idea that it is my breaking all attachments to anything other than Him; not husband and family, though.
    Any thoughts?

    Like

    1. Peace and blessings Jeanne. I wrote an article for the BSP newsletter a few years back on just this passage. The BSP is a penitential Franciscan association. You are being called to penance, as are all of us since Fatima. Here is the article:

      “Rend your hearts, not your garments, and return to the LORD, your God.” (Joel 2:13)

      This passage is taken from the First Reading for Ash Wednesday. The image is rich with meaning and as penitents, it is well worth pondering.

      It speaks of a depth of sorrow for sin that goes far beyond the superficial. In Biblical times rending the garments was an outward sign of deep mourning or contrition. Unfortunately in the time of Joel, it was often just an outward sign and did not reflect the heart of the person displaying it.

      The call to rend one’s heart implied a complete change of heart, the deepest contrition. That is what all God’s children are called to, most especially in the season of Lent. Rending the heart involves a deliberate, intricate inspection of the heart that leads to a scouring out of even the least impurity. It leaves no stone unturned, no corner unexplored. It is a wrestling match with the angel of truth. Rending one’s heart is no mere symbol, but an action that shows we hold nothing dearer than a right relationship with God, not even life itself.

      St. John Chrysostum compares the rending of our hearts to the plowing of a field to get rid of any “evil plant, any treacherous thought (that may) be present in us.”

      “For if we do not now break up the fallow ground; if we do not now sow; if we do not now water it with tears, whilst it is a time of tribulation and fasting, when shall we ever be brought to compunction? Will it be when we are at ease, and in luxury? But this is impossible. For ease and luxury generally lead to indolence, just as tribulation leads back again to diligence; and restores to itself the mind that had wandered abroad, and been dreaming after a multitude of objects.” (Homily IV)

      What a perfect image for we penitents to reflect on during Lent! What a wonderful image for us to use as we continue to seek after the holiness of a life of penance. Lent is a time for us penitents to reflect on what our minds and hearts have been dreaming after, and turn our minds and hearts back to God, who must be the object of our every thought, word, deed and desire.

      The book of Joel is not the only place in scripture that mentions the rending of a heart but not a garment. Let us remember that the soldiers did not rend the garments of Christ at his crucifixion. Yet they rent his heart. This too is worth pondering. The heart of Christ was rent for our sin, not His, for he was sinless. What better reason is there for us to rend our own hearts in gratitude and contrition? Then on the last day, Christ will clothe us with the seamless garment of His perfection and purity, perfect attire for the wedding feast of the Lamb. Thanks be to God!

      Like

  17. So much here to encourage and confirm! Thank you so much, everyone.

    The blindness all around continues to astound me, but some are awake. One of our priests told me that he expects to be arrested for preaching the Gospel on some politically incorrect points, soon.

    I am praying that the Lord will block the Health Care Bill by his sovereign power. Letters to our Congressmen are worthless – have been for years. Their power is deeply rooted in the world system, so they can ignore their constituents. But I recall when David was driven out of Jerusalem and his son Absalom had the mighty counselor Ahiphothel with him, David prayed, ‘Confound the counsels of Ahiphothel. And God caused the evil advice of that man to be ignored, advice that if followed, would have meant sure death to David and his kingdom. Many times God has caused his enemies to fight each other, and their plans have come to nothing. May this be the case as the push for abortion intensifies! I do all the things a careful voter does, but my real reliance is in the Lord in prayer.

    Mark Mallet’s piece today on lost in Paris is wonderful. Do read it! It brought me great hope that I can walk with Our Lord safely through the times to come, even through the fires of martyrdom if required, one directive at a time. Stories like this came out of Russia when to possess Bibles was a serious crime, yet God directed people much as Mark describes.

    I add my mite to those who say the time is short, the chastisement or whatever it is is on the way. May it bring hearts back to the true center of the world, which is Christ Alone.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your reference to Mark Mallett’s piece, Columbkille. I have linked it to his blog post. Amazing, and as he says it is a message for us all that in our time of trial, he will be with us, guiding us each step of the way. Trust. Always trust.

      Like

  18. thank you for your response Pelianito.
    In regards to the spiritual sensitivity many have on the immediate future, I had in my mind, a picture, or a sound, like that of an orchestra warming up: all the notes seem as if held in suspension, and then the music breaks forth.
    Continuing the analogy: Our Lord is the Great Conductor and He will write a new song on our hearts.

    Like

  19. Thank you all for your insight. I also feel very strong that whatever is to take place will be around Christmas. The Lord has said to me ” He is in control and I am to let him lead, He is my strength and and not to be afraid of the future”. I found real comfort in these words as I was very apprehensive. I have spoken to my family about it and they roll their eyes but I think it is necessary to tell them what you feel they need to hear. God bless all and we need to truly show the Lord we love him in everything. Irish

    Like

Leave a Reply

