You want me to look after your needs, yet you delay in looking after mine…

Matthew 6:33 But seek first the kingdom (of God) and his righteousness, and all these things will be given you besides.

“Beloved, do not make me wait for our time together. Do you know how it hurts me when all manner of things takes precedence over time spent with me? I do not say to neglect your duties, but your prayer time should be at the top of your list, not the bottom. ‘Seek FIRST the kingdom of God.’ My child, you want me to look after your needs, yet you delay in looking after mine. Be faithful, my child, keep foremost in your mind the needs and desires of your Beloved, who left the glory of heaven to die for mere creatures. Child, I am near—be near to me. If you do these things, you will receive special graces in the time to come.”

My Lord Jesus have mercy on me, a sinner! Give me grace and strength, all I need to place your needs and desires above all. In your mercy, do not look on my sinfulness, but see the love our Mother has for poor sinners. Jesus I trust in you. Amen.

24 thoughts on “You want me to look after your needs, yet you delay in looking after mine…

  1. Dear Lord, i apologize for the times i have NOT placed You as King of all, King of me. I praise and thank you for your care of my family and i especially in this year. You have provided for all our needs and i say with all shame , mea culpa for not always taking care of Your desires and needs but getting caught up with other things.

    Like

  2. This is a constant spiritual battle for me and I think that what hurts our Lord is not so much that I love poorly but that I fail so often to trust in Him. “Prayer, sacrifice, and, last of all, the word…”, to help bring back souls and do as He asks me to do. Why do I get this backwards so often? Lord, we need your help always. We need your help even with weaknesses in our will, which you ask us to submit completely to you, and is so vital in this process. Forgive us.

    Like

  3. 1512. sister Faustinas diary.
    My daughter, meditate frequently on the sufferings i have undergone for your sake, and then nothing what you suffer for Me will seem great. You please me most when you meditate on my Sorrowful Passion. Join your little sufferings to MySorrowful Passion so that they hve infinite value before my Majesty.

    another one:
    In a soul that lives on My love alone, I reign as in heaven. I watch over it day and night. In it i find My happiness: My ear is attentive to each request of its heart: often i anticipate its requests.

    i thought this would suggest some of Our Lords needs. He really does want us to meditate on His Passion and also to live on HIS love alone.

    Like

  4. I just discovered this, what a beautiful prayer, on St Faustina’s Feast Day
    Prayer of St. Faustina to Our Lady
    O Mary, my Mother and my Lady, I offer you my soul, my body, my life and my death and all that will come after it. I place everything in your hands, O my Mother, cover my soul with your virginal mantle and grant me the grace of purity of heart, soul and body. Defend me with your power against all enemies and especially against those who hide their malice behind the mask of virtue. Fortify my soul that pain may not break it. Mother of grace, teach me to live by God’s power. O Mary, a terrible sword has pierced your holy soul. Except for God, no one knows of your suffering. Your soul does not break, it is brave, because it is with Jesus. Sweet Mother, unite my soul to Jesus, because it is only then that I will be able to endure all trials and tribulations and only in union with Jesus will my little sacrifices be pleasing to God. Sweetest Mother, continue to teach me about the interior life. May the sword of suffering never break me. O pure Virgin, pour courage into my heart and guard it. Amen.
    http://fountainofelias.blogspot.com/

    Like

  5. What beautiful prayers, Anne and Guy. Thank you for posting them. St. Faustina–what a treasure for our time is her diary. Thank you Jesus for this great gift of mercy in this time of endless need!

    Like

  6. “O pure Virgin, pour courage into my heart and guard it. Amen.”

    What struck me when reading St. Faustina’s prayer to Our Lady, was not only its great beauty, but the last line. Our Lady of America beckons us to the virtue of Purity–that is her great distinction!

    Perhaps we once again need to pray for the fulfillment of her requests by the bishops of the USA…
    http://www.ourladyofamerica.org

    Like

  7. Guilty, too, and just yesterday! Give mercy, give grace! It is like any other temptation, so reasonable at the time in the rush of the day and the tyranny of the next task, so obviously wrong later.

    ‘You have drawn me, Lord,
    You have fed me by your Word,
    now my longing soul has just one goal
    to see Your Face.
    To approach and touch One who risks His love so much,
    that Your Love, this night, I may requite,
    O perfect in weakness, here is my heart,
    which I lay in Your outstretched hand’

    May this be always true of me.

    Don’t know if readers are aware of Fr. Mark Daniel Kirby’s blog, ‘Vultus Christi’. Much of value about the interior life is given there, and I’ve met him in person several times and am impressed with his fruit as well as ability as a spiritual director.

    Like

  8. I can see that there could/should be a multitude beneath the Cross…

    I got this from the “secret-harbor” blog. Wow, the websites that have been mentioned are fantastic!

    “This is a call not from Saint Louis de Montfort, but a call from heaven through his pen. The last sentence from his Treatise on True Devotion:

    ‘Let all good priests who are scattered throughout the Christian world, those who are actually in the throes of the combat and those who have withdrawn from the melée to seek the solitude of the desert, let all come and join us so that we may form beneath the standard of the Cross a real army in battle array.’ “

    Like

  9. Honestly, I’ve been agitated for a week. I followed the lead here and finally found peace in the Adoration Chapel in front of the Blessed Eucharist. Truly, I’m nothing without Jesus. I listened very intently today. One word: “Repent.” How often I forget this word… this posture. It seems like it should be such a vital part of a healthy prayer life. No wonder my prayer life has been suffering.

    Like

    1. Ah, Michael Patric,k, my friend! Here is the Holy Spirit teaching in themes again! Thanks be to the merciful God! Let me explain.

      I too have been feeling agitated lately, and severely tempted. It has been real torment. I have been praying hard, extra rosaries, asking for prayers from others. Today, I finally got relief. Our lady brought to mind a dream I had of her in 2003. The dream had many aspects and symbols, but in it she appeared as a kindergarten teacher, so sweet and patient. She had one student in the dream, a little girl, and she was teaching her with great attention and love. Today that image came back to me. I became the little girl in the dream, unwise, impatient, a slow learner, greatly in need of the most basic lessons in spirituality and holiness. As I pondered that image and tried to listen to my teacher’s words, I felt strongly encouraged to offer my torment to Jesus for a certain soul. As soon as I did so, the torment left me! It seems so simple now that she has shown me how to conquer evil with good. Thank you Mother!

      I’m in my fifties and still in kindergarten! Do you think if I study and pray for another 50 years, I’ll make it into First Grade? It would probably take a miracle–but I believe in miracles! 🙂

      Happy Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary, Blessed Mother. I love you! Teach us, lead us, guide us!

      Like

  10. I try not to be too hard on myself since agitation and suffering are part of the battle. Thankfully, there are some victories in there as well.

    I actually had to look up the word “repent” in the dictionary so I was absolutely certain of the fullness of its meaning and could act on it properly. Kindergarten, indeed.

    I was also thinking that it’s a good thing you’re the little girl in the dream. How easy it is to learn if we approach everything with the simplicity and innocence of a little child, particularly if Our Mother is teaching us. How difficult it is as adults when we’re attached to all manner of useless things.

    “I tell you solemnly, anyone who does not welcome the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” Luke 18:17

    Like

  11. I am guilty of this as well. Its seems that lately I have increased my distance from Jesus, so easily distracted and given over to mere trifles and silliness. Lord have mercy and do not let go of me!

    Like

  12. I have just started paying attention to what is causing me to stray from the battle–in thought–and then I look at it squarely, pray for whatever is most evident and then expand the thought, bring those groups of people into the Ark of Mary, pray throughout the generations for all people in that category or group of categories to Mary, and ask her to immerse them in the Ocean of Her Son’s Divine Mercy…

    Like

Leave a Reply

