Perfect love resembles the cross more than anything…

1 John 4:8 Whoever is without love does not know God, for God is love.

My child, many profess to know love, but their hearts are far from me. Many profess to know me, but their false idea of love exposes the lie they believe in. Beloved, if you know me, you know that perfect love resembles the cross more than anything. Perfect love is empty of self and seeks only the will of the Father. This is the only path to perfect love. Ponder this, my child, and this truth will set you free–free to love, no matter where it leads.”

Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, your perfect love is the only prize worth having. In your mercy grant all souls the desire to know you and in knowing you, to find perfect love. Holy Trinity of love, this is the only way to peace–please grant it. Amen.

14 thoughts on “Perfect love resembles the cross more than anything…

  1. Two powerful and simple passages from John, and it was precisely because he was so simple that he grasped it right away. Oh, the myriad ways I’ve circled around this Love without letting it penetrate. Praying the wrong way, contemplating, reading, reading and more reading… without letting it penetrate me. I have made this complicated and difficult and that is precisely why it has been so hard for the most part. After a particularly difficult week of attacks, some head-on, some insidiously subtle, I finely reached out to God’s Love. It was late at night and I was literally exhausted with the mental and spiritual wrangling. “Father,…” and instantly he embraced me. I won’t sully it by trying to put it into words, other than that I was embraced by Love. Further words are inadequate and elude me here. Thank you, Father, and thank the rest of you for your prayers.

    Like

    1. You are right, Michael. We try so hard to make things complicated, when all that we need is to become as little children. As we heard in the readings this weekend:

      “As proof that you are children, God sent the spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying out, ‘Abba, Father!'”

      Thank you, Michael, for sharing that powerful testimony.

      God bless

      Like

  2. Interesting to note, Michael Patrick, that I was awake throughout much of the night, praying the Rosary whenever I felt the nudge (in my foggy state)! I didn’t know why I had such a strange night’s sleep… Now I’m thinking He was using me to pray for you!
    I have always told the Lord to use my “in the middle of the night prayer” for urgent prayer needs… May God bless richly Pelianito, Michael Patrick, and all those who visit this blog!

    Like

  3. Yes, thank you. Some of those prayers may have guided me to this simple and humble blog in the first place. My reading and meditations were getting too complicated and heavy.

    Also, a curious thing kept happening. I noticed this blog on a search engine below Mark Mallet’s blog for some time. I kept seeing this pop up that way with a repetitious entry from 2008 which of course I can’t find now, but it had something to do with sheep and wolves not co-mingling… kind of a ‘birds of a feather flock together theme’. Curious, because I was in that very process of moving away from many relationships (business and other acquaintances that were equally complicated and taxing). They just didn’t seem to make sense going forward.

    So here I am, with the help of prayers from this little community and some signal Grace from God. Continuing towards God. Learning to love. Simplifying. And perhaps with the help of further prayers, I may be able to contribute something useful. Sparingly. Maybe in a short line or two without rambling so much.

    Like

    1. Michael Patrick, I thank God for leading you here. You have much to share that is edifying.

      Thanks to all who contribute here. I happen to know that there are more who are reading your comments than are responding. If the Lord leads you to comment, he likely has a purpose we do not know about–kind of like Mary Therese’s nighttime prayers.

      God bless.

      Like

  4. so good to see i am not alone, Michael Patrick in my not just reaching up at times. He wants to POUR His LOVE on us so much and We complicated things. Dear Lord pour, pour, pour on us all of your LOVE. i accept ALL the LOVE you wish to send to me and others. DONT STOP.
    Mary Therese, add me to your prayer list at present please as i am going through the toughest trial of my life at present.
    Today i simply said to Mary that She will have to COMPLETELY take over as the knots are so tight and tangled.
    i simply give everything to Her and ask for Her complete Intervention. Please keep my husband Mark in your prayers too. i simply have to hand him to Mary too.

    The whole world is aching for the Love to pour over it but does not really know it!!!!Divine Mercy is GODS LOVE.
    May Divine Mercy pour over all who write or read these columns. strengthen us to be vessels of Mercy to others, Lord.

    Like

    1. Amen! Thank you Anne. I lift you up to the Lord in Mary’s Immaculate Heart. You do not know what our Lord may be accomplishing through this trial. I felt him telling me once that it is the trials we will be most thankful for when we get to heaven. The trial is the wrapping for the gift. I felt him telling me once to be thankful for the wrapping as well as the gift. That is very difficult, I have found. As you say, we can only give all to Mary, because we are so weak and so small.

      God bless you dear sister.

      Like

  5. Encouragement from St. Francis de Sales….. I love this !

    The everlasting God has in His wisdom foreseen from eternity the cross that He now presents to you as a gift from His inmost heart. This cross He now sends you, He has considered with His all-knowing eyes, understood with His divine mind, tested with His wise justice, warmed with loving arms and weighed with His own hands to see that it be not one inch too large and not one ounce too heavy for you. He has blessed it with His holy Name, anointed it with His consolation, taken one last glance at you and your courage, and then sent it to you from heaven, a special greeting from God to you, an alms of the all-merciful love of God.

    I’m one of your many stealth readers coming from a Mark Mallet mention. God’s peace to all who enter here.

    Like

  6. A powerful little prayer that I enjoy using so very much for situations like Anne’s:

    Blessed Mother, undoer of knots, please take charge of ___.

    I repeat this prayer every time that I have fear concerning the situation or any type of negative thought about it. Powerful… Very powerful!

    And remember, as Fr. Corapi says, “Our Mother wears combat boots!!!”

    Like

  7. In the movie, The Passion of the Christ, we see Jesus in a scene along His Way, under the crushing weight of the Cross. Beaten and bloodied, and suffering unimaginable pain, he turns to Our Mother and says, “You see Mother, I make all things new.” I think that this is a good meditation for me tonight and I will be sure to pray for Anne.

    Like

  8. Mary Therese, thank you so much for that little prayer. i will continually use it for my several difficult situations. Thank you Pelianito and Carolyn too for encouragement. and for the readers of Mark Mallett, , the last two on TRUST in trials , are remarkable!!
    It is such a joy to read and share with all here. May The Two Hearts keep us in the LIGHT. Keep our connection with the Light constantly flowing. as the deception grows, our connection must be constantly there through all the aids given to us. We are only human so must CONNECT to GOd.

    Like

Leave a Reply

