You do not know what hardship can do, even to good people…

Dream: Last night I dreamed that the sandstorm forecast in my dream of May 14, hit with full force. It was unbelievable! I could see nothing but brown outside. I was not afraid, but calmly closed windows to keep out the grit. Upon waking I asked the Lord for the meaning and he reminded me that severe dust storms are symbolic of economic hardship, as in the Dirty Thirties. I asked for a Scripture passage and he led me to the following:

Nehemiah 13:12-13 All Judah once more brought in the tithes of grain, wine, and oil to the storerooms; and in charge of the storerooms I appointed the priest Shelemiah, Zadok the scribe, and Pedaiah, one of the Levites, together with Hanan, son of Zaccur, son of Mattaniah, as their assistant; for these men were held to be trustworthy. It was their duty to make the distribution to their brethren.

“Beloved, the time of hardship is upon you. You do not know what hardship can do, even to good people. You must pray for yourself and for all, that in dire times you will remain filled with hope and charity. Prayer is key. There will come a time when you will feel called to move on. This model I gave to Nehemiah is the model I give for your time. There must be no hoarding, but hold all things in common with the brothers and sisters I assemble. Keep to the prayers. Distribute according to need. Let there be no jealousy or wrangling, but a spirit of peace and fidelity. The Holy Spirit will be with you in this time, in a new and powerful way. Do not be afraid, for I am near.”

Jesus, lead us! Holy Spirit, keep us faithful to your holy will. Guide us and give us all the gifts we need to live the truth in love. Send forth your Spirit, O Lord, and renew the face of the earth. Amen.

16 thoughts on “You do not know what hardship can do, even to good people…

  1. To be honest it did scare me to read this post. Although I didn´t have any “real” hardships for the support of my family i went through a really tough time some years ago finding a job to cover me.
    I remember what that hardship did to me and it didnt transform me into a better person. I remember I thought to myself why is God allowing this to happen me, denying him and ask for forgiveness later. It was an extremely tough journey through the desert for me.

    I am 100% sure that the job I have right now it was given to me by God. It was like He said i made you walk through that desert for your own good despite you didnt see it at that moment

    Reading this post made me wonder how would i react to hardships again, to walk to that path again.. and it scares me a lot.

    Please Lord if that is your Will strenghten me because I am nothing without your support.

    Like

    1. My friend I say this to you as well as to me: Be not afraid!

      I have been through a time of hardship as well. Making do, doing without. The time of trial showed me who I am and let me tell you it was a very humbling experience. Looking back, I can see that my anxiety added nothing but more anxiety. The only prayer I could pray during that time, and even that without feeling, was from Psalm 116: “I trusted, even when I said, ‘I am sorely afflicted.'”

      Although it was hard to go through, I did see that through that time that my needs and those of my family were met. Like you I saw it as a desert experience, a time of preparation. Like you, I have since been blessed beyond my highest expectations. I don’t understand it all, but I have learned something about Divine Providence and that the Divine Will is our only hiding place.

      The Divine Mercy prayer was given for our time. Let it never be far from our lips and our hearts. Jesus I trust in YOU.

      Like

  2. Picking up on the “desert” reference… I live in the Arizona desert and have spent many a contented hour contemplating in a special place that is located in a secluded, peaceful canyon. To be honest, there were many times that I would have been happy to remain there in prayer, never to return to the harsh realities of the world. We must, however, follow the example of Jesus in all things. Contemplation and prayer, yes, but work for the Kingdom as well. As we know, this entails hardship, sacrifice and suffering. There doesn’t seem to be any getting around that, but there is abundant joy and grace available to us throughout all our trials. I pray for patience and strength for all of us. Just a little while longer now and then we can rest. God’s grace will be sufficient for each present moment along the way. Holy Spirit, please fortify this beloved soul with Your presesence and cast out all fear.

    Like

  3. I can remember when we were putting an addition on our home–really in the very blind faith of young people. We had two small children and did not have a completed dwelling.

    And we were going to Mass with only $1 to our name that week. And we gave it in the basket at church. But it was ok somehow.

    I can never remember denying our children a need. And we ate the very healthiest when we had the very least money…

    My grandfather raised 9 children during the depression and they were ok. Not heavy, for sure, but ok.

    Like

  4. right now i am going through the desert. all i can do is trust. i re read a book written in 1981 on Divine Mercy. i have to TRUST in such circumstances right now.
    when the LORD says there will come a time when you will have to move does that mean away with others?

    Like

    1. Some prophecies speak of “refuges” where the remnant will be gathered. I know personally two people who have felt led to prepare such refuges. I think Mary Therese mentioned in another comment that she has told family that if they see their angel telling them to go somewhere, to make sure they listen. I think if we are called to go to a refuge, it will not be a subtle call. The Lord will not leave us orphaned. Let us not be anxious or afraid. Dwell in the present Presence. Trust, trust, trust! God bless you Anne. I will continue to pray for you.

      Like

  5. Regarding hardship, I once felt the Lord tell me that these hardships are the wrapping for some very great gifts, and that I must be thankful for the wrapping as well as the gift. I think when we look back on our lives, those times we were least grateful for on earth may be the times we will be most grateful for in heaven because we will see all that was accomplished for souls through it. Food for thought…

    God bless.

    Like

  6. “Because you have kept my commandment to endure trials, I will keep you safe in the time of trial which is going to come for the whole world, to test the people of the world. Soon I will be with you: hold firmly to what you already have, and let nobody take your prize away from you.” Rev: 3:10-12

    Many have already entered places of “refuge”. Holy Mary, Mother of God, protect us under your mantle (the Rosary). Jesus I trust in You (Confession, the Eucharist and other Sacraments). Come, Holy Spirit, and renew the face of the earth (the gifts of the Holy Spirit are being poured out upon mankind: this gentle and humble blog serves as a good example).

    Live in the world, but apart from the world. Primarily, I think it will be a “mystical flight” of the Church, the faithful. Some will be called to physically move to places of refuge where their faith and prayer will serve the Lord. The rest will serve wherever they happen to be to continue to shine the beacon of Light to this wayward and apostate world. Either way, there will be unfathomable joy in serving if we cling to Jesus. A joy to which all the comforts and ease of the world could never compare.

    Trust. Do not fear. God will not test us beyond our strength. Hold firmly to your faith and our Lord Jesus will see us safely home to our prize which is union with God in Heaven.

    Like

    1. Thank you for this post, Michael! It is full of wisdom–another gift of the Holy Spirit poured out in abundance upon those faithful ones who are receptive. I would only change one thing: It is not that he will not test us beyond OUR strength. He will not test us beyond HIS strength. Jesus we trust in YOU.

      God bless you dear brother.

      Like

  7. As I love to have happen when I am totally empty, in any number of situations:

    I will bemoan, “I have nothing… absolutely nothing…”

    And then it comes to me,

    “But Jesus…”

    “And with Jesus I have everything!”:’)

    Like

  8. About a week after you posted your dream of the two storms we experienced a dust storm here in Minnesota that I’ve never experienced before. I’m 32 years young, but i certainly have never seen anything like that. Here is a link to the news story:
    http://www.postbulletin.com/newsmanager/templates/localnews_story.asp?z=2&a=400414

    I remember thinking how difficult it was to remain outside during this storm and that remaining in the house was the key to not getting dirty. I felt that this was a spiritual lesson about not getting caught up in the dirty things of this world, but to let go of them and seek refuge in prayer in the house of the Lord.

    Like

  9. I had a dream last night that a large group of people, myself among them, were gathered outside a building that had in it a large cafeteria where others were seated, eating and talking calmly. We could see them through large glass panes. Those outside were desperate to get inside and hungry but the doors were closed to us. Outside, there was a terrible sense of violence, as if we would all claw at and over each other to get inside.

    This was such desolation. When I told my husband this morning over breakfast about this dream, he simply said “hard times are coming”

    I pray for the grace of God and His strength that we may endure our suffering in a way that is pleasing to Him. Amen+

    Like

Leave a Reply

