True goodness comes when one serves the will of God with no hope or expectation of reward…

Matthew 12:34 You brood of vipers, how can you say good things when you are evil? For from the fullness of the heart the mouth speaks.

My child, there is a great deception at work in the world. Many give the appearance of goodness while their hearts are far from me. They not only deceive others, but they deceive themselves if they think that goodness may be gained apart from me. The human heart is incapable of true goodness on its own power. Good deeds, perhaps, but always with a gain, which is not true goodness. When one has an earthly reward-even in satisfaction-then the act is in some way self-serving. True goodness comes when one serves the will of God with no hope or expectation of reward. Then the will of God is served, not the self. If praise comes or condemnation, it is all the same to the one whose heart belongs to me. Child, ponder these things and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart.”

Jesus help me. Mary, teach me how to imitate your Son in meekness and true goodness. Jesus I love you. Amen.

2 thoughts on “True goodness comes when one serves the will of God with no hope or expectation of reward…

  1. Wow, this is so simple and yet so profound! The very answer I’ve been seeking this whole of Lent.
    Thank you, dear Jesus, for opening my eyes to this.
    Thank you, Pelianito! God uses you in ways that you do not know! Have a Blessed Easter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

