They have willingly wed themselves to their spouse–death. Now–very soon–the offspring will begin to arrive…

Baruch 4:20-29 I have taken off the garment of peace, have put on sackcloth for my prayer of supplication, and while I live I will cry out to the Eternal God. Fear not, my children; call upon God, who will deliver you from oppression at enemy hands. I have trusted in the Eternal God for your welfare, and joy has come to me from the Holy One because of the mercy that will swiftly reach you from your eternal savior. With mourning and lament I sent you forth, but God will give you back to me with enduring gladness and joy. As Zion’s neighbors lately saw you taken captive, so shall they soon see God’s salvation come to you, with great glory and the splendor of the Eternal God. My children, bear patiently the anger that has come from God upon you; Your enemies have persecuted you, and you will soon see their destruction and trample upon their necks. My pampered children have trodden rough roads, carried off by their enemies like sheep in a raid. Fear not, my children; call out to God! He who brought this upon you will remember you. As your hearts have been disposed to stray from God, turn now ten times the more to seek him; for he who has brought disaster upon you will, in saving you, bring you back enduring joy.

“My child, this is an obstinate generation. They have willingly wed themselves to their spouse–death. Now–very soon–the offspring will begin to arrive. In fact, death is already at the gate and in many places, in the house itself. Do not fear. This must happen, for the Lord means to rebuild his house. Your Lord is with you, little children. He will remember you.”
O God, my God! Have mercy on us, your children. Through Mary’s prayers I ask for a great many souls. Lord Jesus, hear me and have mercy. Amen.
4 thoughts on “They have willingly wed themselves to their spouse–death. Now–very soon–the offspring will begin to arrive…

  1. “death is already at the gate and in many places, in the house itself.” Can you offer an interpretation of this? Is this having to do with the house of the Lord meaning the Church? Thank you so much for posting, these messages are helping me to remain focused in such a busy and noisy world.

    Like

  2. As with most of these messages, there can be more than one interpretation. In this case I believe the meaning is that the Culture of Death has a very strong foothold in the world. Abortions, euthanasia, war…even within the church there are many who support so-called “freedom of choice”. Where seeds of death are sown, what do they suppose the harvest will be? You cannot plant corn and harvest beets.

    The overriding message in all these writings is trust in God. Our Lord gives us these messages, not to frighten us, but so that we will remain awake and sober, the very same message that has been preached every Advent since the first one.

    It is a busy, noisy world. I face distractions all the time. Still I do not believe we are meant to drop everything and run, but to be prudent, live simply, be ready, do our duty, love our neighbor and PRAY!

    Our Lord is with us. Alleluia!

    Like

  3. And as I pray so fervently for the health and well-being of my loved ones, I am beginning to believe that we need to entrust them to the Good Shepherd and pray oh so fervently for the worst sinners–that all may be saved…

    Like

  4. That is exactly what I have been feeling called to for some time Mary Therese. I spend almost all my prayers on poor sinners and entrust all those God has given me to pray for, to the Immaculate Heart of Mary. I take care of her business and she takes care of mine–beautifully!

    We spend our prayers on so many things when only one is needed. Where have we heard that before? đŸ™‚

    God bless you dear sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

