Refuse to be afraid…

Psalm 59:17 But I shall sing of your strength, extol your love at dawn, For you are my fortress, my refuge in time of trouble.

“My beloved, refuse to be afraid. I know very well how little apparent reason there is to be hopeful. But you, my child, must set your eyes on the hope you have received in Jesus Christ. For he is your hope. You are not a pagan to set your hopes on lifeless things, nor are you an atheist to set your hope on lofty thoughts and ideas. These things have no power to save you. You are a child of the living and true God! Ponder this, my child, and be at peace.”

Lord Jesus I trust in you! Beloved Father of my heart, I am your little child. I climb up on your knee and hide in your embrace. Lord I love you! You are my hope! amen.

2 thoughts on “Refuse to be afraid…

  1. Yes, Anne, there is a reason that this message keeps coming back and that is so that we will take heed. John Paul the Great began his papacy with the words “Be not afraid!”. A few months ago after communion I heard the Lord say to me, “Do NOT be afraid.” Fear is not a valid option for Catholics no matter what the circumstances. The fact that this message is repeated so often from so many sources tells me that there will be times when the temptation to be afraid will be almost impossible to resist. Our Lord knows how weak we are. But he wants us to remember that in him we are strong–infinitely strong. Our prayer in times of temptation must be “Jesus I trust in YOU.” Only in Jesus can we resist the temptation to fear as we cling to hope with true and everlasting joy.

    God bless you Anne. Thank you for your comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

